We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but not brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The one absolutely amazing thing about this hotel is the location! You step out the front door and Windsor is right there on your doorstep with the High Street, Windsor Castle and Windsor Riverside all within a few minutes walk but in my opinion that's the only thing it really has going for it! We checked in at about 1pm on a Thursday afternoon and even though it wasn't at all busy the receptionist rushed through all the information so fast that we didn't quite get a lot of what she said. Check out time wasn't mentioned either. She quickly motioned to where the lift and restaurant was for breakfast but we still had to ask another member of staff where the lift was. They also take a pre authorised amount from your debit/credit card on check in. This is for the full cost of your stay. I had reserved on credit card but wanted to pay by debit card. The receptionist said she could take the pre authorised from debit card but it can take 2-3 weeks to go back on! For anyone that doesn't have a credit card please be aware of this as it could seriously mess with your finances! Another thing to be aware of is the £12 per day car park charge. Unfortunately this meant we didn't bother to leave the car there at check out to wander around the town as we didn't want to pay another £12. Room rates were higher than usual due to Farnborough Airshow also. We booked a Privilege Room but the size of it was no bigger than a standard room. It's called that because you get little extra's like robes, slippers, nespresso coffee machine, soft drinks and newspaper. The only soft drinks in the fridge was a small bottle of bitter lemon and a coke. Not really a great selection. Not sure if perhaps it just hadn't been restocked after previous guest or this is all they normally have. There was a fan in the room which is always a huge bonus especially in the heat. Normally its something you have to ask for and then chase up. Our room was High Street facing which meant even with windows closed and me wearing earplugs I was still woken at 7am by traffic. Maybe something to consider if you're a light sleeper. Breakfast was your usual hotel buffet style. Nice enough but nothing to set it apart from cheaper chain hotels. Ok hotel, Ok room, Ok breakfast but fantastic location.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noised opt for a room that doesn't face or over look the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Heidi C,

Thank you for your comments and review which I will discuss with the team and ensure we action any of the appropriate points you raise especially some of the service points you raise.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stay more or less at the same time each visit early July. We think that what makes this hotel click is the excellent staff both front of house and office based, nothing seems to much trouble. I would recommend contacting a lady called Gloria if you need any questions answering.
also make sure you have a drink in the bar the tall gent who works in there, not sure of his name , but he may be the bar manager is so friendly and knowledgeable .Top marks to all the staff.
Yes the hotel is showing some signs of age but nothing to worry about everything is spotless.
If you haven't stayed before give it ago and I think you will return

Room Tip: Main Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hopefarm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear storton,

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for returning to us again. I will be delighted to share your positive feedback with the team who I know will be encouraged by this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near fututre.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Location across the road from Windsor castle. A 2 min walk. There are also restaurants right in front and coffee shops beside it. Large parking space if you are driving for 12 pounds overnight.
We were out in the building in the back across the parking lot connected to the main building. It has two floors with a long corridor of rooms. It was a bit smelly. No lift so we had quite a difficult time carrying our suitcases a flight of steps although one front office staff did help.
The room itself is small and old. It needs to be renovated. Carpet floors looked lole it hasnt been cleaned or washed in a while. The beds are soft and almost sagging. The provide pillows but are too soft and thin. Aircon was good and cold.
Breakfast in the cafe was fine although the same everyday. Front office people were easy to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank avidtravellerhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear DDCHK,

Thank you for your recent review and comments about your experience at the hotel. Please be assured I value your comments, will discuss them with the team and take any appropriate action. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just got back from a nights stay at this lovely little hotel. I was on a business trip with work and had a really nice time. The hotel is literally in the middle of Windsor Town Centre opposite the castle grounds. You couldn't get much closer if you tried. You can walk to the shops, bars and restaurants within minutes.
My twin room was on the small side but was more than comfortable. It had all the usual features - cold water in the fridge, free flapjack, toiletries, hairdryer, TV etc.
The hotel staff were super friendly and looked after our large group really well.
Only downside was the parking was pretty tight but that was just because there was so many in our party. The staff handled this really well anyway and moved all the cars around for us while we checked in. No cocktail menu which was pretty disappointing but they did knock up a great pimms so I was more than happy.
Great value for money - lovely little spot in the middle of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear LucyHutch,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm pleased you and your party had an enjoyable time with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Spent 2 nights here, Thursday and Friday. Staff excellent especially Aaron, he was a joy. Well done had a fab time. Food lovely, our room and bathroom small, but very clean and as surrounding area so beautiful you are not in your room very much. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear P M,

Thank you for your recent review, I was delighted to see you had a excellent stay with us. I will make sure I share your feedback with Aaron who I know will be pleased to receive this. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent, just across the road from Windsor Castle and a short walk to the shops. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. I think the rooms could do with an update, especially the carpet and bathrooms. It was a pleasant stay, but for the money it is a little run down.

Room Tip: The Front of the hotel says Castle Hotel so keep this in mind as I was looking for a Mercure sign.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jill295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Jill295,

Thank you for your recent review and feedback, especially your comments about the team. We are planning a refurbishment of the hotel from January next year which will address some of the concerns you raise over the bedrooms. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Situated approximately 100 yards from the Windsor Castle main visitors entrance, Mercure Windsor Castle is a superb location for a sightseeing trip. Occupying a much larger facade than a rival hotel chain mere doors away Mercure enjoy a far better position in my opinion. Enjoy the guards procession from your dining table at the front of the hotel or wander down the hill to the theatre or for a stroll alongside the river. Great welcome, car park on site at a rate of £12 per night and a member of staff ready to direct you to a car park space and assist you with your luggage. Breakfast is full English or traditional and even right at the end of the service the food is still fresh and plentiful. Our room was an Executive double which was at the front of the hotel and contained many desirable features including a Nespresso machine and a complimentary soft drinks mini bar. Robes and slippers were available but also an iron and board and well stocked bathroom. All in all great value and unprecedented location.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 40somethingHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear 40somethingHampshire,

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us and really appreciate your feedback. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,349 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £125 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing