We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel recently. Location is excellent and our room looked directly over the High street and the Guildhall opposite. Staff very helpful, food excellent and there is plenty of parking, however would recommend you contact the hotel to check prior to staying. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    529
    222
    87
    46
See reviews for
291
779
51
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Previously stayed at the Windsor MacDonald Hotel just up the road so a little unsure what to expect of this hotel. However as with most Mercure Hotels, this hotel is excellent. Did not eat at the hotel so only met one member of staff at check-in, however if they are all of the same standard of friendliness and efficiency, you will not have a problem here.

It's also a great central location for shopping, sightseeing or just chilling in the bars and restaurants. If you are unable to park in the hotel, there is a multi-storey close by which charges £20 per 24 hrs, however train station a short walk away.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and stay again, very good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Tony B,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments, I'm delighted you had a excellent stay with us and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
211 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located in some ancient buildings in Windsor so the charm is great. The rooms are spotted amongst old stairwells and hallways if you're in the main part of the building. There are also rooms in a separate building in the back that seem to be more 'traditional' hotel rooms. The breakfast is FANTASTIC and it was complimentary for us at least (but we were with a wedding party, so not sure if it's like that for everyone). The location is fantastic; only a few blocks from Windsor castle and it's right in the heart of the small city's restaurants and bars.
The only criticism I have is that the beds were a bit old and the mattresses were not firm enough. I woke up with a sore back a few days in a row.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building, they're the most charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Lindsay B,

Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback about your experience with us. Please could you drop me a note with your room number on to david.hayden@accor.com so we can check the mattress in this room and if necessary have it replaced. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Windsor again in the future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have to agree with some of the previous comments - both positives and negatives. The hotel's location in the heart of the High Street, literally across the road from the Castle, combined with the friendly, helpful staff, are the best things about the Mercure Windsor Castle Hotel. Our check-in was smooth and efficient and the staff made sure we had all the information we needed about the hotel and the surrounding area (incl. map etc).
The front of the hotel is the perfect place to see the Castle's "Changing of the Guards" parade as the regiment marches straight up the High Street from their barracks, past the hotel and around the corner to the Castle. Most of the tourist crowds are packed in further up the road in front of the Castle, so avoid the crush and wait at the Hotel (or directly across the road in the shade/cover of the Guild Hall porch).
Our room was located in the 'annexe' section, across the car-park/laneway, and the long musty corridor walk didn't enthuse us to begin with. Our room (2 single beds and a fold-out sofa bed) was small for three people (2 adults & one child) but that's what we expected. But we were disappointed with the sagging, lumpy mattresses and paper thin pillows – definitely in need of upgrade and replacement! Our daughter's sofa bed was well passed its use-by date, even for a child it was thin and uncomfortable and it creaked so badly when she moved that she was worried it would fold back on itself and trap her inside!
The bathroom was tiny but well equipped with all amenities; but the aircon system definitely needs servicing. The weather was quite warm during our visit (July) and despite cranking the aircon down to 18'C (the lowest setting), the room still didn't cool down, and with only a warm duvet on the bed, there was no option for comfortable cool sleep. On checkout, staff mentioned that the hotel is due for an upgrade later this year, so hopefully these issues can be addressed then!
Buffet breakfast (hot & cold) provided good choice, no complaints, and as with the rest of the hotel, the dining room staff were attentive and helpful.
We love the Accor/Mercure brand and also enjoy our stays, and this one was no exception.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'annexe' at the back of the hotel seem to be quieter (no street noise)/
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveltarts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Traveltarts1,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about the service received. Please be assured I will personally follow up on your comments in relation to the beds and the AC in the bedroom and address these as soon as possible as although we do have a full refurbishment planned for the near future these are items we will continue to replace to ensure the right level of comfort for our guests. I hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The one absolutely amazing thing about this hotel is the location! You step out the front door and Windsor is right there on your doorstep with the High Street, Windsor Castle and Windsor Riverside all within a few minutes walk but in my opinion that's the only thing it really has going for it! We checked in at about 1pm on a Thursday afternoon and even though it wasn't at all busy the receptionist rushed through all the information so fast that we didn't quite get a lot of what she said. Check out time wasn't mentioned either. She quickly motioned to where the lift and restaurant was for breakfast but we still had to ask another member of staff where the lift was. They also take a pre authorised amount from your debit/credit card on check in. This is for the full cost of your stay. I had reserved on credit card but wanted to pay by debit card. The receptionist said she could take the pre authorised from debit card but it can take 2-3 weeks to go back on! For anyone that doesn't have a credit card please be aware of this as it could seriously mess with your finances! Another thing to be aware of is the £12 per day car park charge. Unfortunately this meant we didn't bother to leave the car there at check out to wander around the town as we didn't want to pay another £12. Room rates were higher than usual due to Farnborough Airshow also. We booked a Privilege Room but the size of it was no bigger than a standard room. It's called that because you get little extra's like robes, slippers, nespresso coffee machine, soft drinks and newspaper. The only soft drinks in the fridge was a small bottle of bitter lemon and a coke. Not really a great selection. Not sure if perhaps it just hadn't been restocked after previous guest or this is all they normally have. There was a fan in the room which is always a huge bonus especially in the heat. Normally its something you have to ask for and then chase up. Our room was High Street facing which meant even with windows closed and me wearing earplugs I was still woken at 7am by traffic. Maybe something to consider if you're a light sleeper. Breakfast was your usual hotel buffet style. Nice enough but nothing to set it apart from cheaper chain hotels. Ok hotel, Ok room, Ok breakfast but fantastic location.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noised opt for a room that doesn't face or over look the High Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Heidi C,

Thank you for your comments and review which I will discuss with the team and ensure we action any of the appropriate points you raise especially some of the service points you raise.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stay more or less at the same time each visit early July. We think that what makes this hotel click is the excellent staff both front of house and office based, nothing seems to much trouble. I would recommend contacting a lady called Gloria if you need any questions answering.
also make sure you have a drink in the bar the tall gent who works in there, not sure of his name , but he may be the bar manager is so friendly and knowledgeable .Top marks to all the staff.
Yes the hotel is showing some signs of age but nothing to worry about everything is spotless.
If you haven't stayed before give it ago and I think you will return

Room Tip: Main Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefarm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear storton,

Thank you for your recent review and thank you for returning to us again. I will be delighted to share your positive feedback with the team who I know will be encouraged by this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near fututre.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
186 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Location across the road from Windsor castle. A 2 min walk. There are also restaurants right in front and coffee shops beside it. Large parking space if you are driving for 12 pounds overnight.
We were out in the building in the back across the parking lot connected to the main building. It has two floors with a long corridor of rooms. It was a bit smelly. No lift so we had quite a difficult time carrying our suitcases a flight of steps although one front office staff did help.
The room itself is small and old. It needs to be renovated. Carpet floors looked lole it hasnt been cleaned or washed in a while. The beds are soft and almost sagging. The provide pillows but are too soft and thin. Aircon was good and cold.
Breakfast in the cafe was fine although the same everyday. Front office people were easy to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtravellerhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear DDCHK,

Thank you for your recent review and comments about your experience at the hotel. Please be assured I value your comments, will discuss them with the team and take any appropriate action. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.5 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing