We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location by the castle and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location by the castle and friendly staff”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was my first stay but I will be back. We had a fantastic time here. The hotel was located in front of the castle and we only had to step outside the door to watch the changing of the guards! The room and hotel was extremely clean and had a warm friendly atmosphere. The staff were especially friendly and gave us some great tips on the area. Highly recommend this hotel and the cocktails in the hotel bar.

Room Tip: Well worth getting a room with views of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pryan596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Pryan596,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience with us. I will be delighted to share this with the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    539
    232
    89
    47
See reviews for
296
814
52
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at the Mercure last week for four nights to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. It took over an hour from arrival to check in because of a huge queue to get into the car park. There was a conference on which meant hardly any spaces available which couldn't be helped. We booked a Privilege room which promised a view of Windsor High Street. The view we got was the backyard of the hotel. I rang reception and said we should get a street view especially as it was a four night stay. The receptionist promised us another room the next day initially. Then ten minutes later phoned to say we were going to be upgraded to a superior room immediately at no extra cost. Within ten minutes we were in our new room which had a four poster bed as well. And a nice view of the high street! So very quickly and efficiently handled by the receptionist on duty. It was a lovely room. The air conditioning worked well all the time we were there. The free wifi was a nice extra and the connection was excellent most of the time. Windsor High Street is on the doorstep and shops, bars and restaurants are within walking distance. The theatre is also a few minutes walk and we enjoyed the touring production of Joseph and his Amazing technicolour Dreamcoat while we were there. The castle is over the road as well. The prices in the hotel bar were extortionate with a pint of lager costing £5 and a glass of wine around the same. However as part of the upgrade we were offered a free drink each so did not actually spend anything in the bar. The huge wetherspoons down the road with three floors and two beer gardens was the place to go for an evening drink although even that was noticeably higher priced than the one near where we live. The breakfast at the hotel was very good with a good range of full english and continental items all done buffet style and regularly topped up. The only downside was the extras promised for the privilege room which was £25 per night extra were not all they were cracked up to be. The coffee maker didnt work, the free drinks in the mini bar was basically a couple of bottles of water and a coke! We did get three half bottles of wine as part of the free upgrade which was nice. Apart from that it was a great stay at a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you have booked a privilege room make sure you ask for a room with a view of the high street. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jeff l,

Thank you for your recent review following your wedding anniversary stay with us, I was delighted to read you had a great stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the delay with your arrival due to the car park queue and thank you for your patience, we do try to ensure we get everybody parked but at times this can mean a delay whilst we move vehicles around to accomodate this. I will also follow up with the team on the other points you raise in relation to the Privilege room items you raise. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is my third stay here in recent times. Very friendly staff and checkin times seem sensibly flexible. My room in the main building was of a good size, with effective air conditioning and all the normal facilities. The shower didn't qualify in the power category but was effective. I ate at a seminar in the hotel and that was of a good standard. The bar staff despite a small army of us arriving together after a night at the races served us efficiently and in a friendly manner.

Free wifi everywhere was a welcome bonus that so many other hotels seem to want to charge excessively for.

The parking may be challenging to some but again the staff are very helpful.

Overall a good hotel I will undoubtably use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear vincec,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience with us. I will be delighted to share this with the team and hope we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights in this hotel with my young daughter in a privilege room and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As the other reviews mentioned, the location is excellent for the castle, the train station and the shuttle bus to legoland. The staff are very helpful and extremely friendly, particularly Helene (who helped me with a problem which then turned out to be my mistake) and Rita from the reception staff and the breakfast staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast itself was varied and plentiful. It's true that the hotel is certainly in need of a revamp but the professional way in which this hotel is run more than makes up for any aesthetic shortcomings. Definitely worth a visit!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Lucie C,

Thank you for your recent review and positive feedback especially about the team which I will be delighted to share with them. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights as a stop off, and a visit to Legoland..the hotels location is perfect, on the main street and close to all shops and restaurants with easy access parking£12 per night, but that's reasonable. our first room was verydisapointing,it was small with two single beds and a tiny pull out sofa bed , the room had hardly any natural daylight as a tree covered the very small window and the main light was very poor. We spoke to reception and they offered us another room same layout but on opposite side which was a lot better, but still not great..the bath was not very clean and furniture is a bit tired looking. The room does have a fridge to keep drinks cool,and does have air con +++ the breakfast was lovely and fresh, and very enjoyable. The staff that we spoke to were all very courteous and helpful and a credit to your hotel.. A bit of updating needed in the rooms but would stay here again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrierya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear lorrierya,

Thank you for your recent review whilst using us as a base to visit Legoland. I appreciate your feedback and comments which I will be sure to discuss with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel recently. Location is excellent and our room looked directly over the High street and the Guildhall opposite. Staff very helpful, food excellent and there is plenty of parking, however would recommend you contact the hotel to check prior to staying. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Previously stayed at the Windsor MacDonald Hotel just up the road so a little unsure what to expect of this hotel. However as with most Mercure Hotels, this hotel is excellent. Did not eat at the hotel so only met one member of staff at check-in, however if they are all of the same standard of friendliness and efficiency, you will not have a problem here.

It's also a great central location for shopping, sightseeing or just chilling in the bars and restaurants. If you are unable to park in the hotel, there is a multi-storey close by which charges £20 per 24 hrs, however train station a short walk away.

Would certainly recommend this hotel and stay again, very good value for money.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Tony B,

Thank you for your recent review and positive comments, I'm delighted you had a excellent stay with us and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Windsor in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Property: Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing