We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1,000 Years of History”
Review of Windsor Castle

Windsor Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.17*
and up
Windsor Castle Admission Ticket
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Windsor Castle is the oldest and largest occupied castle in the world and offers an extraordinarily rich and varied day out. Throughout its history, the Castle has been redecorated, enlarged and rebuilt. Today The Queen spends most of her private weekends at the Castle, which is also used regularly for ceremonial and State occasions.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I arrived in Windsor by train from London. It was an easy walk from the train station to the castle. We bought our tickets at the entrance, without any waiting. (This was on a weekday morning, in early November.) We took a Precinct Tour. It lasted about 45 minutes. The guide was excellent, witty and informative.

Queen Mary’s Dolls’ House was closed. We visited the impressive St. George’s Chapel. But decided not to enter the State Apartments, which I now regret. It was a sunny day and we wanted to walk around the castle grounds. I’ll have to return to Windsor Castle to see the State Apartments. A thousand years of history in one day can be exhausting!

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Fran727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"state apartments"
in 915 reviews
"audio guide"
in 705 reviews
"dolls house"
in 631 reviews
"round tower"
in 128 reviews
"london pass"
in 210 reviews
"paddington station"
in 118 reviews
"royal residence"
in 113 reviews
"george's chapel"
in 344 reviews
"british history"
in 136 reviews
"own pace"
in 107 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 116 reviews
"take your time"
in 103 reviews
"henry viii"
in 107 reviews
"long queue"
in 118 reviews
"guard"
in 1,522 reviews
"queen"
in 1,440 reviews
"tickets"
in 1,588 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 11,640 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the first time at Windsor castle, it is amazing well worth the money so big, did the audio tour which is so informative took about 2 hrs to walk just around the castle, all the Christmas trees are up and decorated beautifully, we saw Meghan’s wedding dress which is on display until the new year, very well organised, you can go into st. George chapel where the wedding took place.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 375jillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first visit to Windsor was hoping to see the castle decorated with Christmas decorations but only a hand full of Christmas trees and some garlands , staff very friendly.and helpful .
Tight security on entering the castle just like airport security shops are very expensive so be warned you will need a good bank card .

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Photography only allowed outside mot in state apartments or St Georges Chapel.
Worth buying tickets online. Was fairly quiet & no queues. Airport type security to get in. Audio guide, no headphones included in ticket price
Plenty of good photo opportunities outside. State apartments are magnificent and were even better with several heavily decorated Xmas trees. There were also children singing carols. There was the display of Harry & Meghans wedding including the clothes. Stunning art works & furniture and painted ceilings.
Well worth the entry cost

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank jacqui3744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to Windsor several times but have never visited the Castle and this time it was a definite on our 'must do' list. Obviously the fact that the castle has seen two royal weddings this year was a huge drawcard. Expensive by South African standards (our poor rand) but worth every penny. Easy to get to by train about 40 minutes (we did Paddington to Windsor Central) and then just a short walk up the hill. Windsor Castle is spectacular, even on a cold blustery October afternoon. We stood in a fairly long queue to get into the castle as we hadn't booked online.....good thing to bear in mind. But the line moved swiftly and the staff were incredibly friendly and jovial. Once tickets are purchased, one needs to go through a security check which is not unlike airport security, shoes and belts have to come off.....an understandable necessity. Windsor Castle is always busy no matter the time of year you go, so crowds and queues are unavoidable, but try an avoid the mid term and summer school holidays. There was an extensive queue to get into the state apartments so we decided to visit the Chapel first which was quieter. Absolutely spectacular. We returned to the queue for the state apartments which had marginally reduced and decided to just suck it up and queue. The line actually moved pretty quickly and we were rewarded for our patience. Breathtaking, resplendent, simply stunning!!! We didn't view the dress collection as the queue was frightfully long and moving at a snail's pace and we needed to get back to London. When we informed a steward of this he gladly showed us a short cut so we could bypass and not miss out on everything else. Unfortunately Queen Mary's Doll House was closed. If you are a history nut and a Royalist then this is an absolute must.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank TrailBlazerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windsor Castle also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Windsor Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing