We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charles House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charles House
Ranked #7 of 22 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I was upgraded to the Henry room. The room was a good size and was clean. Good selection of tea and instant coffee, along with some snacks. That was very nice. The bed was comfy.
The room looked down at the street but being as tired as I was I thought it was very quiet.
I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 900Paula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
48
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I write this review with heavy heart... The room itself was great, nice big room with everything you could ask for, lovely modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and large fridge. I even quite liked the keypad entry system. The reason for my low score is based 100% on sleep quality. We were in Henry room at the front of Charles house. And it was SO noisy, you could hear every car passing by. The blinds are also not blackout and the room was as bright as day by 4am. When we checked out the next day I don't think either of us gads kept for more than a couple of hours. I would not consider staying here again unless I was in a room at the back with eye mask and ear plugs. Sorry Charles house!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail-and-Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M, Owner at Charles House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Charles House and I am sorry you did not sleep well. If you pick a guest house in the middle of a busy town centre, you are always going to get noise, whether it be from people walking around the town late at night or traffic noise.
If you do not want to have your double glazed windows open, there is a fan in each room to keep the air circulating if it is a warm night.
All the curtains have black out linings so you can have the room really dark if you wish.
I would recommend that you find a guest house slightly out of town if you visit Windsor again, there are some lovely areas not too far away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great location - see the castle flag poke from window, comfortable bed, clean, cute decor, busy street intersection but can't hear it with the windows closed. Wonderful soaking bath tub and modern batnroom. Grocery store just across the street and shopping and restaurants within 2 blocks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank NickieWhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M, Owner at Charles House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for you lovely review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Charles House. I do hope I can welcome you back if you are ever visiting Windsor again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I booked this room for my parents who needed somewhere last minute to stay in Windsor. I took them to this house and was pleasantly surprised. They stayed in the Elizabeth room which was large with a large bed and all other facilties that you would need. There was a walk in shower, vanity unit and toilet in a modern white bathroom. The room was very clean and was cleaned every day of their stay. The keypad entry system is very handy. It is about 8 min walk from centre of windsor- if even that. I would definitely book this house again for my parents or for myself and would definitely recommend it to others My parents had left a small personal item behind and on contacting the manager she had retrieved it for us almost immediately to forward on to us, excellent service. To me its these wee things that make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M, Owner at Charles House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Charles House and I am glad that your parents had an enjoyable stay. I would love to welcome them back sometime in the future if they are visiting Windsor again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent 2 nights at Charles House and had a lovely stay. The accommodation (Victoria Room) was very spacious and clean and it's location is very central for everything in Windsor with a Store just across the road.
It is a little unusual in that there is a keypad entry system but this worked perfectly and there is no one on site to meet and greet but again this was fine as the daily cleaning and tidying was done very well.
The location might make you think it would be noisy but our room had a french window at the back so we did not have to open the front window and there was very little road noise after about 10.30 at night. I am a light sleeper but had no problems.

Room Tip: The Victoria Room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara M, Owner at Charles House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing Charles House, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good nights sleep. Windsor can be busy during the day especially when we are so close to the town centre.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Charles House sometime in the future if you are visiting Windsor again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Charles House is conveniently situated in Arthur Road, Windsor, . It is just a 5-10 mins walk to the train station, the castle and shops. Right across the road, in front of Charles House is a mini supermarket. You do not have to worry about getting hungry!

We stayed in "William" room. It was cozy, clean and comfortable. Though the room may look small, it has all the things that a 4 star hotel room would provide.

The owner of the house (Ms Barbara) is very friendly. She even personally came to welcome us when she knew about our flight cancellation and the delay in our check-in. We were touched by her gesture. In addition, she replies to our emails and requests very fast.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Charles House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icylem0n18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for the weekend for a wedding and we found the use of a keycode rather than a key very convenient. The location is great - just near the shops and station, plus there is a shop just across the road for anything you might need. Everything was beautifully clean and very comfy. I'd recommend this to anyone staying in Windsor, especially if you like your independence (there's no reception but we didn't miss it at all). Breakfast isn't included but it's easy to go to the cafes in Windsor, all who offer a decent breakfast (longer walk to Monty's Cafe but worth it).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissyob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles House

Property: Charles House
Address: 89 Arthur Road, Windsor SL4 1RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charles House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charles House, a fabulous guest house in Windsor, Berkshire is only a 5 minute walk from Windsor town centre and Windsor Castle.Featuring state of the art keypad front door and individual room security, meaning no longer having to deal with keys or room tags. Unexpected delay, no problem, complete freedom to come and go using your issued personal PIN.Each room has ensuite facilities offering either King size, twin or super Kingsize beds. Every room has a fridge complete with ice box, for your personal convenience, along with tea and coffee making facilities there is also a hairdryer, an iron and ironing board and an radio alarm clock with IPhone/IPod docking facilities. All our rooms offer complimentary WiFi and Freeview flat screen TV. Windsor Town Centre has many places offering breakfast, but for your convenience we offer a simple continental breakfast ready prepared in the fridge, which you take in the privacy of your own room at a time to suit you, just tick the box when booking. Our town centre rooms are available for adults only, but we do have another guest house just outside Windsor offering plenty of rooms for both children and adults. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charles House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing