We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn with Lego!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Drive up is uninspiring - Premier Inn with cheap looking paint I thought. Room not ready at 3pm for check in. Room was 303 Pirate Premier Room with a view - fantastic - and thats where fantastic ends! Corridors for each level set out with a theme, pirates on level 3 includes lego statues and pirate themed carpets. Once at the end of the corridor the theme is increased when the rooms change from standard to premier where the doors are decorated and the walls have different paint and lego torches outside the doors. Rooms have a master area which is small but adequate, beds and pillows very hard (premier inn type quality). Bathroom also small but adequate, decor very nice and themed, kids area with own tv and bunks. Good use of treasure hunt to find lego gift but disappointed kids when they find its the ones they give away free in the newspapers occasionally and they already had it. They also get a lanyard but not the lego one, just a plain black one and have to collect badges from the eating places in the park of which they are given a special one to show they have stayed in the hotel. They can swap with staff and other guests which is fun if you realise that you have a special one and everyone wants it in the park! Pool area very small for the hotel and aimed at kids aged 4 - 7yrs. Ours were 8 and 10 and were way too old, 8yr old may have been ok with a younger sibling. There is only 1 restaurant and it is a buffet style. Breakfast included in price but not dinner at £19.95 per adult and £6.95 per child. Food quality was poor and not enough staff generally in the hotel to clean the constant mess that under 5's create so everything is sticky and cake all over the floor. There are 2 bars but one doesnt appear to be open. The other bar the skyline bar serves bar food, burgers, club sandwich etc which is ok. They do a show in the evening, again aimed at 4 - 7yr olds. You can enter the park a half hour early through a turnstyle at the back of the hotel but it takes you this half hour to get through that gate as there is only 1 person on it. On the saturday they eventually put an extra 2 people out with ticket scanners as they saw the queue would not be through before 10am when the park opens to everyone. If you have a 4 - 7 yr old it is handy to stay over but very pricey for what you get. The rooms are fantastic decor-wise but thats it, the rest is of a very low standard for the high price tag. Stay at Hilton or Marriot and half your bill and raise your standard.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for park view as you will struggle to see through the trees. The kids part is the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mumneedsabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Essentially a travelogue quality hotel with some fun Lego frills at a 4* price. That's all fine - the whole Legoland experience is about parting you from your money at every turn (and I mean every turn - nothing is included in the park and the same is true in the Hotel. Don't expect freebies like wifi.) and generally the hotel is pretty good. The place is comfortable and well thought out, though it needs more lifts (you can literally wait 15 minutes for one you can get on) and it's not that clean - especially around the lego bits. The pool and water play area is good and generally the service is great.

None of this applies however if you go to the restaurant or an evening meal. The food is awful. Along with a quite a number of things that are different from advertised in the welcome folder, the food is now a buffet. One that would put a motorway service station in the 1970s to shame. It is tasteless, badly prepared and generally revolting. The restaurant is filthy, with every seat stained. The staff are surly and stand around chatting whilst ignoring not only you but the piles of dirty plates that seem to lie uncleared on every table until it is needed again. There is a wide choice on main courses all of which are largely inedible, whilst the one requirement for the puddings is that they must fit in a plastic glass - so you get 5 shades of tasteless gloop.

Twenty quid seems like a steal for a whole meal, but none of us could manage more than a few bites; even the kids, whom it is clearly aimed at, ate almost nothing and said they were revolted A day later I am still haunted by its unpleasantness. I wouldn't expect or want a different style necessarily, but when you are paying over £375 for a night at a hotel, you'd at least expect in its restaurant good quality ingredients, well prepared, served with care in a clean and comfortable environment. It is a real surprise, as the hotel and even more so the resort itself show an enormous attention to detail. I can only assume that just because you can run an amusement park doesn't mean you can run a hotel, or particularly a restaurant. Put it this way, you get a lot better dining experience from the fast food stands in the resort.

By all means stay - it is a great idea in so many ways if you are going to the resort, and if money is not an issue - but get in your car and drive into Windsor to have your dinner - or go to the nearest garage and get a Ginster's pasty for everyone as even that would be more satisfying ( and better value).

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a premium room - you are not going to spend enough time in it and you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed in a Premium Themed Kingdom room. The child part of the room was faultless and our little boy loved it. He enjoyed having to crack the code for the safe and finding his treasure. Bathroom was spotless and provided plenty of towels. The power shower was amazing and I thought it a nice touch that toilet seats for the little ones were incorporated into the main toilet seat. The lego models throughout the room were just fantastic and you just have to admire the members that build those, very clever indeed. Swimming pool and water splash area brilliant. We wandered down to the skyline bar in the evening and had a great time.The staff here were so friendly and helpful. A play area for the children, they were all having a wonderful time. Entertainment for the kids which they all enjoyed.
On the downside I am really sorry to say, the bedding on our bed was stained and the open shelving on the wardobe and storage area very dusty. We ordered a cooked breakfast in the room and this arrived cold and not of a very good standard along with the coffee and tea although the orange juice and milk arrived quite warm.
We booked our room online and did not receive any information what so ever on the hotel itself apart from booking in and out times. We were not made aware that hotel guests could enter the park through the hotel itself so anyone else booking in the hotel for the first time please be aware of this.
On the whole I think the booking companies are at fault for their lack of information and housekeeping needs to be a bit sharper. Sort this out and yes, it is a great place to take the family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

OK first lets get pricing out of the way. It's Legoland Windsor so lets assume you are not going there to save money.

The hotel itself lived up to everyone’s (2 adults, 2 children) expectations our pirate room was brilliant and the themed carpet alone is great fun throughout the corridors and rooms. Room facilities and size was perfectly adequate for 4.

The food was an eclectic buffet (do book any evening meals when you arrive there as it gets busy), service was patchy as we failed to order wine so filled up on the included drinks instead.

The two small lifts are a joke and the architect should be shot. The queues build up quickly and you need to add 15 mins to any journey during the morning or evening rush. They are small and become quickly hot and claustrophobic. Use the stairs if you can.

The hotel staff were very helpful and I commend them as they were often busy.

Having the park literally feet away from the hotel's back door is worth the extra cash alone. Disabled badge holders beware there are only 4 spaces available.

The swimming and splash areas within the hotel are small but perfectly formed.

On the whole a ver pleasant, memorable hotel experience

The Star Wars miniland exhibition was a bit disappointing as they have overhyped it hugely. Don't go to Legoland solely for it.

Everything is new and shiny so go soon to get the best of it. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Pirate rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slarti99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Obviously the Hotel is still new, Great Lego theme throughout. This is great for little and big kids alike. Bedrooms are well equiped and themed, we stayed in the Kingdom theme and the boys loved it. The Restaurant is child friendly offering a Buffet style meal, free soft drinks and eat as much as you like. The Breakfast was buffet style as well with a wide selection.
Just off the restaurant was a childs play area, whch was safe and secure. My boys favourite feature of the Hotel was the swimming pool and splash area which was very safe.
Over all a great short break. Very freindly staff. 10/10

Room Tip: All up to a very good standard, Try to get a park side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

stayed in this hotel for one night with my 2 young boys and baby. The hotel itself was amazing. the attention to detail was fantastic. From the carpets, to the children's room, the tv, free lego toy hidden in the safe and lego in your room for you to play with during your stay. Air con in the room was a god send, as it was so hot. A cot was provided, however so was one blanket. I used the spare duvet to put on the bottom as it was rock hard. We ordered a film, with popcorn and 2 drinks and 2 treats for the boys for £9.95, but they had no popcorn. The buffet for the evening meal was a bit expensive at £19.99 per adult, but you are not going to be staying in a hotel like this very often, so you were happy to pay the price, The breakfast was delicious, eat as much as you like, lots of choice, Was slightly annoying parents letting their children get their own food. The decor of the restaurant is amazing. Its just a wonderful child friendly place. we had a magical time and would love to go again. Even the urinals were colourful. We stayed in the Kingdom Room. Slightly annoying was the fact that the lift opened at both ends so you spent alot of time just waiting to get in. We never got to go swimming, but the pool looked nice. Would have been nice if their was a fridge in your room. There certainly was room for it. The tv in the children's room was ideal, so we could watch what we wanted on our tv. Would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: book restaurant early for evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginandtonicNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

To celebrate her birthday my daughter was desperate to stay in the new hotel having been a Legoland fan ever since she was little.
She was not disappointed - in fact she wants to go back there next year! The rooms are very well decorated and the attention to detail is impressive. The pool is fine for playing - there is also a pool for straight swimming but it does get busy. There is also a small gym. What particularly impressed me was the range of food - plenty of healthy options as well as the standard fare that too many places still provide for children. It would have been nice to have had one or two extra rides available for the early entry to the park but all in all we had a great time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it the premium rooms do have a little extra in terms of attention to detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon_Commuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,439 reviews
2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel

Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: £86 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Legoland Windsor Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing