We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was a little reluctant at the thought of visiting Legoland but I shouldn't have worried. Although the tickets were quite expensive booking in advance made this more palatable. We arrived in plenty of time as the queues grew for the opening on the park itself. Once inside we knew where we wanted to head to and the tips to head to the back of the park and work forward worked in our favour. Taking a picnic is an absolute essential if you don't want to break the bank and the Park is accomodating in providing picnic areas to relax in. The rides are brilliant and there is no doubt that the children have so much fun. A great day out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyTMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    734
    594
    248
    108
    100
See reviews for
1,459
11
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We had a great stay in the Legoland Resort Hotel in Windsor. We arrived at nine o'clock in the morning and we were given a card to let us get to the second floor and also allowed to leave our bags with the very nice porter. We had also forgotten to print our our Legoland tickets, but this wasn't a problem, as the receptionist printed them out for us.

One advantage of the resort hotel is that you can go on the Atlantis ride half an hour before the rest of the people can go into the park. You also start at the other side of the part to the general admission, so when you get into the park at 10, you are closer to some of the rides and can get them done before there are any substantial queues.

On returning to the hotel that evening, we went to reception and received our room keys. The bags had already been taken to the room (just using our surname!). There was a little treasure hunt for the kids in the room (with a combination lock on the safe!!). The room is really nice. We didn't book one of the upper-class rooms, but a standard themed one (adventure). Even so, the room is really nicely decorated. There are two rooms, separated by the bathroom. The adults one is on the outside and has a large TV, large double bed (king) and plents of space to move about. The kids room is a bunk bed with their own TV and a pull-out bed below if you have more than the 2+2 family. The kids were reall happy with their part!

We had dinner in the hotel, which is a buffet (there is a lower buffet for children with non-fried foods and a lower table so that they can help themselves). This is fine - not haute cuisine - but enough for our purposes. There is also a kids entertainment to be had at 8pm. The only complaint would be that the staff levels at the bar were a little low, so a queue formed there. That could be improved.

We slept very soundly!

The breakfast the morning after was OK. The dining room is heavily decorated with lego models, some of them very funny. We had to take photos of all of them.

Check-out is at 10am, but you just leave your bags in the room (packed!) and they will collect them for you to put them in to the left luggage. Just remember to tear off your half of the tag to be able to claim them afterwards.

Other points are that the parking at the hotel is free and ample. I was impressed with the service and a lot of thought has gone into the little things which make the stay very worthwhile (even the lift talks to the kids!).

Well recommended!

One tip would be to eat in the buffet and not in the bar. The buffet is a set price and overall lower than food in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emm3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

OK- not going to complain as my kids overall loved their trip to legoland and the hotel definitely ticked their boxes. hopefully they retai the memory because we wont be back!

at the end of the day you will spend probably only one to two nights in this hotel which is the max any sane adult could spend in it. For the price which includes park entry it is expensive for what it is and it really just tries to gear itself to the kids, adults there to pay but not really catered for.

Check in at 3 and check out at 11 is actually a bit much and you dont even get 24hrs for the price. also reception personnel are clueless once you ask anything other than a pre-programmed question. the overall welcome is one of leave your bags, go to the park and don't bother me. they also did not even bother to explain the way to the park after we arrived so having not stayed there we ended up driving to the main entrance. you can enter directly via the hotel which is great if you know in advance. a smile ( however false) and some basic information even if you arrive before the 3pm check in is a minimal expectation. some proper training required here otherwise replace them with a lego person - they might have more personality!

Restaurant is good for kids but be warned - dinnertime is chaos with kids running / screaming shouting -all good fun but would be nice to have maybe a quiter section just for half an hour away from the madness. try and get down early otherwise you face another Q!

the pool area has no soundproofing and for a small amount of people the noise is deafening! i usally never complain about noise and not that sensitive to it but this was ridiculous and have not experienced this before ina pool anywhere.

Despite the pool not being that busy when we arrived I have to say that the dressing rooms for the pool are a disgrace - i am not lying when i say there are 5 dressing rooms and three showers for a mixed family facility which they highlight as a great attraction - perhaps they are going to intorduce a Q-bot incremental charge to reserve one which is the only reason I can see why they would have so few of these basic facilities at a family pool!

Queueing with wet shivering kids to change clothes is a joke at a family oreintated hotel and queueing for a shower after the pool is also a nonsense.

overall pool area should be much larger - dressing rooms need to be at least 5X current size.

Restuarant needs a normal area and hey just a thought but might be nice to have an adults restaurant with baby monitoring provided - there are plenty of hotel that try and succeed to service both adults and children - this one is kids only but your kids will love it once you are prepared for the sacrifice.

the park itself is good but you have to get a Q-bot unless you want to spend hours in queues with tired little ones- given their target age group it is unacceptable to expect children to wait around all day ( we were there on 6-7 august so in high season). After the first day when we did not have one I saw many exasperated parents trying to brave face it for their kids after their third 45 minute queue. We did a couple of Qs on day one but in the end having travelled and paid for the hotel / flight to come here we anted up and paid for the rip off Q-bots at 70 pound per person.

anyone considering going there realy needs to add this to their budget as you will be very disappointed without it. In the end i think like all theme parks it is about the money and clearly long Qs is a revenue generating strategy!

All in all cost was 450 + 140 for 2 Qbots ( the 15 pound ones are a waste of time) we got two of the 70 ones but swapped around and basically you go right tot he top so if they want to ride a certain ride again your wait is 5 minutes not another hour). Adding in food in the park some obligatory lego kits etc you are looking at 700GBP for one night and a two days - good value - no, not at all

Woudl i go back - probably not - thankfully that box is now ticked.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanneroo, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I had a wonderful time in Legoland recently. Having reserved a room at the hotel based on how great the pirate rooms looked online, I remained in the park until close to 7pm then went to the hotel to check in. Upon arrival I was informed that all of the Priate rooms were full, despite my reservation!

Please be aware this is not a one off event. I have since read plently of reviews online with the same difficulty. It was explained to me that whilst the website books every available room for every available night, there are often maintenance etc which means all rooms are not in operation on a particular night. The reservations then become "first in best dressed", as in, if I had checked in at 3pm I would have recieved my room, but by the time I arrived there were none available.

I was significantly annoyed to have to stay in an Adventure themed room after booking the hotel based on the pirate rooms. When accessing the lift there was a women next to me whose child was crying because they had not been able to get their Kingdom room, so this occurred on the same night for multiple rooms!

My advice here is, the hotel is great, kids will love it! But if you want to make sure you get the room you asked for, check in at 3pm as soon as you are able! Because basically when it comes down to it there are not real "reservations" and its every man for himself! Which I think is ridiculous and needs to be addressed. Most hotels can manage it Legoland, why cant you??

Room Tip: Check in at 3pm to get the room you asked for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miffy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

Truly a magical hotel. We had a premium kingdom room which was breathtaking. Service at bars and restaurant was poor had to wait for a supervisor to pull a pint!location in park was superb. Expensive for a one night stay but as a treat was nice. A bit more attention to detail on cleaning and service and it will be out of this world

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herefroggyfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights expensive for £530 but birthday treat for daughter! On arrival thought check in girl was disinterested. First of all we booked a kingdom room and they had a pirate room booked for us but they did upgrade us to a park view kingdom room in the end!! That was it no other information given by checkin in this was 10.30 in the morning just get on with it so we followed everyone else an gave our bags to the porter!! I think at this point they should tell you what to do now and how to get in the park etc!! Park was brill kids loved it eat in the park after 4 as kids eat free and food was really good esp. The rotisserie. Restaurant on hotel v. Expensive and chaotic and drink in bar extortionate!! Rooms as everyone says are brill with sep. area for kids although wrong way rounds as kids beds are by the door and as I have a 4 year old who wanders I ended up sleeping in the bunk bed with her as couldn't take the risk!! Again as everyone says the lifts are a complete nightmare esp at 10 when everyone is checking out you could be waitin forever we only just made breakfast because of this, think breakfast should be later than 10 anyway. 2nd day in park even better cos you find your way around better!! We also ordered the movie an popcorn in the room that was advertised,, wot a joke they had no popcorn noone from reception to the bar knew how to do it when it finally arrived wrong ice cream and overcharged us for it!! Overall good hotel, disinterested and unhelpful reception, lifts nightmare, eat in the park after 4 and take your own drink for the room as bar prices expensive!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazkateholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just got back from staying at the Legoland hotel which I have to say was amazing, the attention to detail was incredible! We stayed in a pirate themed room of which you couldn't fault although if I wanted to be ultra critical I think they could have made the bathroom a little big bigger! The Lego figures that were in the room & around the hotel was just fantastic!

The swimming pool was great although was very busy after 5pm & the changing facilities were very wet, slippery & unmanned which with young children around needed more supervision!

We ate in the Bricks restaurant in the evening, I think it was over priced for buffet food & think that children should eat free because there is so much going on that they don't want to eat & they put us at the end of the restaurant so our meal was pretty much ruined as the kids wanted to watch the entertainment that was on offer & I wasn't prepared to sit there like other parents but you learn from experience I guess! Also a real bug bearer for me was the seats were disgusting, they look like theyve never seen a wipe since opening so if you weren't looking & wearing something nice you could have food sticking to you!!

I think once the hotel addresses certain issues it could be an ultra amazing place for the whole family! I will look forward to going back but not at steep prices that they want to charge for next year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellaslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your LEGOLAND Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing