We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel with a few niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great hotel with a few niggles”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed here overnight early July 2014 and took advantage of the 2-for-1 offer for park entry. Arrived at noon and loved the free parking, was able to do pre-check in which gave us a swipe card to get through the various parts of the hotel and into the park. Whilst check-in was quick and easy, kids loved the "Lego pit" to play with in the reception area, and would be great for keeping kids occupied if queues were longer.

Exited back of hotel into park, and was able to gain "priority entry" 30 minutes before opening the next day, though to be honest, the areas you can access are so limited it's hardly worth the bother.

Stayed in pirate themed room which was spotlessly clean and really nicely decorated. Kids loved their very own bunkbeds and TV, and the "treasure hunt" they had to complete to open the safe for the Lego prize was a nice touch, though the prizes were pretty stingy. The price that these rooms are, I think another £5 each for a decent kit isn't too much to ask. Nice that there was a box of Lego to play with, and my 6 year old enjoyed taking part in the nightly contest, this time building an animal.

If you're in the hotel there's no choice of where to eat dinner, and to be honest we found the buffet disappointing. Whilst there's a wide variety of choice, it's all fairly standard fare, with few healthy options, and the gluten free choices were incredibly limited - essentially just steak and potatoes, that old chestnut! Children's choices were even less healthy - think sausages, chips and beans - though as a one off my two were happy. Over-priced though, and incredibly loud, ends up with a somewhat downmarket feel with the noise from the children's entertainment right next door competing with the music and the general rumpus from a lot of children. I don't mean to be a killjoy, I have 2 kids of my own, but if you want the chance to have a conversation with your family then ask for a table away from the entertainment. Kids will love the ice cream they get to dispense themselves, though when we were there there were no toppings left, and the station was in a terrible mess.

Outdoor play area was great, and both my two would have played in there all night if we'd let them, though they came in to catch the end of the entertainment which also looked like it had been popular.

We all had a good night's sleep, beds were comfy and no noise from other rooms which was a surprise given the number of kids in the hotel. A nice touch in the bathroom was the graduated toilet seats, with built in smaller seats for the kids...

In the morning we had an early swim in the pirate pool, this was great for the kids, with towels provided which was even better. Just the right depth of water that my 6 year old could have fun but my 2 year old was also safe. Definitely have a play in here if time allows - it opens early so plenty of time before park opening.

Breakfast was like dinner the night before, fairly standard motorway service station type food, lots of greasy bacon and fried eggs, though there were a few cereals and limited fruit selection to choose from as well.

On our first day in the park there were no maps to be had anywhere, so we asked at the hotel reception, who also said there were none. I asked if they could photocopy one but was told they weren't allowed to do so. Come on, at around £400 a night rack rate I think you can afford a photocopy, or even better, provide each family checking in with an original map. The next day to get a map we had to trek to literally the opposite end of the park, as the only place with maps was the main entrance - not good enough, Legoland.

We had a great time in the park (time for another review!) and the hotel stay did make things a lot easier, and was certainly fun for the kids, but it was very expensive, and some quieter dining options and better food choices would have made this better for the adults too.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking to be on a separate room from the restaurant if you have young children and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrawberryMivvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed by the different perks that Hotel guests can enjoy, from the free parking to our fun LEGO pit for children to enjoy in the Hotel foyer. We are also really glad that you enjoyed the Hotel's facilities.

We are proud to offer guests a choice of two restaurants, the Bricks Family Restaurant and the Skyline Bar, as well a full room service menu. We are pleased to offer a wide selection of freshly prepared options at our buffet, with several healthier choices available, as well as an extensive salad bar. Our Restaurant team are committed to delivering a fantastic experience and our chefs are always delighted to assist if our guests have any specific dietary options.

We are proud to operate a business that genuinely cares about the experiences of all our guests and in providing them with the very best possible services and facilities. We therefore really appreciate your review and we will be sharing your feedback with our Hotel team for consideration.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    614
    257
    112
    104
See reviews for
1,526
11
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We visited legoland for our daughter's 6th birthday. We opted for a premium pirate room as was not disappointed. Wonderfully decorated and great size with bunk bed and tv for kids. Very clean hotel and friendly staff. We ate in the bar and our daughter watched the shows and met the lego staff and characters. It is expensive but we had such a great time it's worth it. Location is perfect and easy, early entry to the park is great. Only small gripes are charges to use the cashpoint and adult beds a little firm. Overall a great hotel that kids will love.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lynda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Premium Pirate Room and that you were impressed by both the facilities and theming throughout the Resort.

We are delighted that you felt your stay provided good value and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome your family again in the future.

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

WOW...boy am I glad I went the whole hog and splashed out on this treat! If you`re in any doubt about paying the extra to stay at the hotel I say DO IT!! It really did make the whole experience special.

From the moment you arrive there is so much to do and see, so much thought has gone into everything at the hotel, there wasnt one single area that wasnt decorated and themed (except maybe the conference rooms)!

We arrived at 9am,parked in the free hotel car park and went straight in the pre-check in which was very fast. We had a little look around to see where everything is then went to line up for early entry. So off we go!! got on a few rides with little ques but as soon as the main park opens it fills up fast!! Its definitely worth deciding what rides you want to do first eg- If I went again I would head straight to the knights kingdom rides at 10am then the next day go the flume and rapids at 10am as these rides really get long ques after that.

I would also say definately take some spare light pants as you WILL GET WET on a few rides - especially the raft river racers!! great fun but we were absolutely soaked we had to go get changed!

The breakfast buffet was just fantastic. EVERYTHING you could possibly think of to eat and drink, even a childrens buffet in the middle to make it easier for the children to pick their food. Characters walking around the hotel all the time, great exclusive play area outside and we loved the pirate splash area and the pool. was really relaxing after all that walking! The towels provided was a nice touch too, very handy. £1 for a locker WHICH IS RETURNABLE.

Buffets after 4pm on the park are good value and have a good choice, There ARE still soft drinks choices as well as fizzy ie - still fanta, fresh orange and apple. Id recommend waiting till after 5pm though as EVERYONE seems to rush to them between 4 and 5 and its MANIC!

Drench towers is Amazing!! Kids were there for ages and it gave us a little break (phew!)

Overall it was so good I actually REALLY want to go again!!!! :D Im going to book premium pirate next time to give it a try only because I dont think a normal adventure room will be as exciting next time!

TIP - if there is a big que for the lift in reception, go up the steps at the side as if you going to the toilets and wait at the next set of lift doors. There is also a stair case available if you arent going far and dont want to wait for the lift.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying at the Hotel and that you had a really fun time with your family in the Park.

We are so pleased to hear that you are thinking of returning and we can't wait to welcome you again!

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was the most recent of our several visits (courtesy of having merlin passes) and it was another amazing time. Prepare well to walk long distances and several inclines but otherwise it's hard to find a negative. Duplo valley perfect for those hot hazy days and we can't tear my nephew away from driving school. Not many things for bigger kids though and it's difficult to keep big kids amused.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at the Resort and that your family really enjoy DUPLO Valley - which we agree is the perfect place to cool down on a hot summer's day!

We hope to welcome you again soon.

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just been and we did two days staying in the hotel. One benefit of the hotel is you get 9.30 entry at the other end of the park meaning you can get on the busy rides early avoiding the mad queues. Only problem we found with this early riding was the photo stalls if you want the overpriced photos open later and the first rides we went on were not taking photos.

The park itself is very expensive for everything and is a money making scheme at every turn. Also the hotel is still fresh and new but the park is over 15 years old and some rides look it very faded dirty and washed out. £7.50 gets you all you can drink free refills but of fizzy pop and tap water only no still or healthy alternatives so if you kids like mine don't enjoying drink fizzy sugar filled pop don't waste your money.

The main bad points are some rides are old and faded and look tired

When the park is fully open queues of an hour is normal for most rides so smaller children may not like as did my 3 year old it's a bit much. Children crying and ding for the loo in 1 hour queues.

The thing that got me is it's very class divided place if your parents are prepared to pay a small fortune you can get priority on everything. Parking is £4 or priority is £13 at the front of the carkpark as an example. Then you have que bots. These really take the Micky if a family of 4 has an extra £280 you can buy que bot premium and not que. So you que for an hour and get to the front as we did on a ride and bang they open a side gate and 10 people just stroll on in front of you.

Lots to do an my kids loved it but the food is a rip off £32 for a family of 5 to have burger and chips. Photos are £10 which is twice what another theme park we visited recently for them same size photos. The lego in the shops is all marked up as well.

Also the a management close rides for no apparent rides. We visited the sky rider and it was closed not broken just closed and the member of staff told me management wanted out closed and would reopen when he was told to. 10 minutes later it opened we ran back and qued for 20 minutes.

They had to close the train for the morning due to breakdown due to its age it's looks on it's last legs. They opened it in the afternoon and we qued for Over an hour!

If your kids are under 90cm I wouldn't bother as only a small area in duplo land will let them ride all other rides they won't be allowed. If your kids are less than 130cm tall the will need an adult on every ride with them so the park is very much geared to family's of 2 adults 2 kids. We had 3 and had to alternate on rides and one would have to wait on the side each time which was ok but not ideal.

If they over 130cm great however the cars etc are up to 13 years and the age and height rules are rigid and staff won't bend,.

I would say much after primary school age and children may find it bit young and not enjoy it as much so I would target age is 6-11.



The hotel and can't fault is a lot newer than the park and is very nice staff are great all you can eat buffets. There entertainment and the rooms are well appointed.

Kids loved it I thought compared to other parks it's has a lot of rides but it's looking tired and overpriced from a parents point of view.

If your can stay In the hotel as it's makes the experience much better. Prepay for tickets as the que at 10am opening was mad if you prepay you just scan at the gate and go in saving time. Also the hotel car is free and by the entrance if you leave the main carpark after 5.30pm you can que for up to an hours to leave. Bare in mind the food and drink is expensive so bring your own if you can. Do the big rides first plan you visit you get more out of it especially if your hotel guest you enter at 9.30 and at the opposite end of the park.

Room Tip: Book early we booked march for August and got about £200 off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsportstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased that your children loved their visit to the LEGOLAND Windsor Resort and that you found there was lots to enjoy.

As one of the UK's top family attractions, the Resort is a popular place to visit during peak times (such as school holidays) and therefore longer queues can be expected for popular attractions. We are delighted to offer Hotel guests exclusive early access to a selection of rides, as well a very helpful guide on our website to help guests make the most of their day.

The Resort provides over 55 rides, attractions and live shows which are all designed with children aged 2 - 12 years old in mind. The safety of our guests is our top priority and for this reason we do enforce the height restrictions on all of our rides. We do advise guests to check the height restrictions, which are explained on our website and free app, prior to their visit in order to plan their day.

During August the Sky Rider was closed at periodic times due to the local Fire Fighter strikers, in accordance with the health and safety regulations. We apologise if this was not communicated more clearly and we are delighted to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy it shortly after when it reopened.

We are proud to operate a business that genuinely cares about the experiences of all our guests and in providing them with the very best possible services and facilities. We therefore really appreciate all of your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned today and had to write a review straight away, we ALL loved it, took the 2 grandchildren for 2 days and it was just great, no complaints apart from the the water rapids, if your looking for a family photo taken on the ride, they make you double up with other people, the picture didn't show all of our family so didn't purchase...shame stick to guns if you want a ride on your own, you have to que to long to go on it again, but apart from that, hotel, food cleanliness, staff everything was great, definitely worth the visit.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in a themed room, with a park view had no complaints about it at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time with your grandchildren and that you really enjoyed the experience of staying at the LEGOLAND Windsor Resort.

We hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future.

The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our stay at the legoland hotel, the rooms are fab, the staff are great, the food is super plenty of choice, super poached eggs for breakfast. The evening entrainment wasn't great, maybe a disco would go down well and keep the music running don't switch off at 9.30. Looking forward to coming back soon

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEGOLAND_Windsor, PR Assistant at LEGOLAND Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for your 5* rating! We are really glad that you had a wonderful stay at the LEGOLAND Windsor Resort.

We are pleased to offer nightly entertainment including dancing and live music for children to enjoy. We are also continually looking at new ways to develop our offering and we therefore really appreciate your feedback and suggestions.

We hope to welcome you again.

Thanks,
The LEGOLAND Windsor Resort team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LEGOLAND Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LEGOLAND Resort Hotel

Property: LEGOLAND Resort Hotel
Address: Winkfield Road, Windsor SL4 4AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — LEGOLAND Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the spectacular dragon-guarded entrance and interactive LEGO features, through to the brightly coloured pirate splash pool and fully themed bedrooms, The LEGOLAND Windsor Hotel is brimming with LEGO features; inspiring little imaginations and creating laugh-out loud memories for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your LEGOLAND Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing