We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised at quality of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised at quality of this hotel”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Conveniently situated some 15 mins walking to the centre of Windsor, my wife and I spent a very agreeable night here following a trip to an Agatha Christie play at the Theatre Royal.The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the double room was very comfortable and the self service breakfast also came as a pleasant surprise . In fact, other than the mattress being a little soft, we we unable to find anything to complain about.! Strongly recommended - we shall visit again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gxgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    229
    132
    32
    27
See reviews for
180
169
16
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lovely hotel, and Windsor needs a few more away from the town centre as it can be noisy there. Location, a little away from the centre about 10 mins walk to castle and river. Very new hotel so everything in good condition and priced well for the area.

However, in each room there is a heating control unit and "hotel" air conditioning.,... asked the staff at the desk to turn it off and it came back on at 5.30am in the morning ;( very noisy and they could not turn it off. Not much sleep from there.

Need to visit the town so hope this is not going to be a problem as would like to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear WindsorboyUK,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you appreciate the good condition of our hotel. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with us due to the air conditioner issues. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midalnds uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Mixed stay really.

It's a new Express hotel, which was neat and tidy. Rooms were comfortable. It's easy to get to and a nice stroll into Windsor as well as having reasonably priced parking underneath. Rooms were new and comfortable.

However, the downside was that the breakfast was awful. When we got there, admittedly around 9.30am, they had ran out of milk, bacon, eggs, bread, teaspoons, knives and cups! After standing around for ages some of these were refreshed. It was all pretty cold.

I value my breakfast (especially after a night out!) so this put a bit of a downer on it, otherwise it would have been a solid 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBillyClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear BobbyBillyClint,

Thank you for your review about your stay with us. It is nice to know that our rooms were comfortable enough for your needs. However, it is regrettable that the breakfast served did not meet your liking. We will work on rectifying this to ensure we achieve complete guest satisfaction in the future.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for any shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Facilities are good. A little bit pot luck with the parking in the basement, but then you could probably find a parking space overnight and not have to pay. Breakfast is a little spartan but always included. Yet we come back again and again, because the price is right.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTS_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Windsor, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear DTS_59,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments online. I am happy that our facilities met your expectations and the breakfast served was sufficient.

We are looking forward to hosting you again soon should your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My family and I stayed here on 2 occasions in 2013. Very nice stay, comfortable and clean hotel, pleasant and helpful staff, good breakfast, convenient parking. Very close for a Stonehenge visit. Most recent stay i used this hotel for a one night for an early morning flight from Heathrow. Best decision ever. Took me 15 minutes in the morning to get to Heathrow T4 to start my long haul trip rested and fresh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilango1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-u-Lyme
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here 2 nights during Christmas break. Ideal location short walk to all attractions of Windsor.Room very clean and good size with nice bathroom and large shower. We used hotel car park which was a bonus and reasonable cost. Recommend taking breakfast earlier as not much left Sunday am, Monday was better as less guests present in dining room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxyDog09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night after Xmas.We were greated by a very friendly young lady who although it wasn't busy she couldn't do enough to help and was very informative..The room was spotless and an ideal sizefor our short stay,the bathroom was very nice and had a large power shower. The only downside to this hotel is the self service breakfast , as we chose to eat around half nine it was particularly busy and there wasn't a lot of choice left ,with some items being cold. I believe if we had eaten earlier this might of not been the case.The underground car park is convenient although there are limited spaces which meant we had to park on the road.The hotel is situated in a residential area and is in the ideal location for those wanting to visit town centre which is a ten minute walk away or two minutes by car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Address: 71 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Windsor 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing