We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and tidy room - parking a bit tricky. Breakfast could have been better”
Review of Alma Lodge

Alma Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alma Lodge
Ranked #16 of 24 Windsor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2011

The room was very clean and tidy . A hair dryer was provided, however the nearest socket was too far away so I could not use the mirror.
There is a very small car park at the rear so parking can be a bit tricky. You have to leave your car key in the room in case they need to move it.
Breakfast was a bit of a mix up. We went down for breakfast at 9.10am (it finished at 9.30) but were asked if we could return to our room as a table was not ready. We were told that he would knock on the door in a few minutes. We waited until 9.40am and decided that we should check. It was a good job that we did as we had been forgotten!. Breakfast was OK, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes would have been nice instead of being out of a tin. He also forgot to bring our toast and we had to remind him, by which time we had finished our cooked breakfast.
It was a busy weekend as the tattoo was on and it would seem that they were finding this difficult to cope.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepysheep27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

Great architecture. Stayed in recently redone lowest floor room -- pretty but lacking in charm, just too modern. And we aren't used to city noise, so the roar of planes from Heathrow was a bit disconcerting. But staff was helpful (recommended restaurants, gave us directions, printed things for us from Google Maps, getting car parked behind lodge), food was excellent. And location made leaving from LHR very easy the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed in early September, and was quite happy with my choice. The room and facilities were very clean. Mick, who is responsible for the daily running of the house a very friendly and helpfull Kiwl. Good breakfast, 5 minutes to Windsor Castle, 10-15 mins. to train. Fifty minutes to Waterloo in London. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamurphy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

My wife and i stayed just one night before returning to Canada.
Our room on the second story facing the rear was clean and comfortable.
Alma Lodge seems to have been recently refurbished and redecorated .
The bathroom though small is very cleverly designed , bright and well laid out. The quality
of its fittings ,tiling and paintwork is high as is the rest of the house.
We found the breakfast to be excellent. Better than we had experienced in other
places all week.. Only a pleasant 8 minute stroll from the castle.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dentatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

My wife and myself spent one night at alma lodge. The rooms were excellent with a vey comfortable bed. The lodge was booked out that night so i believe 7 occupants and we barley heard any noise, excellent sound proofing. The location is excellent and is a quick plesant stroll to the town center, which also happens to pass alot of dinner options on the way. Breakfast is also served in a beautiful room and was very good. The only minor downside is the slightly tricky parking and would have been nice to have some tissues in the room. Highly reccomend people stay here

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieduo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed only one night. Excellent base for downtown and Windsor Castle. Nice comfortable room with ensuite bath. Some off-street parking in a cramped lot at rear of the B&B. Hosts very helpful in pointing out things to do and places to eat around townt. Very pleasant town with lots of friendly and helpful folks. Breakfast wasn't that exciting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The Alma Lodge was our base for four nights in the first week of August, for what was a trip to Legoland for the young 'un! We arrived around 1pm after driving from Stansted round the M25 - actually it was not too bad!

The room was in the basement which has been recently refurbished with a sink, cupboards, utensils etc if you want to store your own food. We had a double bed, a single bed, TV, kettle although the bathroom was a bit small. All very comfortable though and plenty of storage space for clothes and shoes.

Breakfast included fruit, cereal and a selection of toast plus a full English. The owner's father in law loves to chat and he was quite enjoying chatting to the guests (only three tables in the breakfast room) and finding out where everyone was from.

Would recommend this as a base for Legoland, it's minutes away. Plus it's a short walk into the centre of Windsor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pashmina_Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Alma House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Langton House
Langton House
#8 of 24 in Windsor
169 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bluebell House
Bluebell House
#1 of 1 in Woodside
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge

Address: 58 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing