We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Had a good stay for 2 nights, got a really good deal on the internet for late bookings and ended up paying about a quarter of the usual rate. Good service and lovely room, had some castle views and a nice size room, though apparently some are quite small, ours was room 321 and had plenty of room. Breakfast took longer than I would have liked to be seated, had to ask for coffee, toast etc as wasnt offered any for the first 20 mins that we waited in the restaurant so paid an extra £3 to have it delivered to our room the next day and it came hot and on time, well worth the extra £3.

No parking but you can park in the loading bay to unload your bags and reception put them away for you. I then managed to get a space in the Eton & Riverside train station car park which is £7.50 per day and £2 on Sundays, you can also top up your parking by phone so I ended up leaving the car there for the three days. It was the cheapest option for car parking by far.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,179 - 1,185 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

A Character building with updated rooms. Busy of course being right next door to the castle. We had the breakfast included deal and the room overlooked the castle courtyard - perfect. For an older building the rooms were modern with pleasant bathrooms and very clean. Tea and coffee facilities are in the room. Use them because the cost of a cuppa in Windsor will take your breath away!Within a 30 second walk you have enough shops and eateries to satisfy anyone. Friendly staff and the room was ready when we arrived at two. Parking is an issue but you can unload and then find a car park near the railway station. All in all perfect for a couple of nights break. Note Winsor is lively and you will hear street noise but hey the place is great for wandering. No aircon so ask for a fan if needed. Public areas are busy and handle a high volume of people........

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view with a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My girlfriend and I booked a "Luxury room" (room 314) for one night. Rather than ranting on how disappointing it was, I'll enunciate the facts as they speak for themselves:

- We arrived at 2pm (check-in time) to be told the room was not clean, and that we should come back 30 minutes later.

- While waiting in the queue we heard the reception turn down several people who had booked a room with the hotel. Apparently due to availability update issues, many rooms were booked that weren't actually available.

- The lift wasn't working when we arrived; we had to climb the three floors with our luggage.

- The booking confirmation specified the room had a "comfy king bed". What it actually had was two single beds with two separate mattresses, and even though the beds were next to each other, we could clearly feel the gap between the mattresses.

- The booking confirmation specified the room had "a stunning, individually styled en-suite bathroom with bathrobes". The shower only has a shower head and the water warms very slowly. The window was not stained so we had to close the curtains at all time as we were easily seen by anyone in the adjacent building. There were no bathrobes (or slippers /cotton buds or any of the basic items you find in most hotels). A noisy vibration started whenever we used the tap and the shower. The same noise from our neighbour 's shower woke us up when he/she took a shower late in the night.

- The breakfast buffet had very little choice, and not worth the extra £10 per person.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjii23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We lunched at the Tower Bar & Brasserie restaurant which is the restaurant of the Harte and Garter Hotel, situated directly opposite Windsor Castle.

I enjoyed the best mushroom and onion omelet of all time.

Service was good and the staff were very. The seating was very comfortable and families were made welcome

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Windsor and was ideal as a base for exploring. It's right opposite the castle and within very short walking distance to the shops, river, park etc. plus only a short drive to Legoland. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, with plenty of room for an extra child's bed. Breakfast was fab too!

We would definitely say here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as we were visiting Legoland. The hotel was the perfect location for shops bars and restaurants and of course Windsor Castle. We had a great room (312) with outstanding views of the castle. The room was clean and a good size with an additional put me up bed for our child. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice. The staff didn't really pay much attention to us but to be fair we didn't spend much time within the hotel, there is far too much to see and do in Windsor. Would highly recommend this hotel if you want to explore Windsor and Legoland as it is in a great location. There is no carpark but a reasonably priced one is a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandalou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We have just had a fabulous overnight stay at the H&G where everything was perfect. Room overlooked castle and was stylish and comfortable with everything we needed.
Afternoon tea was lovely, breakfast was a feast and the staff were friendly and very helpful ( especially reception )
Can't wait to stay again !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
260 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £81 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing