We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Harte & Garter, we had a beautiful room with a 4 poster bed and access to the balcony where we could watch the changing of the guards.
The room was lovely and clean but unfortunately the balcony had many cigarette butts from previous visitors. As the hotel is not air conditioned and we were there during a warm spell, we found that one of two balcony windows did not open which would have helped with some air circulation. You could probably say that the housekeeping was a little lacking as one day the tea, coffee and milk were also not replenished.
The bathroom was beautiful, the only issue we had there was the shower head which had water output around the edges but nothing in the middle (quite strange).
We took advantage of some of the wonderful pubs around Windsor so did not use the Hotels dining facilities, but did try to use the bar on one day, but after waiting for so long for our drinks in a almost empty bar by a disinterested waiter we drank out as well.
We made use of the Stables spa and the ladies there were very friendly and professional but the environment is very tired and not very peaceful.
The reception staff were very helpful at all times and when our keycards were disabled a day before check out they sorted it out very quickly
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hart & Garter, it was central to everything we wanted to experience, we wanted the view of Windsor Castle so knew it was likely to be noisy, all in all we wanted a little bit of old world luxury and that is what we got (room 111)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

First impression is that this hotel is grand particularly as it is right across the road from the castle. Our room was right at the back of the hotel and was very big with a great bathroom. However you won't know that their is a night club right next door until you try to go to sleep! Their must have also been a function on downstairs. There is no parking close by either. There is free wi fi however.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank theleavers_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

In September 2012 we held our Europe, Middle East and African conference at the Harte & Garter. With around 85 guests attending from around the world the hotel offered us a fantastic central location to all the major attractions of the town along with great conference facilities. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them to assist us as organisers and our guests individually.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle so you have the benefit of seeing the changing of the guard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJL987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Spent Saturday night just gone at the hotel and had it not been for the company we would have been very disappointed with this centrally located hotel. The building is an attractive and well placed in the centre of Windsor high street with the castle entrance literally over the road from the hotel, so great views if your lucky enough (or can afford) a front facing room. Having booked an advanced super saver room (£129) we've come to expect it's always the worst rooms that are allocated under this tariff, having said this the room allocated was one of the smallest we've seen for a long time so even we were surprised. Having been treated to the night away by friends we would not have been so rude to complain, but under normal circumstances an ensuite literally the size of a cupboard with just room for the shower & toilet, with the sink in the bedroom we didn't feel warranted the cost. Have to say the room was very clean and modern despite the lack of room! Our friends did not fare much better having had to change rooms as the far end of the first floor landing seemed to be suffering from a very over powering ventilation issue, smelt very like an issue with drains. The staff upgraded them to a front facing room and offered all of us a free drink in the bar but other than that the staff across the whole hotel seemed generally miserable and un-attentive. As with the bedrooms the rest of the hotel looked clean and refreshed, but the ground floor seemed to be consumed by the brasserie leaving the just a very small lounge / bar area and reception.

Overall a very average hotel and not one of our better choices, you could not help feeling that the hotel just relied on the fact that it's location was it's key selling point and everything else didn't seem to matter there after.

Room Tip: If you decide to opt for one of the cheaper rooms make sure it at least has a proper ensuite bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I was impressed with the decor of the hotel, its quirky and stylish!

Down points to the stay was the location of our room, we were put in a double room next to one of the communal doors and the cleaners continuously knocked in to the door causing it to bang, this started at about 7am and went until we checked out at 10am! It was as though the cleaners had no considersation that people may have been sleeping! Also when looking out the window of our room, there were dead birds caught in the wiring!! Not a nice sight to see first thing in the morning!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAN_CBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Booked for our 33rd wedding anniversary combined with day at Ascot races. Had a fabulous day at the races, then drove to The Harte and Garter for our overnight stay. SatNav took us to the Eton side of the river, so we walked to the hotel, booked in and ask directions to nearest carpark. We were directed to Edward Vll carpark easily a mile away, luckily only one over night bag to lug back to the hotel in 28 degree heat. The location cannot be faulted, right on the main street directly opposite to the castle. The room was very small and on front overlooking the castle, so very very noisy all day as it is a bustling tourist attraction town. Buses, cars, coaches all pulled up outside the hotel. Woken at 4am by party goers returning home. The bathroom was an add on and was very small only fit one in at a time and very tackily done, the bath was very dangerous to get in and out of. I loved Windor, loads to see, do and loads of choice of eateries for all purses. We paid £159 just for the room and the location was stunning, however, now I have my bearings would fry another hotel. We booked through a third party web site, so it might have been at a cheap rate and we certainly got cheap room!!! windows were secondary glazed and very dirty in the middle and lots of dead bugs. When leaving on Sunday morning people looked to be vying for space on the pavements as if something was happening we asked reception and she said no nothing going on people just hang around!!!! .... On arriving home we saw on our local news that the biggest classic car festival was held at the castle with a prestigious procession through the town!!!!!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Now, please don't get us wrong the room and view at this hotel were great. We had a room with the view of the Castle which was really nice. The room was spacious and had everything that we needed and was pleasant.
The service however was a different story. When we arrived on the Sunday afternoon the receptionist told us they had no record of our reservation. I could understand this sometimes if you book through a third party but we had booked through their own website. Having read some other reviews on here unfortunately this didn't surprise me. Thank goodness for iPhones though as we had the email confirming our booking and information which we could show them. Even after acknowledging that we had the booking there was little in the way of an apology which I would have expected. Once sorted we got vague directions to our room and made our way there.
The service in the bar later was not much better. We placed an order and were told to take our seats in the lounge area and our drinks would be delivered. After 5 minutes we hadn't received them and seeing as there were only 3 groups including us in the bar we went back to check on the drinks. They hadn't made them and had completely forgotten about the order.
I'd like to think we were just unlucky twice but having read other reviews I think this hotel needs to work on their service. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location and has so much potential to be absolutely fantastic but it is the staff that will deliver this and at the moment they are not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M1SSST3PHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
262 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £81 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing