We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect locality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We went to this hotel on a 'groupon', bed,breakfast,evening meal(two course) and a bottle of house wine. It was courtesy of friends who couldn't make it themselves. We're glad we went this way as the prices are quite steep !! restaurant/bar wise. To be fair,everywhere is expensive in Windsor. The hotel,itself,is a lovely but dated place,of course that adds to it's charm. The room we had ,302, was very nice,very clean and had all we needed for a very pleasant,comfortable stay. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. The breakfast(buffet style) was as good as we've ever had,if not the best.,a banquet of a spread. Down side is,no parking and carparks are not close. Also,airplane noise !! although i realise the hotel cannot control this ! All in all,highly recommendable.

Room Tip: All we requested was a quiet room---and we got one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steviemacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the staff looked after you well. The hotel does not have on-site car parking, but there are a number of local car parks that can be used and area a short walk from the hotel. The reception team will be more than happy to give you directions and costs. I recommend that you park in the loading bay in front of the hotel and leave your luggage before parking in a local car park. I believe that the prices charged in all of the food and beverage outlets to be reasonable and in line with Windsor in general. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

920 - 926 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed here on a groupon voucher which included dinner, wine and breakfast. The staff knew the local area well and were very organised which made our trip stress free. There is little more you could want from a hotel and the location beats the rest by a square mile. We will return should we find ourselves in Windsor.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandyharris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that the staff looked after you well. I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Windsor.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A group of school friends and I stayed here recently and whilst the bedrooms and the views were lovely, one of the conference areas of the hotel was rented out to a company/individual to hold a 'public' disco. The guests at the disco and the door staff were extremely rude, loud and confrontational when we were passing by to get to our rooms after dinner. It spoiled a perfectly lovely stay - so be sure to check if one of these discos is on when you want to book!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolaOX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review. Please accept my apologies that you had problems getting to your bedroom after dinner. I have spoken with the organisers to pass on your comments and we will ensure that there are no further problems for hotel residents moving forward.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The restaurant was clean and very bright with a lovely view of the castle. We ordered an afternoon tea for 2 and fish and chips for my son, they were delicious. There was a good selection of sandwiches and cakes which were tasty and very fresh. The service was excellent and would definitely go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable meal experience at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife had been given a voucher for afternoon tea so we decided to use it on our visit to Windsor, and opted for the Harte & Garter. The hotel is in a nice spot. We had a window table so we could look out onto the main street. The restaurant itself is clean and nicely laid out and not cramped or stuffy. We didn’t have to wait long to be served a pot of tea, and were soon tucking into the food. There was a nice selection of sandwiches and a lovely looking display of cakes to choose from. They were all tasty and fresh, and much enjoyed. We would have preferred more sandwiches than cakes, but that’s just our preference. We accepted the offer of a second pot of tea, and enjoyed sitting there watching the busy street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Wales1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable afternoon tea experience.
We have a wide selection of afternoon tea choices, but are more than happy to change these to suit each individual customer needs. So if you would like additional sandwiches instead of the cakes please ask a member of the team and this will be organised for you.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A lovely fine 4* hotel with lots of lovely facilitys and more it includes: spa, wellness centre, swimming pool, spacious rooms, restaurant, parking, WIFI and much more! It is a lovely family friendly nice hotel. Lovely view from rooms aswell. close to shops and restaurants. "very nice hotel"!

Room Tip: see if you can get a picture of the room you want to chose. then you can make your option on which r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rohan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. The hotel does have a spa which includes a sauna, steam room, hydro spa and 5 treatment rooms. We unfortunately do not have a swimming pool. The hotel does not have on-site car parking, but there are numerous local car parks available and reception will be more than happy to provided details of the locations and costs. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed over the weekend after booking a Groupon offer.

The hotel is in a fantastic location and is an absolutely ideal spot for exploring Windsor. Lovely views of the castle from the restaurant and all of the shops and bars are on the doorstep.

We stayed in a double room which was at the back of the hotel. There was no view from the window but the advantage of this was it was lovely and quiet. The room was spacious and clean. The beds and pillows were comfortable. We appreciated the free wi-fi. The hotel is a maze of corridors but is generally in a good state of repair for its age.

Dinner, breakfast and a bottle of wine were included in our package. The food was well cooked and there was a good selection for breakfast. Staff were all friendly and polite.

There is no car park and it would be helpful on the hotel's website to indicate the nearest car parks. We used one on Alma Road which was less than a 5 min walk and cost in the region of £15 for a 24 hour period. We used the electronic payment system, Parkmobile, so we didn't have to revisit the pay and display machine. This worked really well - download the app onto a smartphone or tablet before you visit or you can phone when you arrive.

All in all a fantastic place to stay for exploring the heart of Windsor and exceptional value for money on this offer.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank busy_mum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel. Thank you for your comments concerning car parking that I am sure will be useful to other guests. The hotel website is being update and I will ensure that the car park information is improved. The hotel reception can give full details of all of the car parks available in Windsor.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £83 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing