We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Booked 4 double rooms for the last May bank holiday. Two of the couples asked to be moved as rooms was of a poor standand' windows had mould in them mirror cracked and soil pipe leak in bathroom also curtains ripped. Manager really not really interested in complaint. Won't be going back there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had a poor stay. I did receive the feedback from the manager that spoke to you and the issues in the first bedroom you experienced have all been rectified. I believe that you were moved and given a complimentary upgrade. We do try to ensure that all rooms are maintained and serviced to a high standard at all times. The Castle View rooms should be booked specifically at the time of reservation. If a standard room is booked a castle view room would not be allocated. We do try to ensure that all guests receive the type of room that they have booked for on all occasions. Subject to availability and if the hotel is not full then we would offer complimentary upgrades. I hope that you will try the hotel again on your next visit and we can improve your experience.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here as part of a booking of 3 as a stopover..Room was spacious, bathroom was reasonably sized. Had a few drinks at the bar, the staff were polite..breakfast was good.. Situated in Windsor so was convenient.....

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ijeoma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Impossible to get through their land-line; called their hotel group number in the USA - they did not even know where this hotel is located! They provided me with the same phone number, so back to square one.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Zenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had a problem contacting the hotel. I will review all telephone and numbers and ensure they are correct and working.


Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed one night on business. Room was fine, very large but breakfast was awful. Went to eat breakfast at 7.05 which was five minutes after opening, plates were cold, food was cold. Was really hungry so i ate it. I wouldnt return there.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank trevor6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Please accept my apologies that you had a poor breakfast. The breakfast should be hot at all times and I have addressed this with my team.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my 8 year old daughter stayed here for 2 nights while on a trip to legoland Windsor. The hotel is in a great location across road from castle. We were given a family room in the second building overlooking the royal Windsor shopping arcade. The room was huge with a king size bed for me and bunk beds for her. We both had separate 50inch TVs. We were offered a room in main hotel but manager suggested that we were better off with this one as there was to be a charity ball in the hotel breakfast was fine both mornings. The only quibble is that the wi-fi worked intermittently. I left my phone in the room but it was waiting in erection for me 1 hour after checkout. We were very happy with our stay

Stayed: May 2014
Thank johnnytipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for writing a review. The main hotel has 79 bedrooms and Goswell House 19. Goswell House opened in June 2013 and has its own entrance a short walk from the main hotel. All of the rooms are air-conditioned. Your family room as you state is very large and has a double bed at one end and bunk beds at the other. Both have their own large 50” TV so both parent and children can have their own space and watch their own TV channels whilst in the comfort of one room. I have has the Wifi checked since your stay and the fault you experienced has now been rectified. We offer free wifi to all guests in all areas of the hotel. The Housekeeping team are very good and will always securely keep lost property and anything of value such as a phone will always be given to reception for safe keeping. I hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely hotel our room was huge, clean and bed lovely and comfy. Staff very helpful. Spa was nice but not very big but served its purpose. Would if preferred a big pool. Hen party was well managed and senior waitress lovely and very attentive without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 296SharonR296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for writing and review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and the team looked after you well. I agree that it would be nice if we had a swimming pool, but unfortunately there is not space to provide one. The spa has 5 treatment rooms, Sauna, Steam room and Hydro pool/spa that can catering for 8 people at a time. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Worst tea experience ever. A friend and I popped in before a tour of the castle for a quick cup of tea. The staff seemed confused as to why we were there and almost put out that they had paying customers looking for service. We were ushered into the tea room unceremoniously and forgotten about for about 15 minutes. We were finally approached for our order but, when we asked for the types of tea the place served, were greeted with sighs and a rapid list of basic teas. The table remained unset for another 10 minutes...until a pot of tea was plopped down in front of us. We had no one come check in with us but we're instead treated to a display of waitstaff running around the room and upstairs in a confused manner. We had to ask three times to receive the bill which was overpriced considering the quality of service as well as the fact that we had only a pot of Earl Grey...nothing special. My friend was visiting from Canada and I regret choosing the Harte & Garter to show her a traditional English tea experience. I do not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies that you had a disappointing experience and I have reviewed your comments with the F&B Manager to address with his team. Generally we receive many positive comments and I apologise that on this occasion the service was not to the standard you or I would expect. If you would like to contact me at the hotel, it would be my pleasure to invite you back in for tea with my compliments to allow the team to improve your opinion of the hotel and service.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £83 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing