We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited here in July when visiting a friend. The hotel is positioned right in front of Windsor Castle, its exterior is quite regal and authentic. I went for dinner with my family, and friend. The restaurant is spacious and pleasantly laid out. Service was prompt and polite. The food was a la carte as it was the evening. Beautifully presented and tasty, and not too costly. Highly recommended for a pleasant meal in very royal surroundings. Would have given 5 stars but just lacked atmosphere a little.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that the staff looked after you well. I will review how we can improve the atmosphere. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Windsor.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found the service and all the staff to be excellent. We had a family room which is situated at the back of the hotel and it was beautiful in size and comfort with a separate entrance so didn't need to keep going through the hotel. It is perfectly situated for bars and restaurants with plenty to choose from and the view is pretty amazing too as Windsor castle was directly across the road. A five minute walk was the Thames with plenty of boat trips to choose from. I am looking forward to my next visit and will definitely be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and that the staff looked after you well. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I am sure that everyone who review this hotel mention how convenient it is for the castle. Our room on the 3rd floor had a splendid view as the hotel is just across the road from the main gate. The price to pay for this, however is that rooms facing the main street are rather noisy and there is no double glazing. The staff in all departments were excellent, helpful and friendly. The food both at dinner and breakfast was excellent. As part of my deal, through Voyages Prive, we also had afternoon tea, which, though not up to the Ritz standard, was fine. Our room was large clean and comfortable. WIFI was free. There is no car parking at the hotel and the nearest carpark is £15 for 12 hours with midnight to 9 am being free. Take plenty of £1/£2 coins. All in all, a very pleasant stay and I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room do not ask for a Castle view and let them know you prefer a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Freelance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and the team at the hotel looked after you well. Being located in the town centre does mean that external facing bedrooms are subject to street noise. If a quiet room is preferred please ask for an internal facing bedroom. There are a number of local car parks available. I would recommend that all guests initially park in the loading bay in front of the hotel. The hotel team can them help you with any luggage and then give you directions to the car parks.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I cannot thank Louisa on the front desk at the hotel enough for looking after us after a particularly stressful phone reservation booking system took us to some incompetent overseas call handlers. We stayed one night to enjoy Windsor Castle and visit LEGOLAND the next day. Apart from the car park which was just a little walk down the hill, everything else was great. Good service, good breakfast. Fantastic location. My son and I loved it in room 220. Fabulous view of the castle.

Room Tip: Room 220 has very good views of the castle with a balcony outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fruitshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. I have spoken to Louisa regarding your comments and she is very pleased you were happy with her level of customer service. If a castle view is required please ensure that you book this at the reservation stay.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Fabulous location and impressive frontage. The room we stayed in was a bit small and the wash hand basin was cracked and needed repairing, also the toilet was tricky to flush. The room probably needs updating but it was adequate. We stayed for one night, I would not have wanted to spend a second night there. The restaurant food was alright but the service was slow and the food a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marymiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review. The hotel bedroom and bathrooms are all different shapes and sizes due to the age of the building. The superior rooms are the larger rooms and should be booked if a large room is required. I will address your comments concerning the sink and toilet. The food is freshly prepared on a daily basis and we try to ensure our prices are a competitive as possible. I have discussed your comments regarding slow service with the food and beverage manager who will address this with his team.


Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, beautiful location directly opposite windsor castle , close to shops & train station , room was lovely & supplied with all u need , breakfast was very nice , staff very friendly & helpful , would not hesitate to stay here again !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable 3 night stay and that the team looked after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Harte and Garter Hotel is a well located, historic property across the street from Windsor Castle. It is close to local shops, and very convenient for castle tours. Obviously an older hotel, the rooms are clean but could use some updating. The one lift was marginally adequate, but pressed when a number of guests tried to assemble in the lobby at a fixed time. Staff was helpful and food and service was good in the evening, but somewhat less so at breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to avoid inner courtyard rooms, since deliveries seem to start about 4 AM, and are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OTCarter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHarteandGarter, General Manager at Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review and in general I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the staff looked after you well. Please accept my apologies if you were disturbed by deliveries. I have contacted to relevant companies to reconfirm the delivery times.

Regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £83 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing