We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and character combined.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed for a single night and had a room opposite the castle. The decor and theme of the room was fantastic and had a bespoke feel rather than a seen it all before feel like most hotels in this price range. The view of the castle, a stones throw accross the road is almost too good to be true. Looking through the balcony doors in the morning whilst still in bed the castle is so close and prominent that you feel as though you are staying within the castle grounds. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Didn't try the reastaurant so cannot comment on food. Yes noise is a small issue as it is on a main street and under the heathrow flightpath but it would not deter me from staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank medhead72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,422 - 1,428 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2009

We have just returned form a Spa break at the Harte and Garter and were not disapointed. The location of the hotel is fantastic. It is opposite the castle, on the main high street and well positioned for shops, bars and restaurants. We even caught the changing of the guard, (outside the main hotel entrance).
We paid £200 for a twin room and this included room , breakfast, evening set meal in the delightful Brasserie (with saxophonist) and a 30 minute spa treatment each. The rooms are well appointed (although lacked a view of any description). they were clean and nicely decorated and the beds were extremely comfortable, Check in was a little slow but the reception area is cramped and a large party were checking in ahead of us. The staff were pleasant, especially in the restaurant and the spa facilities were very good. I had a neck, back and shoulder massage which was a dream. The hydro pool, sauna and steam room are available to all at the hotel too. If I had any complaint it would be that Windsor can be a little lively on a Friday night and the area was noisy until the early hours. Breakfast service was a little slow but the food was great and we were in no hurry. there is no parking at this hotel but you can pull up outside to drop off and pick up bags. we parked at the train station at the bottom of the hill (abaout a 5 min walk)
All in all, superb value for money. We shall return

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xxxStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I was visiting Windsor with two colleagues and we decided to take tea in the Harte and Garter Hotel. Whilst the food and setting were wonderful, the day was spoiled by the inefficient and later rude service we experienced from the waiting staff.
From the moment we entered the hotel, we were treated like second class citizens and a number of incorrect assumptions were made about us as relating to our age and financial income. We are young professionals in our mid 20s yet were treated like children and felt that that staff were unwelcoming.

We arrived at approximately 5pm and asked for a table for three. At this point the lady asked us what we wanted and we said that we would have one of the afternoon teas but we weren’t sure whether to have the Garter Tea or the Afternoon Tea. She then said that she would try and fit us in. At this point, there were not many customers in the restaurant and there were many tables free. She then disappeared for some time and we were left hanging. To be fair, another waitress did approach us some minutes later but we said we were being looked after. We were then shown to a tiny table which was inappropriate for serving tea and given no choice about whether we wanted to sit in the area reserved for those taking the more expensive tea (of which there were 2 free booths). We were then left for quite a period of time and had to ask to order. By the time we ordered it was close to half past 5 and we were questioning how much longer we would stay before walking out. When we asked the waiter what the difference between the Garter Tea and the Afternoon Tea was he did not know. He then proceeded to read the menu and highlighted a raisin scone as the difference which actually was on both menus. He then informed us that the difference was presentation. Given that there appeared to be no discernable difference we opted for the £12.50 tea. However, had the waiter tried to sell us the more expensive tea we probably would have upgraded. We then asked to order 3 teas and the waiter said he would have to ask the manager whether this was ok. This was abrupt and felt quite odd as if we had asked for something out of the ordinary. We then were asked to move to a more appropriate table. When the food arrived, the waiter was again quite abrupt (although this was a different person) and said something along the lines of “well help me then girls” as he was serving the food.

As I said previously the food was lovely. However, on numerous occasions we tried to catch the eye of the waiting staff but to no avail. For example, we ran out of jam and cream (which incidentally was not the clotted cream as described on the menu) and wanted a top-up of tea. At no point did anyone approach us to see if we needed anything or whether we were enjoying our food. Despite trying to attract the attention of the waiting staff we had to ask. Personally, I do not feel that was 4* service and the waitresses where we had our pub lunch were far more attentive which is quite telling.

After finishing, we were sat for more than an hour and no-one approached us to ask if wanted the bill or anything else. Most customers had to leave their tables to ask to pay. Once we had requested the bill, we were sitting with our cards ready trying to attract a waiter to pay but again no-one responded and we had to ask to pay. It was at this point that we asked for service charge to be removed from the bill. The waitress did not ask why or offer any apologies. Sometime later, a different waiter approached and asked us why we were refusing to pay the service charge in an aggressive tone. Again there was no apology. We g , to in such a demeaning fashion by waiting staff and I hope you agree that this behavior is wholly unacceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank emom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I stayed here with a group of other people for a weekend in Sept 09. We got a discount because we booked so many rooms. By North American standards it was still pricey for what you paid and received. The location is fantastic! Because of it's location the price is tourist prices which I understood.
The efficiency of the reception front desk is appalling. The wait staff...same. Efficiency didn't exist at this hotel except for one bellman who was fabulous.
Expect to pay over $6.00 usd for a 350 ml bottle of coke. Horrendous.
My room was very clean with a lovely comfortable bed. But it was so tiny that I couldn't open my suitcase and the door. lol. One or the other. The bathroom was bigger and nicely appointed.
My biggest complaint was the noise. Not street noise but hotel noise. Do NOT book this if there are weddings. I got a total of 7 hours sleep in 3 days. After a red eye gruelling flight all I needed was a shower and some sleep. Didn't happen.
My friends joked that I came to Windsor for one day that lasted 3.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank withrespect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in September.
Parking was a problem, and expensive, but it was easy to pull up outside the hotel and the porter took our cases quickly so that we could move on.
Breakfast was ok, but greasy and the service was a bit slow, but not an issue.
The bar staff were not exactly friendly, in fact bordered on surly.
We upgraded to a balcony room with fab views of the Castle. Tho the room overlooked the main street, when the two doors were closed, the noise was minimal.
It would have been nice to have had chairs on the balcony (and an ashtray) and the balcony wasnt swept while we were there.
We were disappointed to find that the room only had a double (4'6") bed. Havent slept in a bed so small for years.....as it seems pretty standard these days to have minimum of king or superking beds in hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gladysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This was my second stay at the H&G and once again, it did not disappoint. I'd stayed there with my husband last time to see if it would be a suitable hotel to book numerous rooms for a gathering of friends, it was. From start to finish the staff was wonderful, going out of their way to accomodate our requests. Rooms at the H&G are spotlessly clean, bar is nice for friends to gather and have a drink. We were there for the entire weekend and all 10 rooms of us (our group) loved our stay at the H&G. It's by far the nicest in Windsor.

I saw where someone complained about airplane noise. It reminds me of when someone said, 'why did they build a castle in the flight path to Heathrow?' Um the castle is centuries old, the airport is not. Not like they can move the castle, nor can they move the H&G. Can't fault the H&G for that.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabbygambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel exceeded my expectations, the location is absolutely perfect, and the outside terrace was filled with happy visitors, beautiful hanging baskets of flowers, then the gorgeous lobby. I changed my reservation at the last minute and they accomodated me with a room that was fit for royalty, at least in my humble world. For anyone who gets to stay in room 122, you are VERY lucky, I miss it, I enjoyed feeling surrounded by such luxury. The staff was warm and friendly, it was the perfect home base for our reunion with my special friends. I am already lobbying my husband to go back asap!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dawgg488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
262 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa

Address: 31 High Street, Windsor SL4 1PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £80 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views directly over Windsor Castle, The Harte & Garter Hotel, Windsor enjoys the finest location in town. With many of its original features intact, this remarkable property offers you a combination of both modern facilities and classical style. Originally two 14th century inns, the hotel is made up of the main building which overlooks Windsor Castle and Goswell House. Offering 98 luxurious and individual bedrooms, 19 of which are in Goswell House, which has a separate entrance to the main hotel but has full use of all the hotel's facilities. Retaining some of the original features, many rooms have unrivalled views of Windsor Castle. The hotel also holds seven elegant private dining and meeting rooms. Important note about Stables Salon: The hydro pool and sauna are closed for maintenance. The steam room is available on a complimentary basis. The Rasul chamber, 5 treatment rooms and retails areas remain open as normal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harte And Garter Hotel
Harte Garter Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing