We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The front desk staff was wonderful - very helpful & friendly. Service in the lounge was sometimes a little slow but it was a busy Friday night. Our room was very comfortable although the thermostat was a little clunky. My parents were in another room with a view of the Thames & their room was rather warm. Our room was big enough to have a cot pulled in for my 10 yo daughter.

And one cannot ignore the location...on a spring Friday night, watching the swans in the River Thames & crossing the bridge into Eton...what could be better?

Caveat - if you have any problems with stairs, make that very clear. Our room was on the 3rd floor, I think. There were a bunch of up & downs before the final set of stairs.

Also, the restaurant doesn't have much to offer & seems overpriced. Gorgeous view, but we just opted for the lounge...We had pre-dinner drinks & returned for after-dinner drinks as well. They have a good house wine, both red & white.

Room Tip: If you need a lift, ask for a room closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcoombs1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear kcoombs1209,

thank you very much for this excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was excited to read your splendid comments about the front desk team and have shared them with all of them.

Constructive feedback is essential to us, as it helps us improve and up our standards. I have shared you restaurant and lounge bar feedback with my food and beverage manager Claus, so that we can look into the points raised.

I really hope you and your family will have reason to travel over all the way from Maryland again soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    602
    306
    155
    102
See reviews for
262
864
45
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It is in a beautiful location right on the River Thames and easy walking distance of the train station and all the sights in Windsor. The staff were wonderful and really helpful and the rooms were lovely with comfy beds, all the mod cons and good sized ensuites.

We were staying on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and the food was really good. I only have one criticism, and that is as a vegetarian the choices I had were not the greatest. My husband however had really good food at both breakfast and dinner.

I throughly recommend this hotel for a lovely stay away in Windsor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear JoWiltshire,

thank you so much for this exceptional review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It is always so rewarding for the team to get comments like wonderful and really helpful and they do motivate everyone to do even better.

I have shared your feedback regarding the vegetarian food with my head chef Lee, as your view is important to us and helps us develop.

I look forward to welcoming you back with us here in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here may bank holiday weekend. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Hotel clean and luxurious! Based right on the Thames, it was a perfect location for our Windsor visit. We would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Awestn,

thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay.

Fabulous is just such a perfect header for guest feedback and I was overjoyed to read that you are already mentioning your next visit.

Come back soon!

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my Mother-in-laws birthday. 7 adults and a little one.

The staff was the disappointment! They did not know there own short menu. We waiting for some time before we got the drinks menu.
The food was nice. I would say it would be best to visit them for the afternoon tea and a spa day.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Adriaan S,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your restaurant visit here with us.

I was very sorry to read that you were unhappy with the team, as we really focus on our customer service and making sure our guests leave happy.

I have shared your comments with my food and beverage manager Claus, but would be happy to hear from you personally on jstaude@sarova.com, so that I can understand what went wrong on this occasion.

Hopefully the quality of the food made up for this a little bit and your mother in law still enjoyed her birthday meal.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We booked through Secret Escapes and have to say I was very impressed. The hotel is dated in some areas, but the main hotel is very pleasant. The breakfast was good and it was nice to overlook the river. One thing to note is parking, it is a nightmare.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank darylroots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear darylroots,

thank you very much for this overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I really appreciate the positive on the hotel and breakfast and can only apologise for any problems with your parking.

Unfortunately parking in Windsor is far from ideal and we only have limited spaces for our valet parking, which tend to get booked up very quickly.

I hope this wouldn't prevent you from returning to us.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just returned from a lovely May bank holiday weekend in Windsor with my partner, normally stay at the Macdonald Windsor on the high street, but decided to give the Christopher Wren Hotel a go this time.

We had paid for a Grand Room and were allocated room 302 situated over at the Riverside Building across the road from the main hotel, fantastic views of the bridge to Eton and thames river itself absolutely wonderful.

Recently refurbished large room with king size bed, large lcd TV and spacious sitting area with lovely bath and separate shower to die for. Would recommend that management might think about having some frosting in the bathroom window, without it we had to keep closing the window blinds every time we wanted to use the bathroom especially when the weather outside was sunny, otherwise could be seen from the street below. There is enough space in the rooms to have a small fridge we would certainly recommend as there were times when we had ordered some milk and no easy way to keep it fresh, I can imagine in the summer these rooms getting quite warm even with adequate ac.

Staff throughout the hotel from reception, waiting staff through to cleaning staff were absolutely terrific and professional, always with a smile on their faces.

Me and my partner have stayed in various grades of hotel throughout the world and we did thoroughly enjoy our stay at the Christopher Wren hotel however don’t think we will stay at the Riverside Building again due to excessive early morning noise from the street below, really surprised they do not have secondary glazing, even with the windows closed we were disturbed a few times on our first night and on the second and final night we were woken up quite a bit with drunks that decided it was time for a late night argument on the street below, if we were staying for longer we would have requested another room, finally was a shame on checkout that we were not asked by the male receptionist how our stay was as we would have passed on our comments.

Room Tip: If you are light sleepers, would recommend your request quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Chopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Happy_Chopper,

thank you very much for this perfect and detailed review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It is amazing to see my team described as 'absolutely terrific and professional' and it really means at lot to me, coming from you as such a seasoned traveller.

I really value the detailed improvement ideas for the room and will address this where possible.

When you are next in the area, try one of the Grand rooms in the main house. They are slightly different in style, but will be a little bit quieter than room 302.

Hopefully I can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel and knowing from the previous visit asked that we could stay in the main hotel with possibility of s river view, plus we booked our car into the hotel prior to the visit and recommend you do this as space is very limited. When we arrived we were check in to room 5 in the main buiding over looking the street outside. Phoned reception to see if we could change to a river view room but there was not one avalable in the main hotel only in the annex aross the road. We decided to remain in our original room as we wanted to be in the main hotel.

We had somewhat destrubed night, not through any faut of the hotel from drucken people walking home at the end of the night. By 2.45 am we had enough of constant loud talking and laughter from the street outside and phoneds night reception, who could not do eought of us.

They advised that their security staff would go abd nove these people on which was fine. Asked if we could move to a quiter room and after checking said that we could move to room 44. Thet sebt up a very pleasant night porter to show us the way and said we could keep our itens in our original room and return after. Found out that room 44 was on the front of the hotel again over lloking the main road outside (near to Eaton bridge), only difference it had secondary glazing. This made a big diffence and eventually went to sleep.

Had a wonderful breakfast later that morning and on checking out the hotel said they would not charge the ten pounds they would normally charge for parking the car at the hotel. As mentioned the hotel could not have done any more for us and the service was excellent, however would advise they have secondary and possibly trip glazing to the windows facing the main street. Would we return for a third visit, well yes, but would asking this time for a room at the rear of the hotel where it is quiter.

P & L Wright.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Peter W,

thank you very much for this overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

We really appreciate your terrific comments in regards to the team and as a returning guest, your view is even more important to us.

I was very sorry to read that your rest got disturbed by night time revellers and I would like to reassure you that we do our utmost to deal with the street noise and not only employ night time security, but also have walkie talkies that connect us straight through to the police. My night manager had made a note during your stay that they had struggled to manage a situation and had to ask for assistance.

We are also continuing our refurbishment programme, which includes adding double glazing in all front facing rooms.

I have made sure that your profile now shows your preference for a quiet, main house room, ideally with river view and hope that we can allocate this for your next stay.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing