We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$301
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
ClarionHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Oakley Court(Windsor)
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
726
665
329
165
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
665
329
165
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe main hotelclub roometon bridgewindsor castlestation car parklovely hotelseparate buildingacross the bridgethrough secret escapesafternoon teaa river view roometon collegeold buildingno liftvalet parkinglovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,215 - 1,220 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just had a wonderful stay at this Hotel. The terrace overlooks the Thames, Eaton and Eaton Bridge. Its minutes to Windsor Castle. There can not be a better place to stay in Windsor. If there is please tell me. My wife and I enjoyed the terrace on several evenings watching the boats moving up and down, the swans and the Canadian Geese relaxed in front of us and we watched the pedestrian traffic on the Eaton Bridge admiring the view.

The food is good in the Hotel and the breakfast of good quality. Our room was as expected of superior quality and the staff were more than helpful with a young (I think Australian) more than helpful at reception.

My only fault I could find was that the Hotel's best asset which was the terrace overlooking the Thames could definitely do with the help of a gardener to bring it back into control. The privet hedges need work on them and the garden beds need hospital treatment.

If you are considering staying in Windsor do NOT stay anywhere else, please

Room Tip: I am loath to tell you but we stayed in room 37 and I hope to stay there again so please do not all of you book it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rannoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rannoch2,

as always, it is a pleasure receiving the wonderful feedback on your stay with us here at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you were so happy again and have passed your feedback on to Jill, our 'resident Aussie' who has just been promoted from her receptionist role to a duty manager role.

I look forward to your next stay and please do let us know in advance to try and allocate room 37 again, as it is very popular.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked an Executive room, but on arrival were informed we'd been given a free upgrade to a suite. That was how our stay started and continued throughout. Our car was valet parked (we pre-booked that). The room wasn't ready, so we were treated to a free drink during the wait. As we sipped on the terrace over looking the Thames the room became ready and we were told our luggage had been brought up. When shown to the room we a/c in the both the bedroom and sitting areas and a generous variety of toiletries, fresh apples, bottled water and coffee bar supplies, with a tv in both sitting and bedroom. When returning to the bar the staff were always close by for any needs and regularly checked on us. Breakfast provided more of the same exceptional service along with a variety of options for the day's first meal. We were truly impressed by the staff's courtesy and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MsTanyaUK,

thank you so much for this superb review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was impressed to read all your wonderful comments and especially please to see that you were so happy with the team.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just such a treat - after an exhausting walk around Windsor-we found this gem on the banks of the Thames in an ideal position on Eton bridge. Elegant & reasonable with professional & knowledgeable staff, charming ambience & decor, with rooms that extend over several buildings
State of the Art Spa & Gym complex with a calming, peaceful environment. Fantastic location, right by the station. Just lovely, we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sue C,

thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read your fantastic feedback on the afternoon tea and the team and have made sure they have seen your review as well.

I look forward to your next visit and hope you have reason to travel from Torquay again soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Just recently stayed at the Sir Christopher Wren Spa Hotel with work. It was a lovely stay, the hotel is in a great location in the middle of Windsor town. Here is a list of the pros and cons I found.

Pros
The location is fantastic, 2 minutes from the station and literally over looking the River Thames.
The gym is great for a smaller hotel with 2 floors and great air con.
Staff were very accommodating - bags taken up to the room straight away
Free WIFI
Dressing gowns in room - great touch

Cons
Parking can be difficult - we had to park in the train station one as the hotels was full (only 15 spaces available)
Rooms not very modern - chips in walls, paintwork needs a little revamp
Spa is literally just a hot tub outside.

Not a top Spa venue but a lovely little hotel and worth a stay if in the area - good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear LucyHutch,

thank you very much for this overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was great to see such constructive feedback, as highlighting pro's and con's the way you have, helps us improve our product.

Thank you for the lovely feedback on the team members and the gym and for mentioning the bathrobes and free WiFi.

We continually re-paint and update rooms and I can only apologise that you found some work to be done.

I do hope that you will consider us for a future stay when you are next travelling from Manchester.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived on a hot afternoon and was shown to executive room which was large enough etc but a little tired looking with no air conditioning and overlooking car park at rear of main hotel building. On contacting reception for an alternative room we were shown a room in their Thameside annexe which had recently been refurbished. This room was delightful with a view of the Thames and had air conditioning. The staff throughout the hotel were very helpful and deserve full praise.
The hotel has a small car park which can be pre booked at a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Richard L,

thank you very much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great time and really appreciate the positive feedback on the team. Comments like yours, always make them very happy and motivated.

I was glad to see we found the right room for you, as our rooms do vary throughout the building and different guests prefer different styles and areas.

The riverside building is one of my favourites too, so please let us know your preference when you book next.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews