We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel but certainly not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The location of the hotel was great and the rooms were really clean. However, we were disappointed by the staff at the reception, who were quite arrogant and unhelpful, and the poorly made breakfast. The view from the restaurant on the riverside makes you forget anything bad though :)

Room Tip: Do not book an apartment if you want to use the spa as you will have to cross the main road on your...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loiz0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear loiz0s,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was very sorry to read that you did not perceive us value for money and was especially concerned that you were unhappy with our customer service, as this is an area we really focus on.

We have added some training sessions since your visit to avoid future guests having similar experiences.

I do hope you would consider us again and should you be in the area again, please contact me on jstaude@sarova.com and I will allocate a more suitable room for your visits to the Wren's Club.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,851)
There are newer reviews for Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for two nights. We had booked the Executive Room with Double Bed. The room was admittedly really spacious and equipped with facilities. Having said that, the double bed was semi-double really and not so comfortable. Also, the bathroom was very clean, but the shower head was old-fashioned: rigid on the wall with no flexibility. When we arrived (at 2:15 pm), the room was not ready for us until 3 pm (the check-in time was 2 pm). Though, when we asked to upgrade, the response was that there is no availability. Bizarrely, at the same time, we were advised (and guided) that our room is in with the hotel's apartments (which was a mistake). We have booked the nights on an offer and we knew exactly what the rooms were. Although the apartments were larger, we would have liked to stay within the hotel (so we are close to the hotel's facilities and amenities) - the apartments are 3 minutes walking from the main hotel towards a main road (which means that if you want to use the spa etc, you have to walk in the street). We called the reception and, eventually, we were given the right room. Breakfast: there were some good choices at the buffet or on order but we were not blown away by the quality of the food. On the positive side, the location is amazing (just by the river and Windsor and Eton Riverside Station ) and the hotel owns a beautiful spacious terrace. The staff was friendly in general with some exceptions of not really experienced staff but that's not a problem. I would recommend the hotel in case someone does not have high expectations and is focused on location only.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickts80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Nickts80,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your overall positive ratings.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations and that there was some initial confusion on your bedroom allocation.

Constructive feedback like yours really helps us improve and I do hope you would consider a return stay should you be in the area again.

Please contact me directly on jstaude@sarova.com to help allocate a room that accommodates your preferences next time around.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel has a superb location as it is truly walking distance from the Windsor Palace, French brothers cruise boats, Duck tours starting point and the Royal Windsor Market. The hotel itself was a building once owned by Sir Christopher Wren, but it wasn't a house that he himself ever lived in. So, if you are expecting beautiful architecture you are in for disappointment. Do check the room you are offered as the hotel has are separate buildings and the first room we were given was quite awful with a low beam ( about 5 and half feet high ) running right across the middle with a big ominous sign that said mind your head. Thankfully, upon requesting we were offered a club room that was neat and comfortable. The staff was cordial and helpful, the breakfast buffet sumptuous. We couldn't experience the spa as it was fully booked ( they just have 3 treatment rooms) and parking too was unavailable. Tips for full value choose your room carefully and book the spa and parking well in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Amol S,

thank you very much for this overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I really appreciated your excellent feedback on the team and the breakfast.

Our Wren's Club is indeed very popular and the three treatment rooms can get booked in advance. I am sorry you were unable to use this facility during your stay, but hope you used the gym, sauna or Jacuzzi, as those are complimentary for all hotel guests.

Hopefully you had a safe journey back to Mumbai and I look forward to welcoming you back here with us when you are next visiting Windsor.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we had a lovely relaxing massage and facial by the experts Liz and Sara - Jane and followed by a girlie chat in the outdoor whirlpool. After that a huge and delicious cream tea by the Thames with very attentive friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Karen K,

thank you very much for this fantastic review of your spa treatments in our Wren's Club and the cream tea on the terrace.

Matt, my Health Club Manager, has made sure Sara - Jane and Liz have received a special thank you. It is always so motivating for the team to get such wonderful feedback and they were both delighted.

Hopefully you will be back soon for a quick visit from Taplow.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just had a wonderful stay at this Hotel. The terrace overlooks the Thames, Eaton and Eaton Bridge. Its minutes to Windsor Castle. There can not be a better place to stay in Windsor. If there is please tell me. My wife and I enjoyed the terrace on several evenings watching the boats moving up and down, the swans and the Canadian Geese relaxed in front of us and we watched the pedestrian traffic on the Eaton Bridge admiring the view.

The food is good in the Hotel and the breakfast of good quality. Our room was as expected of superior quality and the staff were more than helpful with a young (I think Australian) more than helpful at reception.

My only fault I could find was that the Hotel's best asset which was the terrace overlooking the Thames could definitely do with the help of a gardener to bring it back into control. The privet hedges need work on them and the garden beds need hospital treatment.

If you are considering staying in Windsor do NOT stay anywhere else, please

Room Tip: I am loath to tell you but we stayed in room 37 and I hope to stay there again so please do not all...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rannoch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rannoch2,

as always, it is a pleasure receiving the wonderful feedback on your stay with us here at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you were so happy again and have passed your feedback on to Jill, our 'resident Aussie' who has just been promoted from her receptionist role to a duty manager role.

I look forward to your next stay and please do let us know in advance to try and allocate room 37 again, as it is very popular.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked an Executive room, but on arrival were informed we'd been given a free upgrade to a suite. That was how our stay started and continued throughout. Our car was valet parked (we pre-booked that). The room wasn't ready, so we were treated to a free drink during the wait. As we sipped on the terrace over looking the Thames the room became ready and we were told our luggage had been brought up. When shown to the room we a/c in the both the bedroom and sitting areas and a generous variety of toiletries, fresh apples, bottled water and coffee bar supplies, with a tv in both sitting and bedroom. When returning to the bar the staff were always close by for any needs and regularly checked on us. Breakfast provided more of the same exceptional service along with a variety of options for the day's first meal. We were truly impressed by the staff's courtesy and service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTanyaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MsTanyaUK,

thank you so much for this superb review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was impressed to read all your wonderful comments and especially please to see that you were so happy with the team.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just such a treat - after an exhausting walk around Windsor-we found this gem on the banks of the Thames in an ideal position on Eton bridge. Elegant & reasonable with professional & knowledgeable staff, charming ambience & decor, with rooms that extend over several buildings
State of the Art Spa & Gym complex with a calming, peaceful environment. Fantastic location, right by the station. Just lovely, we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Sue C,

thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read your fantastic feedback on the afternoon tea and the team and have made sure they have seen your review as well.

I look forward to your next visit and hope you have reason to travel from Torquay again soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £128 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing