We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Below par”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in order to spend a full day at Legoland and see a bit of Windsor too. Our accommodation was in the hotel's apartments, very close by - great location, albeit with a view onto a car park. The apartment building smelled of paint and dust, although this wasn't evident in the room. Good to have apartment facilities but to fit a family of 4 in was a squeeze, with a single sofa bed and an added camp bed. The bathroom wasn't great, with a leaking cistern and a toilet seat that didn't stay up for the gentlemen in the family. And worst of all we found a used cotton bud on the carpet next to the bin under the desk.

The welcome in reception was great, but I was told that their car park was full (best value in that case was to park at the train station). We were shown out to the terrace bar on arrival which was indeed impressive with a relaxing position straight onto the Thames. Unfortunately when we returned for evening drinks we sat at a table for half an hour without being served so gave up.

In all a disappointing experience for the price paid, it seems to be a hotel that thrives based only on an excellent location and a lack of alternatives.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikel_Arteta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Mikel_Arteta,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Guest feedback is essential to us, as it helps us improve any shortfalls in service. I can only apologise for your experience in the apartment building.

I have made sure all apartments have been fully checked and deep cleaned to avoid anyone having a similar experience.

Please contact me directly on jstaude@sarova.com, when you are next travelling from Barcelona and I will allocate a more suitable apartment for a family of four.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    602
    306
    155
    102
See reviews for
262
864
45
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights b& b , we had a room with a balcony over looking the Thames and Eton bridge ! There is a spa and car park at rear of this hotel ! The staff are brilliant , very helpful ! The restaurant has a great view over the Thames and Eton bridge ! The hotel itself is in a great location , just minutes from Windsor castle and boat trips on the Thames

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill504026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Gill504026,

thank you so much for this outstanding review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had such a fantastic time and that the weather played along for you to enjoy the balcony and river view.

I look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here while on a business trip. The location is great, with everything - restaurants, shops and attractions close by. The hotel is also situated right on the River, so stunning views from the outside bar and a lovely atmosphere.
We didn't use it, but the spa also looked very welcoming and lovely.
The building doesn't lend itself to easy assess. My room was through a labyrinth of corridors, steep stairs and hallways. The room itself was fine, although I had to get help getting my case sent up and brought back down. I also ordered room service and my tray was still sat outside my room three days later. How is that possible?! The lack of lifts and maze of stairs and corridors isn't great. The floorboards were also extremely creaky all night long.
The staff were friendly, however service was painfully slow. Expect to wait 10-15 minutes to order a drink and another 20 minutes to receive it. The food was very average and took forever to come. I wouldn't recommend eating here. If you have a good hour plus spare and it's sunny, the outside bar is nice.
We had a drinks reception one evening and there was one guy behind the bar to serve 100 of us. He ran out of glasses after serving two people and didn't have ice or lemons/limes ready. The reception started on time and this seems unacceptable to me.
If my stay hadn't been paid for my work, I would have been deeply disappointed. I wouldn't recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icklemisskaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear icklemisskaty,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I really appreciate that you are highlighting the positives, as well as the improvements needed and I would like to apologise for any shortfalls in service you experienced.

Please let me assure you that we do take customer service very serious and I have made sure Claus, my food and beverage manager, has seen your comments as well, so that we can get better.

Hopefully you would use us again in the future.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night following a day at Ascot races. We booked for the romantic package, with dinner and breakfast. It did not disappoint. The room was top class as were all the staff we met. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to be spoilt.

Room Tip: The executive queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Sharon L,

thank you very much for this perfect review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was extremely happy with your description of 'top class' and 'being spoilt'.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to spoil you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We purchased a voucher through Secret Escapes. Cost was very good. Upon our arrival however we were impressed by the room itself but discovered we were actually above the kitchen and alongside the road. Very noisy - all night. Between the kitchen noise and the road noise, little hope of sleeping. Location was across the road from Windsor Castle so that was great. Just noisy was the only real complaint.

Room Tip: Too much noise was the only real issue but it was enough to make stay awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIPER154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Piper154,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I really appreciate the overall positive ratings, even though you experienced some noise.

Please do let me know when you are in the area again and I will make sure we allocate a nice, quiet room next time around.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed in this Hotel for a weekend break and had a meal in the restaurant on the Friday night. The meal was fantastic, the room was great too and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A big thank you to Sophie D for looking after us in the restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Paula A,

thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I've made sure Sophie has seen your comments as well, as positive feedback like yours is always so motivating to all team members.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Whether we are staying, enjoying a meal inside or alfresco overlooking the Thames with a jug of Pimms we always receive first class service, hospitality and the finest drinks & food from all over the world. Whether on a business trip, a family holiday or just a day trip to Windsor this hotel is well worth a visit. You won't regret it!

@cljfrancis

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cljfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear cljfrancis,

thank you so much for this superb review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was fabulous to see how happy you were with all our services throughout the hotel and in our Thames View restaurant.

It really motivates the team to see feedback like yours from regular guests and I hope I can welcome you back here in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,783 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing