We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Inveraray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful - will be back”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic 2 night stay in windsor on a deal which included dinner and a bottle of wine. We chose to upgrade for only £10 extra per person for the full a la carte menu which was to die for. Our room was lovely and clean in the Riverside building and the bed was very big and comfy, even with my 6ft 5 snoring fiancée beside me! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, staff service was great too.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSomething2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear AlwaysSomething2See,

thank you so much for this perfect review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about your riverside room and the a la carte upgrade.

Whilst we try and make the bed and bedding as comfortable as possible, I feel for you, as it didn't help with your fiancés snoring. Remember to ask us for ear plugs next time, as we provide those complimentary.

Hopefully I can welcome you back here with us soon, when you are next travelling from Inveraray.

Warm regards
Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    572
    290
    152
    99
See reviews for
242
811
43
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffs, England
Level Contributor
331 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This promises great historical interest - but it wasn't apparent to me. The main house is an intriguing maze of rooms and corridors, quite quirky and appealing. I understand there are two more modern annexes but I didn't see those so cannot comment. My room was reasonable but a bit faded: the beds was comfy enough, tea/coffee facilities adequate, and the free wifi in the room was better than many other places.... but no air con meant an open window and even facing the courtyard was noisy - clanging deliveries, revving cars going past and revellers until the early hours. The short bath looked a challenge and the shower was basic and functional - nice toiletries though.

The bar/restaurant looked good but pricey: having eaten there before though, my memory is that the food is very good - and if you reserve a table by the window, you get a great view over the Thames.

Finally the spa next door is quite good - 3 floors of gym kit (weight/cardio/mats & punchbag), a small outside Jacuzzi and a couple of treatment rooms for a reasonably priced massage (or beauty treatment).

I think I expected a bit more - from the outside view and the welcoming receptionist, but I'm not sure if I'd stay here next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyjockey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear skyjockey99,

thank you so much for your overall positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I really appreciate the detailed feedback and was sorry to read that whilst there were no major concerns you were not as impressed as you could have been.

Thank you for the great description of the Wren's Club and for the welcoming comments on the team, it really motivates them.

We do have a few rooms left without air conditioning and I can only apologise if this effected your stay.

Please contact me personally when you are next in the area and I will ensure that we allocate you a room with a little more history, as well as air conditioning.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel expensive. Lovely by Thames. Rooms dated furniture One night stay great. No staff that are English ? Breakfast buffet. Very good . Great terrace to sit and relax Bar expensive. Rooms noise . Allways something going on in hotel. Spar great

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werz3031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear werz3031,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I appreciate the overall positive ratings, despite some shortfalls in service.

We really focus on our customer service here and recruit locally with that in mind. I can only apologise if the team were not delivering your expectations.

Hopefully you will consider us for a future stay.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location. The service was good and the hotel was clean. The layout if the hotel is a little odd as it has a number of different buildings/parts to it. The Spa is ok, but small. The only negative was that the breakfast was a poor; not a vast selection and they ran out of several things on both morning we stayed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Nick S,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your overall positive ratings.

I was sorry to read that Breakfast did not meet your expectations and have passed this onto the Food and Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again.

Constructive feedback like yours really helps us improve and I do hope you would consider a return stay should you be in the area again.

Warm Regards,

Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a couple of nights here in late June when we were seeing Elton John at Stoke Park. We were in one of the annex buildings and not the main hotel. Room and bathroom were lovely although a little small. Staff were fantastic and check in and out was great. Fantastic breakfast, which set us up for the day. Location right next to the Thames was fantastic and within walking distance of the castle and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the river then you will have to ask and pay for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Alistair G,

Thank you very much for this very positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

I really appreciate your comments about the team and hope that we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor again soon from York.

Warm regards,

Jill Moran

Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We have just celebrated my wife's birthday in this hotel - we were upgraded into a club suite - which was lovely, the hotel is in a brilliant location for restaurants - try Cote brasserie - right on the water - fabulous lunch - then dinner the next day - couldn't fault it. We enjoyed a short boat trip - turn right at the bridge instead of left - much quieter and cheaper boat trips. The hotel itself is lovely - great place right on the river - we bought a secret escapes deal - which was good - but we wished we hadn't had the set menu and had eaten off of the main menu instead. We felt that the choice was very limited and the food was not presented well - unlike the main menu - it was also rather salty. Overall tho - we really enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Richard H,

Thank you very much for this splendid review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

It was great to read your comments about the excellent service and complimentry upgrade you received.

I have spoken to Lee, my head chef, and passed on your feedback on the Table d'hôte Menu.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back from Southampton soon.

Warm Regards,

Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We made full use of the hotel and its facilities including a visit to the spa where we used the jacuzzi and showers. Lovely location close to all the sights and the river. Great also for jogging along the Thames walk in the morning. The staff were all great. We would like to send a special thanks to Charlotte in the reception who carried our bags and put up with all our queries with a smile on her face. Very professional. We would also like to mention Sam in the restaurant who made our evening very special.

Room Tip: We booked a suite but were surprised to find that it was rather small and overlooking the staffs smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngegerdBills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear IngegerdBills,

Thank you so much for this excellent review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was great to read your wonderful feedback on the team and how well you were looked after by the whole team and in particular two members of staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back here with us soon all the way from Stockholm.

Warm regards,

Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing