We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Quirky hotel in a great location close to Eton High Street and Windsor Town Centre and walks along the river. Food and service were fabulous. Reception staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Room was not to the standard I had expected although well appointed with all services you would expect. Free wi-fi patchy in the room we had.

Room Tip: Don't have a room adjacent to the river walkway (Room 43) as an example
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Tony Z,

Thank you so much for this humbling review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I was so thrilled to read that you were most impressed with the service in all areas of the hotel that you encountered, this is something we are always working on.

Hopefully you now have reason to return from Swindon and we can allocate you a room more to your taste.

Warm regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,115 - 1,121 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Wanting to do something special for my other half on our anniversary I booked a room at the hotel and requested a room that overlooked the river. I was helped by Andi (a member of the front desk team) who assisted me in setting up a perfect evening. Nothing was too much trouble for Andi and she organised everything in the hotel on time for our arrival. It was great to see that some places will go the extra mile for you and the hotel and especially Andi did that.

Thoroughly recommended.

(Thanks Andi :) )

Room Tip: The river view rooms with terraces can't be reserved for a night so request them but you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Greg F,

Thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

It is so motivating for the whole team to be appreciated in such a lovely way and I have made sure Andi has received a special thank you.

I am glad we were able to exceed your expectations for your Anniversary and I look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm Regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Lovely setting and accomodation.
Parking was not good in the surrounding area, however we called the hotel and they made arrangements for their valet parking which was already over subscribed with pre bookings, real nice touch as my partner is 8 months pregnant...special mention to Andi & Charlotte for their great appreciation of our situation (thank you).
The place itself is in a great location and is of a high calibre..
Will definitely be our first option when we visit Windsor again..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Nick O,

Thank you very much for this brilliant review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

It was great to read your comments about the excellent service and I have made sure Andi and Charlotte have seen your feedback.

Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you both back soon from Lichfield.

Warm Regards,
Jill Moran
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I've got a good deal, but the hotel is normally quite expensive.
horrible carpet floor in the room, relatively noisy room.
location is excellent for a walk out in the evening.
nice bar, with a nice terrace on the Thames river

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarSca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Marcoscara,

thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I was happy to read that you enjoyed the location, our Thames View Bar and the river view terrace.

My apologies for any noise disruption you may have experienced during your stay; please do contact me on jstaude@sarova.com, when you are next looking to stay and I will allocate a quiet room for you.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location. Clean, friendly and spa treatments great too. Had 2 rooms in separate buildings, which wasn't expecting, but really lovely hotel. Breakfast expensive, but there was lots of it. Beautiful view of the river from the breakfast room. Hotel room had everything you need, kettle, iron, board, hair dryer and all toiletries. Ggggggggggggggggggggghyhhhhhhhhhhh hhhhhh hhhhh jjjjjjjj kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Heather D,

Firstly, thank you very much for this very positive review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I really appreciate all your positive comments in relation to all the areas of the Hotel .

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Jill Moran

Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My sister and I stayed. Both really impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. I booked an executive double by mistake instead of twin but we were instantly moved and upgraded to an apartment (for only ten pounds extra per night) which was lovely. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful - Charlotte the receptionist, plus the receptionist who sorted our room arrangements, sorry we haven't got your name) Marius the porter and Gabor in the restaurant. It is so important that the staff in hotels are welcoming, as they are the people that make a good hotel, and all the staff in this hotel went the extra mile for their guests by being friendly, helpful and cheerful. Sarova hotels should be proud of their staff at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Raffaq,

Thank you so much for this Fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was a pleasure reading your comments and I was glad to see that you appreciated the upgrade to one of our newly renovated apartments.

We are very proud of all our staff and their level of commitment to guests needs and always take the time to acknowlege staff members who deliver amazing service.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Right on the river,watching the boats pass by was so relaxing.The welcome at reception was very efficient and polite.Understated good manners were prevalent in every corner of the hotel.Number 32 was newly and tastefully refurbished,of decent size and comfort.The sausages at breakfast were delicious.Two minutes walk from the train station but still a very quiet and relaxing hotel.

Room Tip: No 32 is large ,light and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, General Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Jessie H,

thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel.

It was a pleasure reading your comments and I was glad to see that you appreciated the refurbishment in room 32.

It is one of our river view club rooms and is very popular.

Hopefully we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon.

Warm regards

Jutta Staude
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: £122 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 133 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and Wren's Club gym and day spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events. So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing