We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for a four star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Above average for a four star Hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our family of 9 (three generations) had a very pleasant stay here. All our requests and requirements were met in all aspects and found the staff very helpful despite the fact the hotel was extremely busy. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in an Annex adjacent to the hotel, if you wish to stay in the hotel, suggest y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernice g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Bernice g,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

It was a pleasure reading your comments and I was glad to see that you and your family enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us.

We always try to deliver the best customer service regardless of how busy we are and appreciate you taking the time to acknowlege the staff in this instance.

We all look forward to welcoming you back here with us in Windsor soon from Newport.

Warm Regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    589
    303
    155
    100
See reviews for
257
844
45
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

A great location right by the river and bridge to Eaton College. The hotel staff are very friendly and efficient but I found the hotel premises a little tired and not quite what I expected from past experiences about 10 years back. Felt the carpet and some furniture needed renewing . the old building is fragmented but has charm

Saying that the food in the restaurant was first class although decor not very up market. We opted for the extra 10 pounds over set menu to the AL A Carte and it was suburb.

The bedroom was rather disappointing as in an annex up a lot of fire escape stairs the other side of the road although the room was clean and spacious . The bed was very comfy

The location is ideal as close to the Castle and town centre plus river and we had a superb deal which included dinner a bottle of wine and breakfast for two days.

Room Tip: if weekend can be noisy near bridge so chose a quiet room. Lots of stairs as old hotel so ask for h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauljvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Pauljvic,

Thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I was thrilled to read your 5 star ratings of service , cleanliness and service.

We are always updating the property while keeping the scheme of the character Building in mind.

Hopefully you have reason to return from Kent soon and we can allocate you a room within our Main Building or Riverside Building .

Warm Regards,

Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights on a girly weekend away and was pleasantly surprised all round. The rooms were great and the staff beyond helpful! The breakfast was good and the dinner was great. We were left with no room to complain until the morning we were checking out the breakfast area was a rush. This is a minor complaint and in the grand scheme of things cant be helped.
I would happily recommend this hotel to my friends and family and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asandhu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Asandhu_13,

Thank you so much for this Fabulous review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I really enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed your visit and that your looking forward to returning and inviting your family.

We really do appreciate such encouraging feedback and are always looking to improve where we can and look forward to you visiting from Gravesend soon.

Warm regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on my birthday and this was booked as a birthday present by my partner. Staff were friendly and the lady working on the desk upgraded us from a standard room to a room with a 4 poster bed and a massive terrace overlooking the Thames for £25. Such a shame that it rained all day and couldn't use it but the room was great and the bed was very comfortable. Before we checked out on the next day managed to get onto the terrace and what a gorgeous view it was. Hotel is right on the river with lovely views and the hotel is right in the middle of the town so not far to walk to the castle, shops and restaurants.
Breakfast was yummy full english breakfast buffet, and also choices from the menu such as smoked salmon etc.
Loved the hotel and Windsor wish I could have stayed more than 1 night and definitely hope to return again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherhovetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Anotherhovetraveller,

Thank you so much for this amazing review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I was so excited to read that your visit was everything you had imagined for your Birthday and I am thrilled we could be a part of such a special occasion.I am only sorry that we couldnt have arranged for better weather.

Hopefully you now have reason to return from the Brighton again soon.

Warm regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, 9 of us in total, two rooms rooms were excellent the third very poor facing a brick wall (ensure you book a road facing room)

Concierge are very good but make sure you reserve your parking spot well in advance other wise you will not get a spot.

Location is perfect, right by the river, slightly away from the centre so you get a good nights sleep but within walking distance to the centre of Windsor.

Dinner is ok but breakfast is awful especially the hot food on the buffet, order something from the kitchen.

They have a beautiful terrace overlooking the Thames but unfortunately there is no table service outside and staff don't clear the tables.

A few bits of attention to detail , this could be an amazing hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank srgreenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear srgreenuk,

Thank you very much for this brilliant review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

It was great to read your over all positive comments about the Hotel and Service you encountered.
I have also spoken to Lee, my head chef, about the feedback your provided about breakfast.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon from Jersey.

Warm Regards,
Jill Moran
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014

this was our second time staying at this hotel. We had a room within the main part of the hotel. We
loved our room which had a terrace overlooking the Thames. The service was excellent as was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at Windsor staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: As previously mentioned this is our second time at this hotel although I enjoyed our last stay this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Elaine S,

Firstly, thank you very much for this First-rate review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I really appreciate all your positive comments in relation to all the areas of the Hotel .

I am most impressed that we were able to surpass your previous experience at the Hotel.

We would love to welcome you back soon from Warrington.

Warm regards,

Jill Moran

Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

This hotel has a perfect location in the centre of Windsor, by the river. If the weather is fine, I imagine that dining on the terrace would be lovely. Our room was across the road in the annex. It was larger than expected and the bed was comfy. It does, however, need some updating, The carpet needs replacing and some of the fixtures need a little more thought. For example, the taps in the sinks don't really project the water out a decent angle, there is nowhere to put your soap or hang a hand towel, the blinds on the roof windows don't quite work. That said, it's a good hotel with great service and the food was fab.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarovaHotels, Manager at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Lucy D,

Thank you very much for this encouraging review of your stay with us at the Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa.

I really appreciated all the positive points mentioned and some of the constructive feedback you have provided.

I have since spoken to my Maintenance Manager Chris and had the fixtures corrected in this room.We are continually updating the hotel and always appreciate that guests give us the opportunity to rectify any issues by sharing their feedback.

I hope that we can welcome you back here with us in Windsor soon from Hertford Heath.

Kind Regards,

Jill Moran

Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,722 reviews
0.2 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa

Property: Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Address: 52-56 Thames Street, Windsor SL4 1PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special hotel at the heart of Royal Windsor. A superb location. Individual charm. First class service and attention to detail. Sir Christopher Wren Hotel has all this, and more.Sheltering beneath the ramparts of Windsor Castle, the hotel enjoys a spectacular setting, overlooking the River Thames at Eton Bridge. The main building holds a unique place in British heritage – and over the years, it has been meticulously restored to offer guests the highest levels of comfort and service. Today, Sir Christopher Wren offers 99 traditional and contemporary rooms, award-winning dining, and a modern gym and spa, as well as outstanding facilities for weddings, conferences and other events.So, if you’re looking for a first-class hotel experience, either for business or pleasure, you’re sure to find it at Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel Windsor
Sir Christopher Wrens Hotel
Sir Christopher Wrens Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing