We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a friendly welcome”
Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Timberwolfuk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value and a friendly welcome”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here in Nov 12. Staff were very friendly,and hotel neat and tidy. Room had ensuite and very clean. Nice to go to a place that does good full English breakfasts not just a roll and a cup of tea like so many.

Within seconds of coming down for breakfasts we were attended too and had food within minutes.

The only draw back was that their is no car park here.However the manager kindly let us park on their small drive. You can park overnight on Clarence Road but from early in the morning 30 mins parking kicks in, so you would have to move car first thing.

However we would definitely come here again all that we needed and much cheaper than most
other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timberwolfuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
74
132
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Formby
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Decor is lovely, staff so friendly and helpful,location is one minute from start of peascod street with its bars and shops
The downside is the sash windows which have an inch which doesn't close and is covered by a draft brush, thus you hear every noise from the street.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My husband and I spent one week at the Clarence Hotel from October 29, 2012 to November 5, 2012.

The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was tidied and the washroom was cleaned on a daily basis. Breakfast was delicious.

I would recommend the Clarence Hotel to all my Canadian friends.

Leda Gagne

Room Tip: There is no elevator in the hotel, choose a room on the first or second floor if you have trouble cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

Excellent value for the price. Everything was as promised.
Fantastic location, easy walking distance to the main street and castle.

Very steep stairs if you have a heavy case and are on the third floor.

Staff were generally friendly and obliging except when we asked how breakfast worked and were snapped at by one employee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevrah140908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

On arrival reception was short sharp and blunt.Room 4 was the double room we where given,on opening the door instantly felt like i was entering a rabbit hutch, room was tiny.The bathroom though clean smelt fussty and to be honest suitable for a midget.Should of asked to be moved i know but was in a state of shock,nothing like photos or video on site.Breakfast was simple and done on a low budget.I have stayed in better £15 a night b&bs in blackpool.Payed £70 a night wish i would have payed the extra 50 or so for hotels near castle.Can only speak of room 4 but after looking inside room 4s kettle can only imagine the rest of the hotel does not worry too much about standards.Would not recommend and if on a budget stay out of Windsor and drive in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevdandy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just enjoyed a very enjoyable weekend at the Clarence hotel, we were made to feel so welcome
And nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very clean and comfortable And a very reasonable price. Couldn't fault the breakfast either a good choice , I had a lovely full English all freshly cooked. The location is ideal with parking on site and everything so close when the weather is better there is a pretty garden to enjoy . We will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Booked this hotel for its location and value. The hotel is conveniently placed for a visit to Windsor - (able to walk to the Castle, and other attractions). Stayed in the Albert room, which is tastefully furnished, and has everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Was able to park on-site at the hotel which was a bonus (four spaces available). We received a warm welcome, and advice of the local area. Free Wi-Fi is also a plus. Breakfasts (full-English) was very well presented and freshly cooked - with excellent service. There's a pleasant garden which we didn't use (due to weather & time), although we did use the steam room, which is designed to a high standard. Overall a great experience to stay at this hotel, as we celebrated our 30th Wedding Anniversay, and would not hesitate to re-book if we were staying in or around the Winsdor area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you prefer a ground floor room then 'Albert' and 'Emma' the two available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Property: Clarence Hotel
Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing