We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in February, the staff in the hotel were second to none, as soon as we walked in the receptionist explained all about Windsor and the places to go and the restaurants to eat in. The hotel itself is a bit in need of an upgrade from the 80s but it's very clean and tidy, and quite quiet for its location. The location is great, literally 1 minute from the high street so no dramas to walk to all the good restaurants and bars. Breakfast was nice, a full English with tea or coffee. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel as long as you get it at the right price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gwevsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
74
132
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I stayed with you over the weekend for a short stay.

Can I commend you and all of your staff for what I can only describe as a pleasurable experience.

Your rooms are clean and well equipped, the breakfast is superb and your staff are both helpful and exceptionally friendly. Overall what you offer is remarkable value.

As our son now lives in Windsor we will probably be frequent visitors to the area and we will have no hesitation in booking with you again and also recommending to other family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

My partner Emma and I have just spent 2 nights here, and we can't praise the hotel highly enough! The rooms were spotless, the staff wonderfully helpful and friendly, and the breakfast substantial and very appetising. Parking is difficult in the area, but the receptionist went to tremendous lengths to help us find somewhere- there's a reasonable multi- storey within 3 minutes walk.
Before travelling I read some negative reviews of this hotel, and had doubts about whether it would be any good. Could those people please not leave gratuitous bad reviews, and please get a life - none of the negative points had any foundation in fact. Yes, the rooms are quite small, but more than adequate for a good nights sleep, the linen is crisp and clean, the decor is attractive, and again spotless. I travel frequently on business - it's a long time since I found such a comfortable and welcoming hotel. Taking into account the price, it's an absolute bargain!!
Do yourself a favour - if you visit Windsor - STAY HERE!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

From start to finish we had a great experience. Caroline dealt with my telephone booking and welcomed us upon arrival, professional, polite and friendly, just what you wanted after a four hour drive.

The room was very nice, plenty of space and clean, had all the facilities, tea, coffee, soap etc.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring Windsor, you turn left as you walk out of the door, cross the road, walk twenty yards, turn left and you are there on the main thoroughfare, there is no better base.

The full English breakfast was lovely, just let Pauline know what you want and she will sort it, we had plenty of toast to soak up all the tea we drank, an excellent selection of cereals, fruits, drinks etc.

Caroline, Pauline and their staff made the stay very enjoyable, nothing was too much trouble, thanks a lot.

There are only four parking spots but we did not have a problem as we arrived late morning.

We will return to the Clarence Hotel again and would recommend it to our friends and families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have just spent one night here, so I can't comment of everything.

Check in was a breeze, and the Reception Staff were very helpful. They quickly helped me find a parking slot. Parking is very limited here, and there is only one 'free' slot across the street. That said, there is a parking lot within 2-3 mins walk.

The room, although small, was en suite. The first thing I noticed was the cleanliness. Im not overly bothered by all mod cons in a room, but I do like it to be clean. The room smelt of fresh linen, which is a good sign.

There was a good supply of tea/coffee, and 2 flat screen TV's. However, if you are taking a hard drive with your movies on, you will need to take your own remote, as previous occupants have stolen the remote that opens up all the features. The bed was nice and firm, and the pillows appeared to be new.

There is an iron and board available, and also a separate bathroom, should those in your party need to get ready at the same time. There is also a sauna and steam room on the premises, which I believe is an extra £1 to use.

The town centre is just a couple of minutes walk away, with an abundance of places to eat. As you can imagine, being a very popular tourist trap, the prices do reflect this.

Sadly, I missed the breakfast, which I am told by others, is something special.

All in all, the hotel is well worth the money, and the staff make it a stress free stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: Arrive as early as you can to grab a parking space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefBosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a weekend here as part of our Golden Wedding celebrations and must admit it certainly surpassed our expectations . The hotel rooms were pleasant and comfortable . The staff charming and friendly . Breakfast was ample and perfectly cooked to order . We purchased a wowcher voucher for our visit which we both agreed was money well spent . Give it a try , you won't be disapointed . Would willingly pay them another visit . In short "Small but perfectly formed"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winkle442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here at the Clarence Hotel for the weekend , We purchased the stay though Wowcher.
The hotel is very clean and in a great location , from as soon as you walk in the front door the abundance of the family run hotel shined thought to welcome you, The breakfasts was amazing beautiful cooked with top quality produces , We will definitely return.
The only downfall was the traffic noise at night from the busy road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Property: Clarence Hotel
Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing