We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed two separate nights at the Clarence Hotel in two different rooms. This is a cozy place with friendly staff. Both rooms were ensuite, the bathroom a little small but very functional. Breakfast is a wonderful "full English," served in a lovely dining room. There is also a pleasant garden to sit and relax. The location is extremely convenient, just a short walk to the various attractions in Windsor including the castle, shopping, and restaurants. Staff were also cheerful and helpful, helping my print my boarding passes for the flight out. I recommend this place if you're visiting Windsor and would like a cozy place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
74
132
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Double room with ensuite was small, but adequate as we were out all day. Nice lounge to sit in, with bar stocked with canned beers and lagers and some spirits. Hotel was clean and generally in good condition. Breakfasts were excellent, with good friendly service. Hotel owners were away when we visited, but the ladies who covered were very efficient and friendly with lots of time for you even though they were rushing around covering everything. Good hotel, enjoyed our stay. Close to Windsor centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel with my son for a weekend away in Windsor. Lovely friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean hotel and room. Breakfast was lovely. There is a small pretty garden at the back if you wish to relax outside. Excellent location for castle, shops and restaurants. Only parking for four cars outside but there are many car parks close by. When I arrived there were no spaces for my car. I parked opposite hotel and left my keys with the lovely lady at reception and she told me not to worry and to go out for the day and she would make sure my car was eventually parked safely outside. Which it was. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit Windsor and be in the centre of all that is going on.

Room Tip: Ask for an early check in if you want to try and get a parking space at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had two rooms, one double and one family for four people. They were clean, comfortable and as we expected. Breakfast was good, even though they could not seat us at one table. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

If you want old English then this is it. Wonderful setting next to the Thames.

The staff are first class and the chef should be in a Top London restaurant. The dishes impressed my French colleagues and this included an excellent cheese board!

If you like old traditional English hotels then this is it. Brilliant location as Windsor castle close and T5 only 20 minutes - perfect for impressing foreign colleagues.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a beautiful Grade II listed building set more or less in the middle of everything and that includes being located right on the flight path to Heathrow airport! The noise isn't a problem and it was quite a thrill to see the planes and work out where they were from. Our room was very clean and well presented, compact but functional as we were only going to be sleeping there, showering etc and it was facing the rear so was very quiet. There isn't a car park as such - just a drive for about 4 cars but we got lucky although we were blocked in on the day of our departure!! and the owners had gone out for the day!! however the problem was solved as there is a bit of an odd arrangement - you leave your keys at reception and if you get blocked in you just move the vehicle!! The breakfast was very tasty and sets you up for your day. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I was given, the smallest "double" room I have ever experienced while
Staying in hotels every week.
Although very clean, I think "no where to swing a cat " is the phrase
I would use.
My colleagues room was even smaller, so I suppose I was the luckier lol.
I can't comment on other rooms, they may have been fine !!!
My biggest bug bare was that there
was no parking on site and parking
Is very restricted in the surrounding
area, resulting in finding a multi storey parking place...... Not good when arriving back late, or when off loading luggage.
Staff were more than friendly, and couldn't be more helpful.
Not one I would return to though !!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mikeybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Property: Clarence Hotel
Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing