We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“appalling”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“appalling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Carpets disgustingly dirty , work outside all day to come back to more mud . Tv of ancient era . Beds positioned to a point you could tickle each other's toes .

Would not recommend . First & last visit ..... Hope no one else experiences what I did .

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    131
    39
    22
    13
See reviews for
74
132
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed at the Clarence Hotel 4th-6th August...what a delightful hotel we had the "Emma Suite"
which was on the ground floor and to the back of the hotel....our bedroom was a good size and had been renovated same as the bathroom which the window overlooked the garden...had a bit of trouble working out the shower but once it got going it was great...The breakfast was nice and fresh and with Pauline taking orders for our brekky it put a smile on our dials there is also a large TV room with a little bar.....The Clarence is a minutes walk to all the shops and restaurants..... we just loved our stay in Windsor we wished we could have stayed a few more days ......Thanks Pauline you are a funny lady and you always had a smile for us

Room Tip: Ask for "Emma Suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandDarren1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile


When booking for a family of 2 adults and 2 children (5,7) we were told we would have to change room after one night so this was okay with us.

The hotel has no lift and no porter so you must carry your own luggage up the 1 or 2 flights of stairs so you need to consider this in advance.

For night one we have room 23 which had a double and 2 single beds all of which were full beds (not pull outs) which meant a great night sleep for all. The bathroom had been done up and although the bath was a little hard to use overall it was clean and in good order. the shower is in the bath which might be problematic for people with reduced mobility. It had a door to a stairs directly to the garden which was a nice additional extra. The TV has a build in DVD player which is handy for kids. On night 2 we had a family suite which was two rooms with one having a double bed and the other 2 single beds. It was a great size for a family. The bathroom was okay but could have been cleaned better especially the plug holes.

Breakfast is 06:30 to 8:45 which is a little early for some families. You get a full English breakfast but if this is not to your taste other options are limited to Kellogg's cereals and tinned grapefruit and mandarins. It was a very quick service.

The not so small garden is a great addition for kids and the friendly cat Charlie kept my kids entertained.

It cost us £6 for a taxi from the train station but if you did not have a lot of luggage it is walkable in about 15 minutes. There is some car spaces out front. It is about 10 minutes walk to windsor castle and to the bus to Legoland (outside the parish Church to the right of castle)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinaEthiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashford, kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights. Ideally sited for the river, castle and shops. Reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Breakfast was ok, if basic, with limited choice. Wife received a very strange look when she asked if it would be possible to have scrabbled egg, rather than the fried one on offer. Room was clean and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities. Previous comments about traffic and plane noise are valid but think it would be the same wherever you stayed in the Town. More to do with Windsor than the hotel. Bar has very low usage so selection of drinks is limited. All that said over all experience was good and would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyAshford_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only stayed one night one of the two bedroom family suites but will be back for more. The hotel is comfortable and is in an ideal place for dinning, the Castle and local parks for the children. The staff were all so very helpful and cheerful and made us all feel very welcome. They provided gluten free toast in the morning which is more than higher quality hotels have offered in the past.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had an overnight stay at the Clarence hotel in Windsor. What a pleasant hotel. The staff were very friendly. Room was clean and had everything you could need. Bathroom was a little small ( my partner is 6ft 2!) but adequate.
Breakfast was very nice plenty of it and it was nice and hot and service was speedy.
We regularly stay at hotels and this is the first time I have wanted to comment on one.
Well done keep up the good work we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here overnight whilst visiting relatives. It's a perfect location for sightseeing and shopping. Everything you could possibly need was in the room which was nicely furnished. There was also a quiet little walled garden where we were able to have a cold drink as it was very hot. We had an excellent breakfast served by friendly helpful staff. The only problem we had was from noise outside and planes overhead which we're not used to.

Room Tip: room by the main road very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarye514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Hotel

Property: Clarence Hotel
Address: 9 Clarence Road, Windsor SL4 5AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing