We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible..”
Review of Oscar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oscar Lodge
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Horrible..”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Location of the hotel is convenient, but there no restaurant or bar around. You have to walk 10-15min to the centre of the town for any services.
We haven't stayed in a worse place than this yet. The room was spacious, equipped with tea&coffee facilities, TV and so on, but it was so dirty.. There was a proper rich layer of dust on everything, I don't think the carpet was vacuum cleand for past month or two.. even though the bed and bathroom were pretty clean, at least!
we didn't get the breakfast there, we found it expensive to pay 3GBP for Roll&Jam..
I wouldn't stay there again, never..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyskaHryzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    23
    29
    57
See reviews for
33
44
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

At the time of booking this was one of the cheapest guest houses in Windsor (I wouldn't describe it as a hotel). Perhaps this should have been a warning. The place has a general air of scruffiness and grubbiness (although the room itself was a good size and quite nicely furnished). It was a very cold night but the heating in our room wasn't working and there was a tiny electric heater which barely made a difference. The bathroom was freezing. The continental breakfast (at £3) was very poor. No muesli, white bread only, instant coffee and one flavour of jam only (no marmalade or other alternatives). However, in its favour I will say that it does have a decent car park at the rear and is a fifteen minute walk from the town centre and railway station. Car parking in Windsor is a real bonus. As I say, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobcat605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

stayed here last weekend,although it says hotel it is really a standard b&b,if you book this place with that in mind you won't be disapointed.
The room we had was fairly big but a small bathroom,plenty of tea and coffee and soap provided,it is 10 minutes to town or the racecourse in each direction with a huge carpark,please remember to book before you go.
The only downside was breakfast,just cereal and toast and boiled eggs,but the staff were really helpful and pleasant and for £60 a night somewhere we would book again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times now - each time just for a few days. The staff here are very nice and nothing is ever a problem for them. It has free parking... which is a huge bonus in Windsor, and it is only a short walk to the centre of town and castle. I have stayed in both the single and double rooms. The double room was very comfortable. The single rooms are of course smaller with a single bed. But they were perfectly comfortable for me for a short stay of a few days. The shower worked well, it had tea and coffee facilities, and an LCD TV. They also have the internet which is free (I had my own so did not use it so I can't comment on how well it worked). I did not have the breakfast, so cannot comment about that either. This hotel is similar in price to other hotels in the area that I have stayed at, but for me, it is the one that is most convenient. It is definitely worth a consideration if you are visiting Windsor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The nice-enough people running this facility have no clue. It's shabby, very basic, and the breakfast food choices are awful: sugary boxed cereals, white bread, eggs boiled to bullet-like hardness, and instant hot drinks. Security is less than ideal and our room was cramped with no fridge or phone. We got one room key for our party of 3 and had to ask for everything. Light switches and the bathroom door all needed fixing. In -room 'services' extended to bottled water and little packets of tea, coffee and crisps! Ugh ... don't unless you are desperate. Cheap and it showed and then some.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groundling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I chose to stay here because we were looking for a cheap, no frills, last minute room, within walking distance of the town centre that had free parking. Oscar hotel met all these requirements and overall we were pleased with our stay for the price we paid.

Good points are the price, the free parking, that its a few minutes walk from town but on a nice, safe residential road, that the staff are very friendly and helpful (offered to take my bag upstairs, accomodated our extra car, checked we were happy with our room...), the room is quiet so we slept well, the room and sheets were very clean. They also adverstise free wifi although we didn't test this out.

The not so good points were the bathroom was very small and the tv signal very bad. There was also no hairdryer that would have been useful and shower water pressure was a bit 'quirky' but when you run the sink tap, it then works fine!

This isn't a romantic, luxury, big or modern hotel but if you just want a good location, clean room and nice service then it's totally fine.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which is on the 2nd (top floor). This has a small shower room and poor tv signa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Read the reviews after booking and was pretty worried! But to be honest it was not that bad,the family room was quite big,sheets were clean,duvets bit stained but smelt clean -just the sort of material hard to get stainsout! Bath etc.clean-smelt of bleach! Booked through Booking.com so quite cheap.people on desk quite friendly,left too early for breakfast so no comment.T.v awful -one channel that kids could watch but did not complain as only there one night-not the sort of place we would choose to stay longer,but not so bad as some reviews said.

Room Tip: we had very early start in morning so went to bed early-down stairs family room can hear other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
#12 of 17 in Windsor
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Lodge

Property: Oscar Lodge
Address: 65 Vansittart Road, Windsor SL4 5DB, England (Formerly Oscar Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing