We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and staff but rooms need a bit of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great location and staff but rooms need a bit of work”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

booked last minute so not sure whether price would be cheaper otherwise. Given that the hotel is right in the centre (middle of shopping area), I think it's still good value.

Positives:
-Location, location, location
-Friendly staff, much better than snobbish staff at 5 star hotels
-Large room
-Bed linen white and clean
-Satisfactory facilities (TV, kettle etc)
-Good sound insulation between rooms
-Price is relatively good value

Improvement Points:
-Noise from outside can be annoying but not a problem when windows are shut.
-You can't shut the windows because it's TOO HOT in the room even when it's cool outside. Could not sleep.
-Bathroom did not feel well cleaned and floor is yucky lino, tiles would be better.
-No hotel parking so shopping area parking is 20 pounds overnight and discounted at 12 by the hotel. Parking should be free for 80-100 pounds per night hotel.
-Fresh paint and cleaning of corridors, lifts and carpet renewal is due

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank A U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    258
    177
    75
    56
See reviews for
400
214
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The room was very clean, the staff brilliant, but as the weather was quite warm, the room was too hot, no fan in the room. Breakfast priced at approx £7.65 and all you can eat. I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

At first , hotel was nowhere to be found with no directions at all. Secondly , as we arrived late evening , and needed the staff to open the door - he didn't even bother. He rather served drunk people behind the bar. Most of the budget hotels keep their nice reputation by keeping the rooms nice , clean and mantained. Not this one. Suprise as in town like that one i would expect a high standard even from the chain hotel.
Overall, not very happy, place had that unpleasant smell and bathroom wasnt very clean.
Wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay Paulina S. We do aim to provide directions and a map on our website so it is regrettable to learn of the difficulty you had in finding the hotel. Furthermore, we would expect our staff members to be polite and maintain a high level of professionalism and customer service at all times. We also require our staff to follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards. We are sorry for the experience you had with us and would like to investigate the concerns that you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The perfect place to stay upon arrival in the UK. Minutes away from Heathrow, Windsor Castle and the surrounding area are a must for anyone visiting from abroad. Very welcoming staff, excellent location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying in Windsor for the Royal Garter Day at Windsor Castle; this is in superb location with friendly staff an close to all amenities. Useful subsidy towards the multi storey car park ticket; don't forget to use it!
Extremely hot, but we were given a fan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank ZebraCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The room was very hot. The windows only open three inches so not much air could get in so we had to go and get a fan for the room. Be aware the hotel is right I the middle of a shopping centre with wine bars and food places so is very noisy and when the room is so hot u have to choose between heat or noise. On the plus side the room was clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location although badly sign posted! I suppose it added to the adventure trying to hunt it down though!

The hotel was really friendly and clean. The location is brilliant. We stayed over night for a trip to legoland and it was perfect. Lovely shops/bars/restaurants around.

The room was fine although our kettle didn't work and the room was very hot. We did have a nice view of Windsor castle though! The noise of the planes going over can be a bit distracting but my son loved watching them fly over. As long as you are aware of the noises before you do I don't think it makes it too bad.

As we stayed on a Sunday night we got the room for very cheap. Very pleased with it for the price we paid and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel

Property: Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Address: 34 King Edward Court, Windsor SL4 1TG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Travel Lodge Windsor
Windsor Travelodge
Windsor Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing