We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Broadway star”
Review of Cowley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowley House
Ranked #10 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent the weekend in Broadway and found Cowley House on the internet, as soon as we checked in we were made very welcome with coffee and cake, we were then shown to a lovely room, very clean and beautifully decorated, after a good night sleep we enjoyed a really good breakfast which plenty of choice and perfectly cooked.
All in all a beautiful bed and breakfast in a lovely village

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masquerade451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Than you for your kind thoughts. Best wishes

Peter and Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights over Easter weekend, beautiful clean room with view over the garden (Grappenhall), made to feel very at home by Joan, Diane & Peter, wonderful breakfasts (must try the scrambled duck eggs).

Nothing is too much trouble and the complimentary sherry is a nice touch, fantastic location close to all amenities and a brilliant base to explore all the other lovely villages of the Cotswolds,

Will definitely be booking at Cowley House in the future

First Class

Nick & Maxine King

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Than you for your kind thoughts look forward to meeting you all again. Best wishes

Peter and Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My friend und I stayed at this wonderful B&B five nights in the End of March. Because of the strike at Franfurt Airport we had to arrive one day earlier. Kindly that was no Problem and our room (Grappenhall) was waitung for us.Peter made us feel very welcome with tea and cake after a bad journey.Our bedroom was very clean, cozy and pretty.Breakfast was perfect and the highlight was the very friendly Di always funny and helpful.And always with useful tips.We are looking forward for our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Than you for your kind thoughts and trust you had a good journey home. Best wishes

Peter and Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at Cowley House 4 times and have booked to stay again. Peter and Joan always welcoming and Diane is a star and very friendly. Lovely breakfast of local produce, clean and comfortable rooms and ideal location. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for your kind thoughts. and look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes

Peter and Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this lovely B&B last week. We arrived into the town of Broadway with no idea where we were going to stay and happened upon it trying to scape the cold and rain (it's located just off the High Street). We were given a warm welcome by Peter, who answered the door to us strangers with a bellowing "hello, welcome" and a big smile on his face, which made us feel immediately welcome. We were given the choice of two beautiful rooms; we picked one with a gorgeous light green and yellow interior, with a big window overlooking the front of the property. Everything in the room was lovely; particularly the art on the wall and the beautiful flower on the windowsill, framed by lovely heavy curtains. We spent some time wondering around and exploring the beautiful town of Broadway but often the weather would confine us within the walls of this B&B and we spent a couple of nights drinking complementary sherry on the big, deep couches in the common living area which we were told to use as we please. Peter and Joan were always helpful and accommodating, suggesting local sights and attractions for us to visit, offering pub and restaurant recommendations and even continued assistance and a warm cup of tea to my partner one morning when he was feeling unwell. Peter even kindly drove us to the nearest train station on the morning of check-out so that we would not miss our train back to London. We loved our stay there and the warm, welcoming, tranquil atmosphere that Peter and Joan have created; having never stayed in a B&B before, this went beyond our expectations of what a good experience would entail. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Agnes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at Cowley House with friends who have not been to the Cotswolds before. Made very welcome by Joan and Peter, nice cup of tea and homemade cake on arrival. Accommodation was excellent as it was on our previous stay last year. Breakfasts were delicious and we looked forward to our morning 'banter' with the lovely Di.
Will certainly be returning. Oh and just wondered how are you getting on with the eggs benedict??

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Nice to see you again and thank you for your kind comments. We are always looking at ways to vary the breakfast, and egg benedict could be a weekend feature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Bed and breakfast at Cowley house really is luxurious. Delightful house in heart of Broadway. We were made very welcome with tea in the snug sitting room. Our bedroom (Anstey) was very pretty (Laura Ashley) and the bed was exceptionally comfortable with beautiful linen and mattress topper. Breakfast was delicious, with choice beyond just 'a full English'. Accommodating, friendly hosts and the perfect place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Look on the web site, photos of rooms and individual descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for writing a review about Cowley House. We are so pleased that you like the new furnishings in Anstey. I enjoyed making the curtains etc but I get the most pleasure from knowing that our guests like them. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
872 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 30 in Broadway
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley House

Address: Cowley House Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £99 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowley House is a beautiful mid 18th century Cotswold stone house with original features which has been refurbished to provide guests with every comfort. Its quiet location in the heart of a pretty cotswold village makes Cowley House an ideal location for your stya in broadway and the perfect base from which to tour the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cowley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley House Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing