We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay as always!”
Review of Cowley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowley House
Ranked #10 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay as always!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have been staying at Cowley House with my family a couple of times a year for the last 9 years.

Every time we thoroughly enjoy our stay.

We have found Joan and Peter to be excellent hosts with a great sense of humour! We are always greeted warmly with hot drinks and cakes, which are delicious.

The rooms are very comfortable and well presented with the refreshment tray replenished every day.

The breakfasts are always wonderful and nothing is too much trouble as some of the party have allergies and this is always well catered for.

The B&B is incredibly well situated close to the high street and local walking trails. This makes getting out and really enjoying Broadway very easy.

All in all we have had yet another great stay and will be returning again later in the year and I would whole heartedly recommend anyone looking for a relaxing and enjoyable visit to the Cotswolds to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    53
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
37
168
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel is one of the best we have experienced during our vacation travels. Broadway is an idyllic town with old buildings and fantastic surrounding nature. The hotel is located in short walking distance from the town centre. We stayed in the "Chawton" room, that has its own private garden, where we could enjoy our afternoon tea after a fantastic walk in the hills and small villages surrounding Broadway.
The breakfast was a class by itself; fresh prepared English breakfast at your wish, with fresh high quality juice and jams.
We were a little worried about "pet-friendly" hotel, as we don't like to share our home with animals. This was however not an issue; the hotel and room was as clean as it gets, and the owners dogs were quiet and kept in the private section of the hotel.
I will give my best recommendations on both Broadway and the Cowley House - They are certainly worth a visit

Room Tip: The "Chawton" room is small in size, but in the summer, the private garden with table and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked to celebrate our anniversary with a couple of nights in the Cotswolds and what a delightful stay we had at Cowley House.

We were welcomed on arrival with afternoon tea and cakes in "Win's Lounge" after being shown our room. Also there was an extra-special touch with a box of chocolates and card for our anniversary. Useful advice was given on where to eat in the village.

The breakfasts were delicious with plenty to choose from and excellent service from Di (who is definitely not like anyone's mother - remember that!). Di also suggested places to walk which we ended up doing all in one day which meant we were out for the whole day seeing this wonderful part of the Cotswolds with beautiful views, villages and pubs. The breakfast set us up for a whole day walking!

Room Tip: Our room was Grappenhall which was clean and the bed comfortable. There is not much room in the ens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bottleofscotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked two rooms here for my aunt visiting from Australia and my parents from the MIdlands. The ground floor room with disabled facilities was perfect for my mother who has
limited mobility. So much so they will stay here again in 2015 for the weekend of my son's wedding.

Breakfast was enjoyed in the cosy breakfast room, and was very well cooked by Peter. They happily accommodated all our needs, and I can say that first hand as my husband and I were invited to breakfast with my relatives even though we were not staying at Cowley House!

This is a very well located Cotswold stone guesthouse with character by the bucketfuls, just off the main high street and very close to the village's amenities.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were all made to feel very welcome.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lellipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Cowley House for a 3 night break in August. Upon arrival we were offered tea or coffee in the lounge before being shown to our room. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and tidy and the tea and coffee tray was replenished every day. Breakfast was delicious. Joan and Peter were most helpful throughout our stay. We will be returning to Cowley House on our next visit to the Cotswolds. Thank you Joan and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived by taxi and we're able to put our luggage in our room since it was ready. This allowed us to enjoy our Cotswold Way walk which has a starting point on the same road.

They are only a small walk from the corner of high street but tucked away from the bustle of shopping. We easily walked to lunch and dinner.

Eggs benedict and coffee was good. The breakfast room is efficient but does have enough room. Service is quick and friendly.

Joan and Peter went out of their way to return items left behind in room. They met us in a nearby town that evening. This was so helpful since we didn't have a car at this point.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Summerjoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We spent 2 nights at cowley house , we really enjoyed our time here , thank you Joan and peter for our lovely room , great breakfast :-) we was set up for a great days walking . 10/10 for you both keep up the good work

Room Tip: Only saw our room but ours was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watty4059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Broadway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#7 of 30 in Broadway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley House

Property: Cowley House
Address: Cowley House Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowley House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowley House is a beautiful mid 18th century Cotswold stone house with original features which has been refurbished to provide guests with every comfort. Its quiet location in the heart of a pretty cotswold village makes Cowley House an ideal location for your stya in broadway and the perfect base from which to tour the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cowley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cowley House Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing