We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our high expectations”
Review of Abbots Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbots Grange
Ranked #3 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The feeling that this grand 14th century manor house, surrounded by its park-like grounds, imparts as you arrive at the impressive front door carries through to the beautifully maintained rooms within.

If the walls could talk, there would be tales of William Morris, Mark Twain, Frank Millet, Henry James, Edward Elgar, Oscar Wilde and John Singer Sargent. Their histories are intertwined with that of Abbot's Grange, and it comes through strongly.

The owners, Topsy and Richard, were gracious hosts in their magnificent home.
Topsy's sister, Faith, could not have been more helpful and informative.

The bedroom was beautifully furnished and comfortable, as was the great hall with its massive fireplace, and the dining room where the superb breakfasts were served.

A memorable place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binksy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very disappointed in the total lack of communication from this hotel. We emailed twice and rang three times, left one message, to be assured each time by an answering machine, That someone would get straight back to us. We left both email and telephone details. When you are trying to plan a trip from the other side of the world it is incredibly frustrating trying to deal with machines who do not do what they promise. Would have loved to stay here, have booked elsewhere where the whole exercise took 2 minutes. My advice, for what it is worth, ditch the answering machine, employ a human and answer your emails.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
8  Thank WindsorDownsTrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Wow.... this place is magical, truely amazing. The attention to detail outstanding.
So very romantic and a stunning location. I dontsee how it could be improved its that fantastic.
6 or 7 star accomodation

Room Tip: The four poster room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazzle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This is the most amazing place we've ever stayed, it was full of such personal touches and service that makes 5* seem lacking... Attention to detail was everywhere, with fluffy soft bathrobes, lots of complimentary drinks, fantastic menu selection for breakfasts and a welcoming & fun sense of humour from everyone. We would highly recommend it and having a smaller number of rooms to let gives that high quality service that is missing from all other accomodation we've visited. Deborah & Martin.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are avaiable as there aren't pictures on line of all of them and some are more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeborahOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We was made to fill so welcome it was like a home from home the was very good and the afternoon tea was to die for Thank you for a nice stay

Michael & Jan

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

In February, when we were booking our week-long journey in June through the UK, we wanted to end our trip in the Cotswolds. Generally, we don't stay at B and Bs (my partner's preference for the amenities and privacy of boutique hotels, lodges and the like), but I found Abbots Grange, he was intrigued by its history and beauty (and he liked Broadway--he knew the area) so I booked it. From the first response, Faith was helpful and professional, helping me to find restaurants and provide a bottle of champagne upon arrival for a planned celebration. [Thank you, Faith] As we sat in the remarkable lounge (the abbots old chapel I think) with the fireplace going, drinking champagne as evening fell, we fell under the spell of the splendid old building. The wonder of England (and indeed all of Europe) never lost on this American is the wonder of its long history and the resplendent architecture that speaks its history in stone. It was a delight to enjoy time relaxing at Abbots Grange--the bedroom was lovely and well appointed, the breakfast (as is the case in England) bountiful and tasty, the locale convenient to everything yet private, and the history a lovely bonus to it all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwriter19118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here on honeymoon and truly believe we couldnt have been made more welcome anywhere on the planet.

When we arrived our stunning bedroom had confetti scattered across the bed, beautiful flowers and champagne. There was even a small book on love!

The family who run the business can only be described as warm beautiful and totally engaging ..... Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were spoilt rotten.

We can't recommend Abotts Grange any more highly, so book it if you can ......be prepared something uniqenand special.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
784 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,442 reviews
6.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Grange

Address: Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: £143 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbots Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lea of Broadway hill and standing in a little over eight acres of parkland grounds and gardens you will find the romantic Cotswold hideaway, Abbots Grange. Secluded, yet only 2 minutes walk from Broadway's 'picture perfect' village high street with its delightful array of independent boutique shops, restaurants and inns. This magical, award winning monastic manor has all the comforts you would expect from an AA five gold star 'highly commended' guest house. Bedrooms are equipped to a high standard with four poster beds, flat screen TVs and seating areas. Our premium accomodation, the magnificent Elizabethan Suite and Abbots Chambers can be booked directly through the Abbots Grange web site. Beds in all rooms and suites are dressed with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to ensure a blissful nights sleep. Thick, fluffy white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries complete the en-suite bathrooms. The oldest dwelling in Broadway, Abbots Grange was built in about 1320 as the summer manor for the Abbot of Pershore. There are over 700 years of history to absorb here, perhaps while you unwind in front of the roaring log fire over afternoon tea... or by candlelight after dinner? Breakfast at Abbots Grange is a celebration of all things local. Served in the panelled dining room at the round table, you will find a mouth watering selection of fresh berries and seasonal fruits. Local sausages and smoked bacon together with Cotswold free range eggs. We offer a delicious vegetarian full English breakfast alternative, artisan baked breads and pastries from our own bakery - Huffkins - together with freshly brewed 100% Arabica coffees and loose leaf teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Abbots Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Grange Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing