We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The appearance makes it”
Review of Abbots Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbots Grange
Ranked #5 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The appearance makes it”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I visited here with my girlfried who is from the US. I wanted to give the old england feel and this place did just the job. Nice setting, lovely building and a great hotel. You get the feeling you are a guest in someones house, so its definately more of a B&B although you don't feel you are imposing at all. The service was excellent, breakfast lovely and we had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable four poster bed. You eat breakfast at a big table with all the other guests, which some might not like but we enjoyed the conversation.

My only criticism as a regular hotel guest of this 5 star bed and breakfast would be the lack of soap in the bathroom and lack of conditioner suppied. The little things make the difference and this is the first hotel I have stayed in for years that did not supply these. Perhaps they were forgotten when the room was made up and I admit we didn't bother to ask for some, but its all about the attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    14
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
223
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

best b+b frendly homely every thing needed for a relaxing weekend room very comfortable wide choice of breakfasts great hall has to be seen photos as pleasant as they are do not give you the feel and atmosphere must go back

Room Tip: only 4rooms thats what makes it so pleasant you are treated on one to one basis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The house, the surroundings, the service, the food and the experience was amazing. It was peaceful, with wonderful gardens and the village of Broadway is absolutely charming. Staying here again will be a dream come true!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatdane108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Abbotts Grange approx five months ago. Delightful house especially the sitting room, very disappointing when there was no fire lit all evening. Went out for dinner , returned at eight thinking we would have tea in our room. No tea so went downstairs looking for somebody with no success. Left it an hour tried again so used my iniative and rang the doorbell for a good while with no result. I then decided to telephone, an answer phone so basically nobody was available all evening which for the price we thought was unacceptable. Even if it had cost sixty pounds a night the service should still be there. I spoke to a young lady in the morning and told her about the situation last evening, she just asked if i wanted some tea now! on my way to breakfast. Breakfast great however felt like i was at my parents, sitting next to and opposite people at breakfast i don t even know is not a good start to the day really. Apart from the lack of service and breakfast arrangement beautiful house, comfortable room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Lovely atmospheric home in the centre of Broadway, glowing in the early autumnal sunshine.
We were offered a choice between an en suite shower room and another (Monet) with dedicated bathroom across the passage. We took the latter as it was a prettier, brighter room, tiptoeing across in the middle of the night made more comfortable with the provided bath robes.
An unseasonable night time low of 5°C meant the unheated room & especially bathroom an uncomfortable start to the day.
The disappointing pre-ordered English breakfast was of the kept warm type, kippers the next day was a better option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Abbots Grange a couple of weeks ago as a mini-moon destination for a few days get away after our wedding and it was everything we hoped for.

We stayed in the Morris room which was lovely and bright, immaculately clean with an fantastic wet room and had a four poster bed with the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on, (If the breakfast had not been so good I most certainly would have struggled to get out of bed in the morning!)

The TV was usefully fixed on a bracket which moved out from the wall for convenient viewing in bed, however, we barely had a chance to watch any television as we constantly found ourselves being drawn back to the atmospheric great hall to sit and pass the time.

The peaceful atmosphere of Abbots Grange and it's surrounding gardens was just the tonic we needed after a hectic few weeks of last minute wedding preparations, and it is perfectly positioned so that you feel completely secluded yet in reality are only 2 minutes walk away from all the amenities of Broadway which has an excellent choice of venues for evening dining and drinks.

We were most impressed with the little things which actually make the biggest impression on your stay; complimentary bubbly in our room on arrival for our honeymoon, complimentary drinks and fruit in the great hall for all guests, the number of options to choose from on the breakfast menu. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly and make us feel at home straight away.

We had a wonderful few days, it was just a shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We only saw the Morris room which we stayed in but would highly recommend to other guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked Abbots Grange for a family celebration after staying there ourselves and loving it. Our family were as impressed as we were, and the service could not have been better. Tea on arrival, and a wonderful party in the great hall on the Saturday night- super.
Rooms are beautiful, all with four posters, comfy mattresses, and complimentary drinks.

Many thanks to Topsy and her husband ( who is a great cook even though he calls himself the "B " team) and especially to Stacey and the chef on the Saturday, who could not have worked harder to make our weekend special.
If you would like a special place to stay, look no further- a wonderful stay in a wonderful area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
625 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Grange

Property: Abbots Grange
Address: Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbots Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lea of Broadway hill and standing in a little over eight acres of parkland grounds and gardens you will find the romantic Cotswold hideaway, Abbots Grange. Secluded, yet only 2 minutes walk from Broadway's 'picture perfect' village high street with its delightful array of independent boutique shops, restaurants and inns. This magical, award winning monastic manor has all the comforts you would expect from an AA five gold star 'highly commended' guest house. Bedrooms are equipped to a high standard with four poster beds, flat screen TVs and seating areas. Our premium accomodation, the magnificent Elizabethan Suite and Abbots Chambers can be booked directly through the Abbots Grange web site. Beds in all rooms and suites are dressed with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to ensure a blissful nights sleep. Thick, fluffy white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries complete the en-suite bathrooms. The oldest dwelling in Broadway, Abbots Grange was built in about 1320 as the summer manor for the Abbot of Pershore. There are over 700 years of history to absorb here, perhaps while you unwind in front of the roaring log fire over afternoon tea... or by candlelight after dinner? Breakfast at Abbots Grange is a celebration of all things local. Served in the panelled dining room at the round table, you will find a mouth watering selection of fresh berries and seasonal fruits. Local sausages and smoked bacon together with Cotswold free range eggs. We offer a delicious vegetarian full English breakfast alternative, artisan baked breads and pastries from our own bakery - Huffkins - together with freshly brewed 100% Arabica coffees and loose leaf teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Abbots Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Grange Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing