We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great country experience”
Review of Abbots Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbots Grange
Ranked #3 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
2 reviews
“A great country experience”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Nestled in the picturesque town of Broadway, this B&B is an absolute gem.
The location is very quiet, yet only 3 minutes walk from town. We stayed here for 2 nights, drove around the area.
There are a lot of nice touches to the room, and our stay was very comfortable.
High recommended to those who are looking for a short get away to the country side.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    14
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
241
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
EDINBURGH
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for one night in September and I have to say it was superb. The room was lovely, with a separate wc and shower room. Very spacious, and very quiet location. Very comfortable spacious bed and nice touches around the room.

Broadway is a nice little village and we enjoyed wandering around here. There is a good choice of restaurants and bars and some good little shops, all within easy walking distance.

Back to the hotel, if you travel by car then parking is easy and secure as you need a code to get through the gate. One small niggle, a light on the keypad at the gate in the evening would have been useful - or take a torch with you as it is dark walking back up the path to the gate.

There is a super Baronial type hall in the Abbots Grange which, in the evening comes into its own. They light a super fire and the room is both cosy and comfortable.

There are nice little touches like the complimentary alcoholic or soft drinks - but just to sit and relax in this space is a joy in itself.

We slept perfectly - it was so quiet.

Breakfast is taken around a large round table which, from memory, sits about 8. The breakfast produce is both first rate quality and superbly tasty. Service is slick and friendly.

Although the surroundings of the place are welcoming and without fault, it was the staff who really made our stay. You are made to feel like part of the family as you are really staying in their home. (The family live on the premesis)

All in all we had a five star stay here and I cant wait to return one day.

I cant recommend this place highly enough - Well done to all at Abbots Grange

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCraigDrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham Ontario Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here while touring in the Cotswolds. The building is very unique, and the rooms have been decorated with care and excellent taste. Everything is beautifully maintained - including the extensive garden. The breakfast room is lovely, and the food was beautifully cooked and nicely served. Broadway is an interesting place to explore, and there is much to see in the surrounding area. If you choose to stay here, you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, CT
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

When you see so many great reviews, you have to wonder if a place can live up to your expectations. Abbots Grange most definitely exceeded our expectations. We arrived by car from London. We had been to Broadway years ago, but only briefly, so we knew that was the best location and one of the better Cotswolds towns. The Grange is down a lane just off Church Lane which is just steps off the green. The Inn itself could not be more beautiful and ancient and historic. All things we enjoy. Our room was the Millett room which has windows on three sides over looking the lawns. The linens and amenities were all 5 star. There was a coffee and tea tray in the room which we loved having. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. We went to The Swan every evening. The Cotswold way goes right through Broadway and we walked quite a bit. The great hall is wonderful to sit and have a drink with the other guests. The staff was great: coffee and tea trays in front of the fire on arrival and one afternoon after eating our take out sandwiches in the garden. There is no question that we will be back.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms. 3 are en suite. The 4th has it's bathroom across the hall but when you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

On arrival we were indeed "wowed" by the first view we had of Abbots Grange. On holiday with our American friends we felt thrilled that we had chosen just the right place for us all to stay and we weren't disappointed! A stones throw from the lovely village of Broadway but tucked away in a quiet corner it is just in the most perfect setting. The welcome we had from Stacey was very warm and we were shown around the ground floor before being taken up to our wonderful bedrooms. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The en-suite bathroom was clean and had all the necessary shampoos, conditioners, body lotions and soaps needed. The towels were very good quality. This really is a five star experience and as it was quite a chilly evening we were treated to a log fire in the Great Hall with lit candles along with the complimentary whisky, sherry or port. The atmosphere was amazing in such an old house. Breakfast saw us in a lovely panelled dining room sitting around a table with some Australian guests. It was nice to have a melange of nationalities around the one table! Breakfast was fantastic, one of the best we had on our travels around the Cotswolds. It really was very hard to leave Abbots Grange for our next destination but it wont be our last visit. We are very much looking forward to returning in the near future. We would like to thank the owners of Abbots Grange for allowing us to experience a unique bed and breakfast stay in their wonderful home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here at the weekend with some girlfriends as we were off to a wedding. We were greeted with delicious cake and tea served in their magnificent sitting room. The owners are absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. The house itself is amazing and in immaculate condition. It’s very romantic, the grounds are beautifully kept and its perfectly located in Broadway. The rooms are stunning and I had the most amazing nights sleep as the bed was sooooooo comfy. We had the smallest room but it was perfect. I will definitely be coming again and have already recommended this to lots of my friends for a romantic get-away. Thank you very much for a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I visited here with my girlfried who is from the US. I wanted to give the old england feel and this place did just the job. Nice setting, lovely building and a great hotel. You get the feeling you are a guest in someones house, so its definately more of a B&B although you don't feel you are imposing at all. The service was excellent, breakfast lovely and we had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable four poster bed. You eat breakfast at a big table with all the other guests, which some might not like but we enjoyed the conversation.

My only criticism as a regular hotel guest of this 5 star bed and breakfast would be the lack of soap in the bathroom and lack of conditioner suppied. The little things make the difference and this is the first hotel I have stayed in for years that did not supply these. Perhaps they were forgotten when the room was made up and I admit we didn't bother to ask for some, but its all about the attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Grange

Property: Abbots Grange
Address: Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbots Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lea of Broadway hill and standing in a little over eight acres of parkland grounds and gardens you will find the romantic Cotswold hideaway, Abbots Grange. Secluded, yet only 2 minutes walk from Broadway's 'picture perfect' village high street with its delightful array of independent boutique shops, restaurants and inns. This magical, award winning monastic manor has all the comforts you would expect from an AA five gold star 'highly commended' guest house. Bedrooms are equipped to a high standard with four poster beds, flat screen TVs and seating areas. Our premium accomodation, the magnificent Elizabethan Suite and Abbots Chambers can be booked directly through the Abbots Grange web site. Beds in all rooms and suites are dressed with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to ensure a blissful nights sleep. Thick, fluffy white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries complete the en-suite bathrooms. The oldest dwelling in Broadway, Abbots Grange was built in about 1320 as the summer manor for the Abbot of Pershore. There are over 700 years of history to absorb here, perhaps while you unwind in front of the roaring log fire over afternoon tea... or by candlelight after dinner? Breakfast at Abbots Grange is a celebration of all things local. Served in the panelled dining room at the round table, you will find a mouth watering selection of fresh berries and seasonal fruits. Local sausages and smoked bacon together with Cotswold free range eggs. We offer a delicious vegetarian full English breakfast alternative, artisan baked breads and pastries from our own bakery - Huffkins - together with freshly brewed 100% Arabica coffees and loose leaf teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Abbots Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Grange Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing