We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbots Grange
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hollymount(Evesham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Evesham Hotel(Evesham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
347
19
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
19
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedcomplimentary tea and cakeround tableother guestsb bcomplimentary portcentury manorafter dinner drinksprivate bathroomon arrivalroaring firebeautiful buildingbirthday surprisenight capsteeped in historyvery special placelarge table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I love stating at this fantastic hideaway this is our 3rd year of spending the Christmas Celebration weekend here, and the atmosphere in the village is lovely. Topsy and Richard are amazing hosts - and I can't wait to come back in the New Year. It's a lovely start to December, and very relaxing before the start of the Christmas madness.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiRidgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Once you get over the frustration of not being able to find this place, you're secretly grateful that no-one else can either! It's amazing how such a grand dwelling can be so hidden and yet so central to Broadway. We were met by Stacey who was delightfully friendly and efficient in describing what was where. Armed with the secret gate code, we were encouraged to treat the place as our own (very grand) country retreat. Our king-sized four-poster room had a separate bathroom just across the hall. Usually a separate bathroom would put me off, but I would encourage any guests to opt for this bedroom as it's really lovely, comfortable and spacious - as was the bathroom. Breakfast is served at a huge round table, so be prepared for a bit of small talk with other guests in the morning (unless of course you are there with friends), but the food is delicious. Whatever you opt for, leave some room for the pancakes - served warm with blueberries and maple syrup - yummy! In the evening, my partner and I had the baronial hall to ourselves. Port, sherry, whisky and soft drinks were left out for us to enjoy by candlelight in front of a roaring log fire. Those two evenings were the best chill-out I've had in ages. No TV, no computers - just gentle background music (which you could switch off if you didn't fancy that either). The only downside about this place for me, and I realise it might not bother some people, was the "eau de chien" aroma in the vestibule and the downstairs hallway, courtesy of the owners' 2 labradors. Some reviewers have denied this, and perhaps I just have an over-sensitive nose, but it was the first thing I pointed out to my partner when we walked through the front door. That aside, the whole experience was first class and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the separate bathroom with one of the king-size bedrooms. Both are lovely...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsVleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

A beautiful place to stay for a long weekend, with lovely rooms and only two minutes from the centre of Broadway. The Great Hall, log fire and complimentary drinks make a great place to relax after an evening meal out in one of the many pubs or restaurants on the high street. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. We're already planning a return visit to finish off trying all the options on the breakfast menu. Superb!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WB_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at Abbots Grange on 16th and 17th November, and also cannot recognise the place from the last review. Upon arrival we were met by Richard who served us a super afternoon tea in the great hall.
Later as our other friends arrived and settled in we realised we had failed to organise dinner in Broadway, at which point Topsy passed through and not only offered us complimentary champagne having discovered we were there to celebrate someones special birthday, but she also went to the trouble of booking us into two restaurants for Friday and Saturday evenings.

As our friends have already said ... breakfast was superb!

Now ... regarding any smell of wet dogs well thats just simply plain wrong! We are dog owners ourselves, we know wet dog smell!! - and there wasn't ANY!

This is an absolutely stunning place with extremely delightful owners, who go out of their way to make sure you are having a comfortable and enjoyable stay, plus complimentary drinks and chocs in the great hall!

Unfortunately the people from abroad who posted a poor review we never saw all weekend, and given their comments I believe they would have been better choosing an impersonal standard chain budget hotel if that's what they wanted - not Abbots Grange with its outstanding personal service!

We too will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg0andjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed at Abbots Grange on 16th and 17th November also, but don't recognise the place from the last review. We were meeting 2 sets of friends to celebrate a 50th. We were met by a pleasant host Richard who served tea in the great hall, an amazing room with an amazing tea. the owners own Huffkins, an award winning chain of teashop in the Cotswolds, so as you might imagine, the afternoon tea in front of a roaring open fire was simply delightful. We had champagne and the owners booked us in at full restaurants for both nights as we had not been organised in advance,

For breakfast we could choose anything and our needs were more than met. Ne of our party had got confused and ordered by mistake but this was very professionally managed by Topsy and a no fuss substitute delivered and it was truly sumptuous.

We actually never smelt dogs and when my dog loving husband beckoned one from his quarters the dog was so well teamed it would not go out.

The rooms and location were awesome. We have travelled the world extensively but this was truly one of the most amazing stays ever, to be in a 1300 abbots Cotswold stone manor with 5 star service and a 4 poster room that was in the centre of Broadway could not have been better. So often hotel stays are impersonal and full of extras, but here everything was truly no trouble and from robes to water, champagne, fresh fruit, afternoon tea and a fabulous breakfast and shortbread and coffee in the rooms, everything was offered without an additional charge, we even had complimentary sherry whisky and port to help ourselves to in the great hall during the evening, so we were truly pampered. If you have a group get together the great hall and circular dining is perfect.

We will be back.

Kind regards

Karen

Room Tip: The Morris room has both a king size four poster and a wet room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenlikescomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews