We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Retreat in the Cotswolds”
Review of Abbots Grange

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbots Grange
Ranked #3 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Estero, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Retreat in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Broadway is a very good base from which to explore the Cotswolds. It is easily accessed and has a wealth of dining options for your evening meal. The Abbots Grange is a beautiful property. The common areas are large, comfortable, and nicely decorated. Some of the rooms come with fireplaces and a seating area that makes them very comfortable as well as pleasing to the eye. The bathrooms are up to date and comfortable. As with many baths in Europe, the step down from the tub/shower is a big one, and this needs to be considered if you have mobility issues.
The breakfast is sumptuous with cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea, and juices. You can then order cooked items ( you actually maker your choices the night before ) from a menu, and they will be ready at the time you specify. In the afternoons, they provide tea, coffee, and baked goods that are a real treat after a day on the road.
The owners of the property do not appear the least bit interested in meeting or interacting with their guests in any way. Getting a "hello" out of the mistress of the house was about as good as any of us could do. This is more than made up for by Stacey. Stacey is a lovely young lady who acts as the face of the property. She could not have made us feel more welcome, nor could she have done anything to make us more comfortable. Without her, the chilliness of the owners would be a bit off putting. With her, you will feel happy to be there.
I would definitely stay at this property if I am ever in the area again, particularly if Stacey is still acting as the hostess.

Room Tip: All the guests with whom we spoke were happy with their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingfisher752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    14
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
247
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We could not find the entrance to Abbots Grange as it is tucked away down a drive, no evident signage from the road.

We arrived a little early with the intention of parking there and walking into Broadway, but were politely shown to our Monet room before check-in time by Stacey Weeks. The Monet room has a separate large bathroom across the hallway. Our room had a four-poster bed, desk, chest of drawers, wardrobe and comfy chairs. We had a beautiful view over the well kept gardens with tennis court and croquet lawn. I believe there is a helipad, but we had no need of that : ).

We were shown the Whiskey, Port, Sherry decanters and soft drinks, as complimentary in The Great Hall. We booked two cream teas, but one would've sufficed for the two of us. We ended up taking some to our room to eat later and as a consequence missed dinner : ), could eat no more.

The bed was very comfy and we slept well.

We had ordered our breakfast as requested the night before. The choice is extensive, usual fare. Breakfast is served in a panelled room with a large round table, set in grand style. The food was excellent.

I had booked this a a birthday treat for my husband, we stayed only one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. I have read that the owners wanted to extend their family home to others as the grange has a long history of visitors. I think this comes across very well as the staff are in-obtrusive, hardly seen, it was nice to come and go as we pleased and a sense the place was our own, if only for a day.

Room Tip: Monet Room is lovely, albeit separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlemisssunshine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigginton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our 2 night stay was a gift to my wife for a significant birthday from her daughter. Abbots Grange is totally unique, built in the 13th century (I think) for the Abbot of Pershore, The Great Hall is kept in period with a vaulted roof and a huge fireplace. (Tip. Go in winter when the fire is lit!) The room we had was fitted out with a four poster bed and a nice ensuite, all of which was complemented by the mullion windows.

The place is run by the remarkable Stacey Heeks on behalf of the owners. She is a multi-tasker par excellence and no mean cook whose breakfasts were memorable.

Abbots Grange has won a prestigious AA award for friendliness and comfort. That came as no surprise, and I would recommend Abbots Grange to anyone who appreciates comfort and perfection in a unique and quintessentially English historical setting.

Room Tip: Go for the room over the entrance hall - triple aspect, and west facing, so no sunrise to wake you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Had enormous difficulty locating the place, as it's hidden down a lane, with no clearly visible signage. Not a courteous or professional welcome. In fact, the owner was somewhat pretentious. When we remarked we'd experienced difficulty locating them, she responded "that's the way we like it." A rather bizarre way to run a business....The room was pleasant,but we didn't enjoy scampering across the hall to use the bathroom. To shower, you had to crouch in the bathtub, holding the shower head, trying not to get the tacky carpet wet. The gardens and building are delightful, as is the village. The breakfast was average, nothing wrong with it, but nothing special. Having spent 2 weeks driving from Scotland, through Wales and England, staying in magnificent old manors, all 5 star, some,with Michelin star restaurants, Abbots Grange was the least impressive. Beautiful building, delightful village, pretty room, unprofessional service and inadequate bathroom across a hall,lacking a functioning shower. Not 5 star, and over-priced a tad.

Room Tip: Don't get The Monet room, unless you're prepared to scamper across a hall,wrapped in a dress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here in May for a night and had a really enjoyable break. The discreet location offered some peace and quiet and a chance to relax, we especially enjoyed putting our feet up by the fire in the Great Hall after a night out in Broadway. Beautiful place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The property is wonderful. The great hall is a lovely room to relax in. Our room was nice (Monet). It has its bathroom opposite which was no problem to us (although you want to ensure that it can be locked from outside to ensure that you definitely have sole use). Our room was small but had everything you need(hair dryer, tea making, complimentary water). It did get extremely hot and as the room had very small leaded windows, it was hard to cool it down which unfortunately led to an unsettled sleep on our second night.
Breakfast was excellent - very good selection and the cooked options were lovely. It's a round dining table that you share with others. If you prefer to dine privately - choose the latest time. For our break - we wanted private time together so avoided the popular eating times.
The property captures a moment in time and is very well presented. The owners provide you with space however, if you need them, they are there.
It's in a perfect location for broadway.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzie7305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed at Abbots Grange for my partners birthday. We received a lovely warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The house is beautiful, very special. Its intimate, so ideal for couples. The TV in the bedroom is in an awkward place, so not possible to watch from the bed, but to be honest watching TV in such wonderful surroundings was the furthest thing from our minds. We had afternoon tea, which might be considered expensive if it hadn't taken us two afternoons to eat it. The cakes were sublime, with complimentary champagne for my chaps birthday. thank you all for our wonderful stay. we will be back. Carol. Wirral.

Room Tip: The morris room has the four poster. tasteful and romantic. spotless with beautiful views of the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Bettley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,371 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Grange

Property: Abbots Grange
Address: Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbots Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lea of Broadway hill and standing in a little over eight acres of parkland grounds and gardens you will find the romantic Cotswold hideaway, Abbots Grange. Secluded, yet only 2 minutes walk from Broadway's 'picture perfect' village high street with its delightful array of independent boutique shops, restaurants and inns. This magical, award winning monastic manor has all the comforts you would expect from an AA five gold star 'highly commended' guest house. Bedrooms are equipped to a high standard with four poster beds, flat screen TVs and seating areas. Our premium accomodation, the magnificent Elizabethan Suite and Abbots Chambers can be booked directly through the Abbots Grange web site. Beds in all rooms and suites are dressed with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to ensure a blissful nights sleep. Thick, fluffy white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries complete the en-suite bathrooms. The oldest dwelling in Broadway, Abbots Grange was built in about 1320 as the summer manor for the Abbot of Pershore. There are over 700 years of history to absorb here, perhaps while you unwind in front of the roaring log fire over afternoon tea... or by candlelight after dinner? Breakfast at Abbots Grange is a celebration of all things local. Served in the panelled dining room at the round table, you will find a mouth watering selection of fresh berries and seasonal fruits. Local sausages and smoked bacon together with Cotswold free range eggs. We offer a delicious vegetarian full English breakfast alternative, artisan baked breads and pastries from our own bakery - Huffkins - together with freshly brewed 100% Arabica coffees and loose leaf teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Abbots Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Grange Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing