We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time was too short.”
Review of CJP Cotswold Tours

CJP Cotswold Tours
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: CJP Private Hire and Cotswold Tours is a small friendly Cotswold Private Hire Company owned and operated by Chris and Ruth who are married with two daughters, Charlotte and Hannah. They run their private car hire and Cotswold touring business from just outside the picturesque Cotswold woollen market town of Chipping Campden. CJP Private Hire and Cotswold Tours was established in 2002 and has now become well recognised as being safe, professional, friendly and reliable.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Time was too short.”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

No, it wasn't CJP's fault. It's our fault. We only had half day to spend. In spite of the timing, which was a Sunday afternoon, Chris agreed to tour us. We were coming from Oxford and Tony (the associate) picked us up from the train station at noon. Upon return, we had to catch the specific train for our prior train reservation from Oxford to London that evening.

The tour lasted less than 5hours. Of course, we could not visit all the places because of our limited time but it was more than satisfying. After some very scenic places, Tony was excited to take us to a place and show us something but unfortunately, the fog was so thick that we could not see beyond 3meters from the car window. However, that was an awesome experience to me. A little spooky like in the movies.

Lots of photo opportunities and some walks. We even had the chance for a cup of coffee in one of the local shops. We never felt hurried. It's really a custom made tour.

I hope to visit Cotswolds with a longer time to spare next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Concon, Chile
1 review
“Great two days tour!!!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I took a tour with my husband to the Cotswolds on March. It was fantastic. Our guide Chris was excellent driving and giving a lot of knowledge including history, architecture and fun joking. It was a perfect trip, we really enjoyed it!
We also visited Salisbury, Stonehenge and Bath. We were a bit wary of taking a lengthy trip, but the tour really did provide the best way to see many wonderful sights during a brief stay in London. And also, as I said before, our guide Chris made the drive-time easier with a great mix of informative and humorous storytelling in his comfortable Mercedes van.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Early spring tour of the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I took my wife out of London for a few days in the countryside to take in the early spring green and a bit of fresh air. Chris was the perfect guide with a lifetime's worth of local knowledge. We saw the beautiful vistas and local chocolate box villages well off the popular routes already busy with tourists. Chris was friendly and flexible balancing time in the car with time walking around, plus plenty of time for pics. Thanks for a great day!

Helpful?
Thank irachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, exciting, informative day with Chris in October ...going again in April 2014.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A group of four friends and I took a day trip with Chris and had a wonderful time! Chris knows all about the local history and was friendly and seemed like an old friend within a few minutes. I am not checking my notes,, but my favorite places were the old churches he allowed us to visit. it was like stepping back in history. Chris was a lot of fun. We all felt we got more than our money's worth!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Affair with the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

It’s hard to imagine a more engaging, personable and knowledgeable guide to the Cotswolds than Mickleton’s energetic native son Chris Peake. Comfortable in the back of his Mercedes van, the two of us learned so much about the people and their pursuits, and the history and architecture of this fascinating area.
Plus, in our day-and-a-half with Chris, he pointed us to numerous sights, activities, and restaurants and pubs that we could explore when we were on our own. He hit the mark 100% of the time.
In citing his “finds,” Hailes historic Church and Abbey, and the stunning Stanway Hall were especially remarkable. And Chris had surprising insights at both. It’s hard to imagine really knowing the Cotswolds without seeing those two.
He helped us find the perfect hotel in Chipping Campden, and knew just where to go to become tuned into that charming town.
Chris's approach is to share personally -- from his love of the Cotswolds, from his historical expertise, and from his family. And this was just the approach my wife Eileen and I desired.
Trained journalists, as well as frequent travelers, we asked lots of questions – and got continuously good replies, or, in rare cases, honest apologies that he just didn’t know. Sure enough, later we’d get the answer, which he had looked up on his own.
He picked us up at Moreton in Marsh, where the train from London took us, and returned us to Heathrow. But he’ll adjust his tour to your needs.
If we find ourselves back in the Cotswolds with time to tour, Chris will be our guy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJP Cotswold Tours also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to CJP Cotswold Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing