We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable and wonderful Cotswold experience.”
Review of CJP Cotswold Tours

CJP Cotswold Tours
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: CJP Private Hire and Cotswold Tours is a small friendly Cotswold Private Hire Company owned and operated by Chris and Ruth who are married with two daughters, Charlotte and Hannah. They run their private car hire and Cotswold touring business from just outside the picturesque Cotswold woollen market town of Chipping Campden. CJP Private Hire and Cotswold Tours was established in 2002 and has now become well recognised as being safe, professional, friendly and reliable.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
1 review
“A memorable and wonderful Cotswold experience.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Chris is a knowledgeable, fun, and experienced guide and historian. Not only a great driver, he knows so much about the area, both historical and current, and truly brings it to life for his guests. He hit all the areas we wanted to see, and also took us to out of the way, magical places. We recommend him 100%. -- Rob and Jim

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank robandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Valley City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cotswolds”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My friends and I spent the day in the villages of the Cotswolds with Chris. Since two of us had been on a tour with him in October 2012, we felt as though we were visiting an old friend. Chris knows so much about the area and the villages and churches. His tour is not only entertaining, it is also educational. We were able to visit several villages and have enough time to walk around and enjoy ourselves. We saw the spring lambs frolicking in the fields and the amazingly beautiful hills and vales surrounding us. I would recommend this tour for anyone who is interested in visiting this remarkable district in beautiful England.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bountiful, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The half day tour with Chris was a highlight of our trip to England. His knowledge of this beautiful countryside and charming villages was outstanding. Lunch at traditional country restaurant, browsing the boutiques, ice cream treat, all at a leisurely pace. Van provided comfortable space for six of us in our group. It was a perfect day. Would love to go back and explore more with Chris as our private guide.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
“A Wonderful Day in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just arrived home from our trip to England and Europe and a definite highlight was our day long Cotswold tour with Chris. Chris was a fountain of knowledge of the area and we gleaned insights we would never have had if we toured on our own. The whole experience was superb. On time, the vehicle was spotless, and Chris even helped out when my niece needed to return to our accommodations unexpectedly. Chris made our one day stop in the Cotswolds one of our most memorable days of the trip. We would highly recommend him and CJP Cotswold Private Tours to friends and family without hesitation. Thanks Chris.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wallabee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely magical experience!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We just returned from a two week visit to the UK. While planning for our visit, I knew nothing about the Cotswolds, only that a friend suggested we MUST visit there. My research led me to CJP Private Hire and Cotswold Tours. I initially dealt with Chris by email (and had the great pleasure of meeting him in person), but since he was booked he suggested we tour with Tony. I was so impressed with our initial dealings and the positive reviews that we booked not one, but two full day tours, the second to Stratford Upon Avon & Warwick Castle. Best decision we could have made. First let me speak to the logistics. On both days we were picked up (and returned to) at our hotel in London, on time, in a comfortable, spacious, well kept Mercedes van which accommodated our family of five luxuriously. Tony met us with a warm handshake and a genuine smile. Tony is an excellent driver and well informed with all things British. The advantage of a private tour is that you make the day your own. The advantage of touring with these gentlemen is that you are not only told of the history and specifics of your destination, but your day is also filled with fun facts and humorous stories. You will definitely not be experiencing a “cookie-cutter” tour. And the suggestions for lunch stops was spot-on both times. The only downside is that a day is not enough time to see or do it all. I suppose it would take a lifetime to fully explore the Cotswold's and other fabulous areas of Great Britain, but you will experience the best there is to offer in the time you have. My only suggestion would be that Afternoon Tea and scones were provided on the drive back. On second thought, if they did that, we NEVER would have left them!! Thank you CJ Tours (Tony and Chris) for the magical experiences and the wonderful memories.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishWannabees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJP Cotswold Tours also viewed

Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
Moreton-in-Marsh, Cotswolds
 

Been to CJP Cotswold Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing