We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant atmosphere good food”

Horse & Hounds Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 39 Restaurants in Broadway
Price range: US$13 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The horse & hound is a beautiful cotswold stone building set in the delightful village of Broadway. Diners can enjoy all home cooked food served in the bar or more formal dining room with 2 log burning stoves.
Dullstroom, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere good food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here after being turned away from The Mount Inn at Stanton as the kitchen had closed! The kitchen here closes at 3pm, and the staff are very helpful and accommodating. The light lunches we had were good, and the service great. We sat outside, not much of a view but neat tables and umbrellas.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bestofspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    100
    28
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Just a quick coffee stop”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It still feels like sacrilege to use an inn for just a coffee, but, on a pouring wet day, with a dog, this was an oasis.

Cheerful friendly staff, very good coffee, reasonable price and a welcome for the dog. Just right!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stopped off for lunch and we weren't disappointed. Great service at a good price. Would definitely recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kartingkermie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Oh dear! How you let Broadway down.”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I am live in the vicinity of Broadway and frequent pubs and hotels there on a regular basis. Last Sunday, myself and a couple of friends called into the Horse and Hounds basically for a drink, but a friend decided to have something to eat.

First of all, the inside is very tired looking. I doubt the place has seen a lick of paint for years! The carpet is old and in need of replacing. Basically, it is very tired looking. A rning perhaps of what wass to come?

As I said, a friend ordered a simple bite, a Club Sandwich, costing in excess of £8.00. When it arrived, we were all astounded at its general appearance and lack of appeal. Plain, package bread used, oven french fries. Apparantly, it tasted as it appeared, bland.

My friend complained, but as we found out by the time we had left 45 minutes later, his complaint had not reached the manager who was upstairs!

When considering you can have a lovely Sunday lunch locally elsewhere for a few pennies more, I am amazed people eat there. Thankfully, only one of us ate there and therefore it was not a major issue, but come on! The owners/proprietors really need to look at the standards of decor and food quality.

My advice to anyone thinking of going, look elsewhere as there is much nicer places to eat and drink in this lovely village

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnieAndBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little over priced but nice food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The food is generally nice but can be over priced and portion sizes can be small.
It is a very relaxed atmosphere a typical country pub

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meg9181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse & Hounds Restaurant also viewed

 
Broadway, Cotswolds
 

Been to Horse & Hounds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing