We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in beautiful Broadway”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My partner and I had a one-night stay here last weekend, our 3rd visit to Broadway but first to this hotel. We were given the Jodami room, which (despite being a bit of a trek round the back of the hotel) was lovely - almost felt like being in a little apartment as its front door opened straight onto the pretty garden. We ate at the hotel after finding that our favourite Broadway eatery (The Swan) was fully booked. Dinner was excellent and our waitress very friendly and efficient, happily going to ask the chef a question about one of the dishes for me. Our bed wasn't terribly comfortable, and the fabulously powerful shower was impossible to use without soaking the (very nice) bathroom, but those would be my only minor gripes. Breakfast was wonderful. The hotel's location is perfect and I would happily stay here again on any future trips to very special Broadway.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for The Broadway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

788 - 794 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2011

We were a little dubious about what to expect after having read some of last year's reviews, but were very happy with our 2 day stay here. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we felt very well looked after. The evening meal in the restaurant was well cooked, with huge portions,but the highlight was the to die for chocolate puddings!! All in all very good value for money and highly recommended.

Room Tip: wifi is BT openzone so not totally free
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellebee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This hotel is right in the centre of broadway which is a beautiful area. The hotel was very pretty but the room we stayed in could do with a freshen up as it did look quite tired. The bathroom was nice with lots of molten brown toiletries. We had dinner at the hotel which was very nice and the service was good. Also a good breakfast with plenty of choice. I think this hotel is due a refurbishment but it does have plenty of cotswold charm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhianSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed here for Cheltenham Festival week, most guests, if not all were there for the same reason., so great atmosphere around the place.

Second year running, and this stay was even better than the last, the new manager seems to have polished things up a little, so service was excellent without being at all stuffy.

Ate in the restaurant four nights running and the menu was subtly changed daily, every meal was very good with good, freindly service. Breakfast also a winner.

Lovely views over the garden and church from our room, and the room had everthing we needed. I'm sure if it hadn't the staff would have got it for us. Overall a great little place to stay, have already booked the same room for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

booked room 19 dog friendly only to find the room had been douched with febreze which started to trigger my asthma. I spoke to the staff who were only to pleased to relocate us, breakfast was lovely we really enjoyed!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

From the first contact (thanks Claire at receprtion) to paying my bill (thanks Denise at reception) staying at this hotel was a pleasure, despite lousy English February weather. The room was as good as many in other hotels with much higher star ratings, and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful.
If you have special dietary requirements, I can recommend eating here. Nothing was too much trouble for the Head Chef, who called my room before I went down for dinner to ensure that he would be able to cater adequately for the requirements I had listed. I found the food excellent (I am NOT the one with special requirements) and the special requests were absoljutely spot - on! I am really glad I ignored peopreviews that have slated this hotel's food - you can't believe everything you read and I would have missed out on a treat.
This hotel was pretty, comfortable and warm, while the staff were fastidious in their service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We were given two nights accomodation, breakfast and dinner one night as a wedding present. We went in February 2010 and had a Fawlty Towers experience. The room was lovely but the rest! Heating couldnt be turned down; food was mediocre at best; service was very poor, breakfast took an hour to arrive/ the nreakfast buffet was sparse; they tried to serve us warm white wine (bottle wasnt even opened for us!); Pet Shop Boys blared out in the restaurant at every meal. We had a real giggle because it was so bad but for £380 we expected more.
We aren't the types to complain, but given the number of things that were so wrong, and given that it was a wedding present we did write a letter of complaint. We got a letter back from the manager, who apologised and acknowledged there had been 'issues' when we stayed in February 2010. He offered us a complimentary night and dinner at a time to suit us.

So in February 2011 we returned with our sense of humourpacked ready for take 2!

The place has been turned around. We received a warm welcome, dinner was lovely - they must have a new chef, service was very friendly, the wine was superb and chilled, the heating in the rooms could be turned down, the glasses were clean, the music in the restaurant was appropriate, breakfast was lovely - all in all the second time round it was exactly what we were expecting.

So yes you will read (older) reviews that say the hotel is dreadful - and it certainly was the first time we went. But they have really turned things around and we would now recommend The Broadway for a romantic break. Thank you to Peter the manager who ackonowledged there had been issues first time around and offering us a complimentary night and dinner - he did put things right for us!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Craig_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
710 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £119 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing