We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we wont be back”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we wont be back”
Reviewed 29 August 2011

we went for an evening meal here the service wasn't bad but the food was awful and expensive. The menu said liver ,mash and onion gravy. The gravy had never seen an onion let alone taste of it.The meal consisted of mash potatoes and 3 strips of liver if you wanted greens with this you could have for £2.00 extra on top of the £11.00 already charged. Would not advise anyone to go there for a meal. Very poor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank plonker200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    251
    77
    32
    23
See reviews for
110
479
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the master oats room which was a junior suite, very nice room. Molton brown products well received! Broadway is a beautiful village, we would recommend the broadway tower 4 mile walk.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lamby888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had a three night stay, including dinner, in a superior room. The standard and comfort of the room was good with a lovely view of the hotel garden and the church. Luxurious Molton Brown toiletries are a nice touch. Only facility lacking in the room was a fridge/mini bar. Hotel ideally placed for Cotswolds stay and the village is beautiful. We had a small issue concerning the length of time we had to wait for our meal on one evening but this was resolved by the manager with no fuss, therefore we'd be happy to choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottersLAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I don't want to sound too negative because the hotel itself is pleasant and the staff are friendly.
Our room was was a nice size and comfortable, the only annoying thing was the bathroom extractor fan which rattled and was noisy. This was easy to ignore in the daytime but if you used the bathroom in the night, the fan comes on when you switch on the light and it continues to whir for ages after, keeping you awake.
The main downside of the hotel is the food and service, the evening meal was very poor. The raisin amuse bouche was disgusting, the beetroot starter was tasteless and unappetising to look at, I was asked if it was OK for my duck to be pink, I said, "yes", but it couldn't have been more well done ! My partners sea bass was dry and overcooked, her potatoes were undercooked....I could go on, suffice to say, it wasn't good.
Toast the next morning was like warm, slightly browned bread.
The staff are friendly enough but they don't clear empty plates anywhere near quickly enough. At breakfast, we ate the whole meal, stacked our finished plates and bowls to make room and left at the end without any dishes being removed ! The staff walk by often enough, they just seem oblivious to the fact that tables need clearing.
We were due 2 glasses of Prosecco with our package, these came about half hour after we asked for them at 8pm. I would have thought they would be offered without having to ask !
Finally, the plastic chairs and tables outside the front of the hotel let it down badly.
If I could score the two seperately, I would give the hotel 4 stars and the food/service 2 stars.
I hope they improve these aspects because it's a charming hotel in a lovely village and with nice staff, ( they just need some training ), not sure about the chef though !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Our family of 6 stayed in 2 rooms at this charming hotel on the "village green" in the darling town of Broadway. I loved it right away that they could accommodate our 4 kids in one large room with cots. The staff were so friendly and welcoming to us, and we loved our cozy rooms, the good, casual food we had at the bar, and the location -- the kids played American football both on the green in front and in the beautiful back garden. The English breakfast was also delicious, our kids were very pleased with it. We also had a great pub meal around the corner at the Crown and Trumpet, and a great invigorating hike up to the Broadway Tower. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid91011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We have stayed at the Broadway Hotel many times over this past year. This hotel is part of a small chain of hotels in the Cotswolds and the Broadway is in our opinion the nicest of them all. The hotel is ideally located in the village, there are some lovely shops, restaurants and pubs to frequent. The village is very pretty and is in a really good location to explore lots of the other beautiful Cotswolds villages and the nicer towns which are nearby. We have found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The staff are really friendly and go out of there way to make sure you have a good stay. There are some really nice places to eat (restaurants and pubs) so you are spoilt for choice, but I have to say that when we have had dinner at the hotel it's been very good and the breakfasts are excellent. They offer some terrific deals on their website which have always proven to be of super value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZEBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Broadway is a lovely village and the Broadway Hotel is perfect for exploring the area.The staff are helpful and friendly and our room," Desert Orchid," was immaculate.The Hotel is set back from the village green and they also have a car park and gardens at the back .The Swan Hotel has good food as does Russells across the road from The Broadway.The Crown and Trumpet is a local pub with good pub grub and live jazz on Thursday evenings, you need to book a table.A walk to the Tower is a must although it is quite a climb,the views from top are amazing!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raphiel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,326 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing