We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We escaped for a couple of days while having some work done at home. We were last staying in this Hotel earlier in the year, the inside refurbishment had been completed but not the outside. The outside patio is now really lovely. We had Room 20, a junior suite on a very good offer for two days and this room is perfect, especially when we had our little dog with us and an outside door nearby.

The food in restaurant is now very good. All the staff are very friendly, even offering us chocolates on their night off!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    258
    78
    32
    24
See reviews for
111
493
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Booked a special Autumn deal, and then another Bond special for the same weekend, so different rooms. We were delighted to receive email confirmation of the Abbots room (possibly best in the hotel) for the Sunday, only to be rung the next day by the hotel to say they had double booked the room (well after we had received our email confirmation). Saturday night in room 5, right over the newly positioned bar was terrible - why on earth did we get that room when the hotel was not full and they know that they have noise problems after the refurbishment. The group now charge a hefty Saturday night supplement for their special offers which only added to our misery on the noisiest night of the week. We were also told our dinner booking was 7pm on arrival, when we had email confirmation that it was 7.30pm. A minor niggle, but having planned our evening around the champagne with the deal we had to re-group. The restaurant was not full and they could easily have accommodated us at our booked time. We were made to feel in the wrong - not good customer service.
The staff should be given a simple piece of training advice - honesty is the best policy. A genuine apology goes a long way, but the general air of indifference and shoddy customer service really is beginning to let this group down.
In the restaurant, the service was patchy - again, lack of attention to detail and making sure that all tables are being well looked after. The restaurant wasn't full.
There is clearly an ongoing problem with some of the showers - some of which are not fit for purpose. These things can be fixed.
We have recommended many people to this hotel group over the years, and it is sad to see that these things are now making us think twice about booking or making a recommendation. You do get repeat business, so it's not good enough to work on the assumption that you don't need to service that part of your market.
We would visit far more frequently if you didn't slap on those Saturday supplements.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 near bar, and those near the extractor fan for the kitchen - book by phone, not on line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoppyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was our second visit to the Broadway hotel - and the standard of service and hospitality are as good as ever. They have had a major refurbishment since our visit in 2011 which always strikes fear as you think it will have spoilt it - however, this hotel is better than ever! The rooms are lovely, named after racehorses. The Tattersalls restaurant which is new is on the site of the old courtyard, the food and wine were excellent and the service was really good. If you fancy bar meals, the pub diner is good also. A great place to spend a lovely Autumn break in front of their roaring fire - and a great bonus if you go for the Autumn package is half a bottle of champers when you arrive! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone. PS The teddy in your room is lovely too and you can buy a mini replica in reception which I did!!

Room Tip: If you dont want one of the rooms in the original part of the building, ask as they are quite low ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in the broadway hotel for one night on an autumn break basis. The room, evening meal and breakfast were all up to a high standard. The hotel is full of character as is the village itself. The one blemish for us in room 10 at the rear of the hotel, was the noise from may be the hotels boiler that sounded like a distant aproaching train that never arrived, however we slept well and had a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LincolnshireGarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipping campden
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We live 5 miles from here but had never tried a Sunday lunch there and we are so so glad we did today! Tattersalls Restaurant was really buzzing with every table taken (glad we had booked) and an excellent 2 or 3 course meal on offer.

All the staff were very attentive and pleasant and the presentation of our meal was beautiful.

The only negative - sorry - was that it would be better if the staff didn't squirt the tables as soon as diners left, hygienic though this was!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We three just called in for lunch. We were shown into a stylish modern Tattersalls restaurant, light and spacious but blending so well into the old building. Excellent menu, plus a 2 or 3 course lunchtime special which suited us. Very pleasant attentive and helpful staff, recommending a bitter from Wickwar (?) Brewery. I chose the braised shoulder of lamb, which melted in the mouth. My friends had the cod crusted with parmesan, and a request for fries instead of mash was no problem resulting in golden chunky hand-cut chips. My sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever tasted and my friends request for "just icecream" turned up as a work of art, with redcurrants, a strawberry, a huge blackberry and the dish scrolled with caramel sauce. We all agreed this was the best lunchtime dining experience for us in a long time. Give it a try !!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, wish we had been staying 2 nights. Staff are welcoming,helpful and friendly especially in the restaurant . The room was small but had every amenity and was very clean. The champagne on arrival was a welcome treat. The public rooms are stylish and modern but blend in beautifully with the old building. The bar is cosy and has a log fire, drinks not too pricey , compared favourably to local pub. The restaurant was very good, presentaton and food of a high standard. Breakfast was particularly good. Broadway is a pretty place and worth a visit. Hope to go back soon and will be booking a room at The Broadway.
(only minor criticism is that the bed seemed to be past it's sell by date, comfy enough but wobbly and creaky )

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,194 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,352 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing