We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food- shame about staff!”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fab food- shame about staff!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Im fairly local to Broadway and visited on Friday the 1st of feb for an evening meal. Originally went to The Swan but there was a long wait for a table so went to the Broadway Hotel. On arrival we went to the nearest point which happened to be the hotel reception desk as there were no restaurant staff visible. The woman we spoke to gave the impression we were a hindrance to her, she looked the 3 of us up & down and told us she'd go and speak to someone in the restaurant. We followed and were then approached by the same lady and a man who appeared to be restaurant manager. He looked at us as if we were something he stepped in & despite us already saying we were there for an evening meal, suggested we looked at a menu before entering the restaurant and suggested we sat in the bar. Eventually he listened to us and took us into the (empty!) restaurant. He remained rude and extremely arrogant throughout our stay especially when diners more to his standards arrived. We were then left with dessert menus for 15 minutes and the bill for another 15 minutes. The food was by all means fabulous but the attitude of this man ruined the entire experience! We were also served by a lady who seemed pleasant enough and a young lad who was lovely.
Real shame that someone felt it necessary to treat us as he did- surely our money is as good as any others? In retrospect I'd have rather waited the 1.5 hours at The Swan!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank MrsJones289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    252
    77
    32
    23
See reviews for
111
479
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on Friday 1st Feb. We had a Cotswold voucher as a Christmas gift and Decided to stay at the Broadway. We arrived early in Boadway early and asked if we could park the car in the hotel even though check in time was at 3pm. The receptionist was lovely ! She said our room was actually ready and showed the restaurant, lounge and bar. She then took us to our room, she was really friendly and welcoming.

Our room was a junior suite which was nicely decorated and in keeping with the cosy feel of the hotel.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was excellent as was the service. The waiters were very friendly and relaxed. Breakfast the next day was equally good with a good selection.

Lovely hotel we would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Love this chain of hotels!! I have stayed a few of them now and visited all but one for a drink. The room at this hotel was a standard room, very small and dated but the public areas of the hotel are fabulous. I love the bar area and the restaurant. We ate in the restaurant and the food was some of the best I have EVER tasted. The staff were helpful and the hotel is right in the centre of the village. I recommend a drive through to Stanton, its a lovely village to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aznotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Upon arrival everything fine, shown into our second floor room, a little small but well presented & clean. However the room was cold [it was about 0 degrees centigrade outside]. The radiator was on but it was only warm although turned up to the maximum. Similar story in bathroom. Eventually found a supplementary electric heater and problem solved, at least for the bedroom! The staff at reception failed to mention this at check in.
The restaurant in the evening was a very pleasant experience & the food very good. Excellent breakfast next morning.
Upon return next day we were informed that the restaurant would be closed that evening due to the failure of the heating & we would be dining in the bar. Whilst the bar area is not unpleasant, I do object to paying restaurant prices to eat in the bar, the ambience is very different & the tables much closer together. The staff were not at all apologetic about this & in some cases quite bullish. There was no gesture of compensation. The menu that night was the same as last night [their January menu] & the food & its presentation was not as good as on the first night, perhaps a different chief. I think had we stayed three nights we would have a problem.
In summary, I do expect to be warm in a hotel room, so if visiting in the winter it may be advisable to check with reception that a heater is available in the room.

7/10 Could do better !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trullo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This was our third stay at a Costwold Inns and Hotel establishment and again we had a wonderful stay. We stayed for three nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal, which was excellent value. We had a great room (Arkle - a junior suite) which was beautifully decorated and very spacious with seating (including a window seat in the beautiful mullioned front window overlooking the very pretty village green), a large very comfy bed and some lovely pieces of antique furniture, the bathroom came complete with Moulton Brown toiletries. The staff were lovely too - all very friendly and helpful. The recently refurbished bar is amazing with the most fabulous wallpaper. The bar staff also make a mean Cosmopolitan! We ate two nights in the restaurant,, which again we understood to be recently (and beautifully) constructed, This is very contemporary room and the food was really good. The third night we ate in the bar by a big open fire and again the food was good. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of either hot orcold food. The refurbishment of this obviously very old building has been done so sympathetically and the modern elements just enhance the original parts. Thank you to everyone at the hotel!

Room Tip: Would certainly recommend Arkle, but might be noisier in the Summer as it is right at the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harr0gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Had an overnight weekend stay. Comfortable hotel, refurbished restaurant and bar area great. Good service overall - breakfast a bit chaotic. Food ok. We had a good deal, but I wouldn't want to pay their standard price.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed on saturday night for one night - dinner bed and breakfast. From the moment I booked till the time we left - the service was excellent and well above expectations. We were allocated a superior room (Desert Orchid) and it was really beautiful. When we walked in, the room took our breath away - tasteful, elegant new decor, romantic, clean and tidy. The food in the restaurant was delicious with brilliant service and choice (Dave was excellent). Tattersalls restaurant is contemporary, atmospheric and beautifully designed. We have stayed at other hotels in Broadway and this is by far the best in the area. Thoroughly recommend it and will definitely be back as well as tempted now to visit the other small hotels in their group. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
624 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,023 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing