We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, but.....”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Broadway Hotel for the Cheltenham Gold Cup. The hotel is lovely and the rooms very comfortable. They can vary in size though; we booked 2 rooms of the same type and there was a huge difference.
We arrived on Friday morning and tried to enter the car park but thee was no room to park, the receptionist was quite frosty on the intercom and told us we'd have to park elsewhere which we eventually did, the result of which wasa £50 parking fine as we had to leave the car in a short stay while we went to the races.
Once in the hotel things improved and we were greeted by a lovely bar man who remebered us from a previous visit, we then enjoyed a bottle of champagne in the bar which is a lovely venue.
In the evening we had booked dinner for 4 but one of the party was ill so we mentioned this to the restaurant manager (?) who replied 'you're paying for it anyway' which I thought was a bit off to say the least. We asked him for some water to which he replied 'natural or mineral?' we asked what was the difference and he looked at us like we'd arrived from a different planet. In the wrong job perhaps??
We did have a really nice waiter looking after us which made us for the shortcomings of the previous operative.
We ordered steaks (rare) for the main course which in my opinion was raw and cold. At this point I couldn't be bothered to send it back.
The breakfast however was very good and we had our same lovely waiter who asked if we wanted our coffee 'natural or mineral' which was very funny.
Having said all that I would recommend the hotel and would certainly stay again, it's a lovely hotel in a great location, just a shame about the few things that stick in your mind afterwards.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01022010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just got back from staying two nights at the Broadway Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location and we enjoyed our break. Food was very well presented and tasty. Breakfast was a feast in itself. Stayed in a double room which was spacious and clean. The log fires made for a cosy atmosphere. Would recommend for a short break in the Cotswolds, with plenty of other villages within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bb6040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just returned from our fifth time staying at this lovely hotel for Cheltenham festival week. Despite being an extremely busy time, food, service and overall experience very good.
Ate in the restaurant four nights, all food very good with several choices, we did not choose the same thing twice, similarly good at breakfast.
Nice bar area where the bar staff are all great and unexpectedly for a cosy Cotswold hotel make fantastic cocktails:)
Thankyou to every member of the team as they really make the hotel. Have already booked for next year. Gets better and better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Lovely old style building with a lot of character, decorated tastefully throughout. Slight issue on arrival with no clear signage as to how to enter the hotel. Had to pay in a nearby car park, got very wet running into the hotel to ask the receptionists how to enter. The car parking at the rear rather inadequate for the number of guests, but fortunately, this was not an issue for us. The room we had was snug and cosy, very clean and again tastefully decorated. The reception staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Tattersalls Restaurant was modern, light and very pleasant. A special mention to Ben, the young, hardworking and very professional waiter who was very friendly, accommodating and keen to ensure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was very good with a variety of cereals, fruit, juices and pastries on offer from the buffet, followed by a choice of cooked breakfast. Dinner, however, the previous evening, was not as good with meals not particularly well cooked and a creme brulee which was more like thin custard. Broadway village is very pretty, lined with speciality shops, cafes and galleries, as well as a small museum off the main street which was not open the day we visited. Altogether, a very pleasant weekend stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLovetoTravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We recently stayed for one night at the hotel. The hotel is a tradtional old style property with great character in a popular tourist destination. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable, although directly outside our door was a ladies toilet, presumably used during functions or weddings.
Fortunately neither were on when we stayed or it would have been extremely disturbing.
The brasserie restaurant is quite good, but like so many nowadays is very "chefy", and tries too hard without the resources.
Breakfast is very poor. The cold buffet is adequate, but nothing special, however, the cooked breakfast was unacceptable at these rates.
One mushroom, overcooked and cold scrambled egg, one rasher of bacon. We asked for the bacon to be crisp, which did not happen, and, as the staff did not seem to be coping too well we did not complain.
The hotel charges a room rate based on location and character, rather than service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanlecoyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Lovely hotel and conservatory where lunch was served was very nice. Sunday lunch wasn't that great except for the chocolate tart for desert. Roast beef meal was nice but gravy was thin and greasy which spoilt it. Lamb meal also nice but gravy was what can only be described as creamy and again spoilt it. Vegetarian option was pasta which was lovely but a choice of meal would have been good especially in a hotel of this kind.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jaycex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Having eaten at the Broadway Hotel on and off for over 25 years we were very impressed with the refurbishment - the restaurant has a nice atmosphere and is modern and fresh. We went with another couple for a pre Christmas lunch and had a great time. The menu options were good : I decided on the lamb which for my taste was perfectly cooked; 2 decided on fillet of plaice with a salmon mousse and 1 had the smoked haddock and pea risotto. For dessert we had a couple of meringues and a couple of creme brulee. We all thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melon7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
6.5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £98 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing