We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic break”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We always go here on special occasions its a lovely hotel with great food and in a beautiful village.
The rooms are very comfortable and our evening meal was delicious, I loved the roaring fire in the bar area a lovely place to sit in the winter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairy989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for 1 night Sunday 24th November as a couple having booked on impulse the evening before as we both had the Monday off work and fancied a treat. Booked the Autumn special on-line which was £150 for the room, dinner (contribution £28 per head), and breakfast as well as a half bottle of champagne chilled on ice in the room. Having stayed at a couple of other hotels in the Cotswold inns hotel chain we felt the rate good value for money on booking.

We were upgraded to a superior room on arrival which was very nice of the reception staff. The room was large, with nice furniture and fittings. The bathroom could perhaps be modernised a little but was spotless and clean with lovely Molten Brown products to use.

We arrived around 1.30pm and had lunch in the Sitting Room. A roaring log fire, 5 spaciously spaced tables and a real sumptuous and cosy feel. You order your food at the main bar, which also had decent seating and a fire. The sandwiches we ordered were very fresh with decent fillings and came nice and quickly.

After a lovely afternoon looking around the shops and galleries' of Broadway we returned to the hotel and enjoyed the in room champagne before freshening up with the Molten Brown and heading down for dinner.

The restaurant manager was a lovely welsh lady whose balance of friendliness and professionalism was absolutely perfect. The waitresses who served us were also very good. This excellent service was complimented by outstanding food. We didn't try and keep to the £28pp contribution and ordered the following (Duck/Fillet Steak/Cheese) (Scallops/Sea Bass/Chocolate Fondant). We also ordered some good accompanying wines from the reasonable wine list. The Broadway Hotel is officially a 3 star hotel but the food was akin to a 5 star Hotel or 2 Michelin star restaurant. I can honestly say having been lucky enough to dine in these type of places, the food at The Broadway matched if not bettered them. Breakfast the following morning was just as good. They could perhaps consider adding a couple of higher end vintage wines to match the quality food, however the wines they do offer are perfectly decent and honestly priced for a hotel.

On checking out there was a really small issue as the wrong rate had been applied to our bill meaning it was around £56 higher than it should have been. The receptionist noticed it as was handing it to us, apologised, immediately amended the discrepancy and asked us about our stay. This is the sort of service that again makes a real difference. Everyone can make mistakes but it is the efficiency of dealing with them that is key. Spot on.

We will definitely return and would not be at all surprised to see 4 stars on the outside next time. The offering at The Broadway more than matches this rating in my opinion.

Room Tip: If available I would suggest the £150 DBB rate, as it really is incredible value for money - I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mount_of_Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very nice hotel, room decor very good, warm and welcoming. Good selection of items in the room, biscuits, hot chocolate, tea and coffee. Bathroom good size. Very clean. Choice of locations to eat, offering varied prices. Good choice of wines. I love the pictures on the walls throughout the hotel, the fox hounds, sheep and horses are brilliant. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A return visit,after three or four years, proved to be a very pleasant surprise. We remembered it as comfortable previously but the triumph was in the culinary prowess and excellent service which ensured that the exceptional food arrived on the table not only hot,but still beautifully presented something which is all too rare these days.in our view the food could certainly hold it's own with many established starred kitchens. Eric Woger, the headchef of the Brasserie, is to be congratulated on his expertise. We would recommend a visit to this hotel for the dinning alone but equally everything is thought about for your comfort in the bedrooms. We shall be back,!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel overlooking the garden but preferably not on the top floor as the stair treads are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chr C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room wasn't huge but was very comfortable and perfectly adequate. It's a lovely old English hotel full of history the bar area is full of character and atmosphere. We had dinner in the Tattersalls Brasserie, the food was exceptional with great service. Breakfast was no less impressive. The service throughout the hotel is first class.

As we left we were already talking about a return visit, only regret is we didn't stay for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHandS-Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed last year in a Double room - 24. This year we booked 2 weeks ahead, but only Superior Double left at the following rate; 1st night - £180.00 and the 2nd night - £165.00. As we particularly like Broadway, we took that room. Sadly, this was a great disappointment. It was room 25, looking directly over the car park. I would say the Double room was far better value for money and in better condition at the time of staying.
Room 25 was shabby. Curtains fraying, bed cover grubby, poorly maintained bathroom with antiquated plumbing. We were unable to regulate radiators and nobody to help. So it was very hot in room. Poor supply of bottled water, especially as a notice in bathroom advised not to drink tap water! The coffee was nasty ( I bought some in Broadway). Bed side lighting was inadequate. The TV remote control I cleaned with a medicated hand wipe as it was unhygienic. The old brown furniture was awful. Even drawer liners would help. The safe was on the floor at the back of the cupboard. Ideally the whole room needs a complete refit. Hugely over priced.
We had breakfast on both mornings, which was very good and slightly made up for the poor room.
We did speak to 2 members of staff about some of the problems and they empathised.
Not sure about staying again as this last experience was spoilt because of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

From the moment of booking until the moment we checked out we were treated as if we were the only guests in the hotel, even though the hotel was full. Andrew the Manager together with Allen from the restaurant seemed to be there on every shift, making us wonder if they ever slept!
Having worked in hospitality for the last 20 years myself, my profession has made me personally critical with every hotel I've ever stayed in, and I am delighted to honestly say I found this Hotel faultless from the Housekeeping team,waiting staff, Reception staff, Management Team and of course the most amazing food from Head Chef and his Brigade nothing was too much trouble - no matter how busy they were, and even if we was kept waiting for a minute the first thing any member of staff did was to apologise. As for my husband who travels all over the world, said he had never ever tasted a Lemon Meringue Pie like it in the world!!. Chef even made me a Diane Sauce which wasn't even on the menu, just for me, and it was divine, thank you.
We stayed in a Junior Suite, it wasn't the largest of rooms, however it was extremely clean, the sign of a good house-keeping team, it was a lovely room with a good brand of biscuits and plenty of milk 'pots' thank goodness - a failure in many hotels, it was also had a copious amount of Molton Brown products.

Finally I have never upon check-out,booked to return, something we most certainly did, in a few weeks, and we can't wait.

I would like to thank you Andrew and all the Team for making our stay to memorable, and we both look forward to seeing you on the 6th December. x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
785 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,443 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,084 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £103 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing