We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely looking hotel, shame about the Restaurant and service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely looking hotel, shame about the Restaurant and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Bank holiday Lunch, We came in late for Lunch and ordered two fillet steaks along with three other dishes which we asked to be cooked as medium, they came with not an inch of pink in them and so we sent them back. we were then told that they were cooked properly and that we didnt know what medium should look like, not even a sorry just a scathing disinterest. we then were told there was only one fillet left so I had to have a sirloin which I we asked for medium rare, it came out after 25 minuets by which time the rest of our table had finished and again was cooked well done, but I decided not to send it back as I was hungry,. My friend had a fillet and it was a really ropey piece of meat which was supposedly 32 day aged but looked more like 32 days left to fester was full of gristle and veins and over cooked again. He could not eat it and decided not to order a further steak. The chips were not cooked well, and the sauce which was £2 extra!!! crazy at £25 for the steak! was watery and tasteless, and generally it seemed the Chef took no pride in what was being served.

The chef may have been hard pushed on a busy bank holiday but the service was equally appalling, the disinterested and rather arrogant waitress and waiter had very little time for our complaints and chose to suggest it was us not knowing what we were talking about. the service was un attentive and unpolished, over familiar and generally very bad. The lady and gentleman who were seemingly running the restaurant obviously would have rather been anywhere on earth other than the restaurant which showed. After all of this we were charged £2 for each of the sauces that we were served for the steaks we didn't eat.

when we left the waiter and waitress strategically disappeared and in the same way that we were not greeted when arriving we were also not bid farewell, The restaurant was pretty empty at this point and we didn't leave quickly!

really disappointing experience,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank astateofmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    237
    74
    31
    24
See reviews for
102
459
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to the Broadway hotel on a Spring Break which included Dinner on both nights.
The occasion was my wife's birthday
We were allocated a room overlooking the garden, both the room and the garden were lovely, and we were pleased with the location.
We ate in the Restaurant the first night and were very impressed with the menu that was available for our meal deal. Breakfast the next morning was fabulous, with a massive selection of both cold and cooked food.
The second night we ate in the Bar and the menu was again really extensive and delicious.
Broadway is a beautiful place to stay, and the weather was perfect for the whole of our stay.
All in all a lovely Birthday Break.

Room Tip: On booking ask for a larger standard room , some of the standard rooms are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great informal dinner in the drawing room, nice wood fire, good menu with nicely cooked and presented food, very reasonably priced , friendly professional staff.
A very comfortable place for either a meal of just drinks with friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Couldn't really fault this hotel, we only stayed the one night but was very impressed by atmosphere of the hotel and the friendliness and the helpfulness of all the staff. Room tastefully decorated and beds comfortable to sleep in. Very tasty breakfast hot and fresh.
This hotel is perfectly situated for all the Cotswolds places to visit, it's not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeblag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the the Broadway Hotel last weekend (10th May) for two nights. The staff in all areas of the hotel were professional and very friendly nothing was ever a problem for them anything you asked for they provided if they could. We stayed in Room 25 (Best Mate) and it was lovely we overlooked the terrace area had the weather been better it would of been nice to sit out on but it was a chilly weekend ! The only complaint I have about the room is the shower was incredibly slow - we didnt like to complain as we didnt feel we needed to - the shower worked and that was the main thing! The food in the bar was fantastic although we could of eaten out in Broadway it's self we decided to eat both nights at the hotel and we can't fault the food it was very good. I would advise if you want to eat in the bar go down early for dinner and grab a table and take time over the menu as it gets incredibly busy and you are unable to book. we didn't eat in Tatterells brassaire but the food looked very good. If you can get a seat in the sitting room you are also able to eat in there which is lovely and in front of the open fire if a cold day ! We can't wait to go back for another weekend break and are looking to return later in the year. Overall a top hotel and Many thanks to all staff for making it such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had Room 25 ( Best Mate) which is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having never visited the Cotswolds before I spent a considerable amount of time trawling the web to find the best place to visit for a relaxing weekend with my boyfriend and settled on Broadway. I booked 3 nights at the Broadway Hotel over the May Bank Holiday weekend so expected it might be quite busy.
We drove down from Scotland on the Friday night - arrived just after midnight, over an hour after reception closed, due to traffic but two staff very kindly waited and were very pleasant when we arrived.
Our room was very clean and very comfortable with ample space. Being a keen horserider I particuarly liked the references to horse racing throughout - the wallpaper in the stariway, the rooms named after horses that have ran at Cheltenham, pictures of the horse after winning inside the room - this was a nice touch.
We ate breakfast in the hotel every morning and had dinner in their restaurant on the Saturday night. The food was delicious every time!
I would highly recommend this hotel and if I visit the area again for my first stop for accommodation will be the Broadway Hotel. It is conveniently located for visiting other attractions in the area and everythng about our stay was great, the staff were pleasant and helpful and even though the village and hotel were quite busy with it being a bank holiday, we enjoyed a very peaceful and very relaxing break.

Room Tip: After reading other reviews I requested a room which didn't overlook the car park. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I arranged a 3 night break at this hotel for my husband's birthday. I had never stayed in the hotel before and chose it via their website. As I have mobility problems I prefer a ground floor room and when I phoned to book it, the Receptionist was really helpful and chose the room she thought would be best for me. It exceeded all my expectations. I paid more for a Junior Suite and I am so pleased I did. It was lovely. We ate in the restaurant and the bar during the weekend and both were excellent with fantastic food and service. There was a brilliant choice at breakfast and all were to die for !!! Again, the staff in the restaurant couldn't have been more helpful.
We can't wait to go back there!

Room Tip: Can recommend the Master Oats De-luxe room on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatBCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing