We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but!”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place but!”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stayed here for my birthday on 1st April. Room lovely, food lovely. Poor service in the Jockey Bar in daytime. Beach Boys cd played over and over in Restaurant, asked if music could be changed, but told by waitress, "sorry it's the managers favourite". Same cd stll playing when we left . Apalled at attitude about music, I was a paying guest and shouldn't be subjected to the manager's musical taste, once or twice would have been ok, but all night was excessive!. Nearly drove me crazy! Young chap on reception in evening, didn't even acknowledge us on way in or out, he was too busy looking at personal stuff on computer. The service could be so much better.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    259
    78
    32
    24
See reviews for
111
497
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

My wife and I stayed there for a 2 night break en route from another location to visit our son in the West Country. We were given a top floor attic room at the front overlooking the main street on a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal for £110 per day, what value! The room was small and one could not stand up straight in parts of the room and the exposed beams, thoughout the whole plave had been overpainted, in our room with cream paint. The evening meal was a little rushed for some unknown reason, the plates and knives/forks being removed whilst one was still digesting the last mouthful with the next course then being presented. On the second night the manager/owner(?) was absent and the meal was not as professionally organised, a wine bottle was placed on the table with no offer to even open it (or taste it) (screw top), with the same rushed event and water only being supplied on a second request to a different member of staff. the dessert was lemon tart with clotted cream; it came without the cream and on being asked a member of staff said 'Oh clotted cream' and produced from the kitchen a jug of pouring double cream and as it was placed on the table said, 'clottted cream'.
The hotel is made up of three premises, all opened up on the inside to make a medium sized establishment, there is free car parking behind the barrier controlled entrance and in a good area to visit many Cotswold villages and towns. Depite being on the main street we did not notice any road or pedestrian noise whatsoever.
The meals, despite being rushed, were of excellent quality and were very well presented and could not be faulted, we would have no hesitation in recommending it to others and look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himself2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This was to be a weekend of quality time to celebrate my special birthday and valentine. On booking the staff where friendly and helpful. We arrived to find a rather dismal hotel inside, painted black of all colours. Our bedroom was small and the bathroom full of mildew, toilet seat broken ,shower broken, sink cracked big time ,no extractor fan . ( very romantic in a bathroom with no windows) Spent the night listening to constant water running , another night listening to other guests throwing up ( walls are very thin!!) and a TV blaring and yes .....another reviewer was right...... the heating so hot I thought I had ended up in Egypt it was so hot. The bathroom was never cleaned properly and every day the sanitary bin was not emptied and hairs that had been on floor on arrival where still there three days later. As for the food the menu was the same three nights on the trot . If you liked fish or shell fish you where ok, but buggered if you did not, and wait for it ...Vegetarians, there is nothing on the menu for you . The manager a pompous arrogant man who did not give a flying monkeys that my special day had been so spoilt. We had a lovely meal and was treated like royalty in the local brassiere by budgens( really do recommend the food there). When we did eat in the restaurant the next night , the food was bland, very little of it . Oh and yes as for the car park, if you are lucky you can get a parking space, its very small and does not have enough spaces for rooms. Also there is only one disabled parking space which is difficult to park into. So this is a very poor 3 star hotel pretending to be 4 star and taking your money on false pretence.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maam99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

Without doubt the worst nights sleep I have ever had to endure in a hotel! Where to start.

The shower was unusable. It would not heat up or cool down as you wanted it, which made it impossible to use. It was also extremely weak, a trickle at best. Not what you expected in a hotel with this reputation / quality. Given that we had to go out almost immediately after showing, my partner and I left and did not pass reception on the way out to raise this.

We arrived back at the hotel at gone midnight to find no one at the front desk. We went into our room and you could not comprehend how unbelievably hot it was in there! The radiator was on full blast, even though the dial was on zero - so there was nothing we could do but open the windows and try and get some sleep in the blistering heat. However, the wind was howling and the rain lashing down so needless to say we were being kept awake by the noise. Given we got in at 12.30am, I was still awake at 3.00am because of the heat. When I eventually fell asleep I kept waking up every hour or so due to the heat. There was no porter at the reception and no number by the phone to contact anyone so they could fix the radiator.

The next morning we went for breakfast only to find that our package, sold to us as bed and breakfast, was room only and breakfast was chargeable at £13 per person! Given what we had paid already to stay there for such an awful nights sleep, we upped and left.

I complained as soon as I got back to London and the manager, Peter Dann, was extremely rude and dismissive ("If you didn't complain at the time there's nothing we can do"). I pointed out that at 3am, with an ill partner, no porter at the desk, no number to phone from my room it was impossible for us to do so. I also pointed out that in the morning we left as quickly as we could after the horrendous nights "sleep", again he just dismissed our complaint and said there is nothing he could do. Laughably his reply about the broken radiator in the room was that the heating in the hotel is controlled not on the radiator itself but within areas of the hotel - so the heating that served our room also served 5 others, and 2 other rooms had requested it be left on overnight! So even though you have a radiator in your room with a dial to control the temperature don't expect to use it - and your room will be unbearably hot because of it. I am now going to send a letter to the head office of the chain in the hope I can get some compensation for such an awful stay in what was dubbed the best hotel in the cotswolds.

On the whole I found the staff pleasant and the room clean but the service, terrible maintenance of the place and rude manager made it unbearable to stay in. I will NOT be coming here again - very disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Backseatsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

The staff were friendly and helpful
The rooms were well furnished and comfortable
The hotel facilities were generally excellant.
The meals, however were, this time, very poor;
Sunday lunch
Vegetables were overcooked, poorly presented and too few were served
The Sea Bass was minute and overcooked
The baked potatoes were limp, not crisp as they should be
Apple crumble was like concrete and inedible
Christmas pudding was minute and elastic
Custard was thin, almost white, very cool and tasteless

Bar meals
Prawn baguette and prawn sandwiches were filled with tasteless prawns
Chips were good, thank goodness!!

Breakfast
Toast was cold
Dish listed in the menu as Grilled Kippers was one small kipper served with salad and tasted like boil in the bag
Coffee was barely warm.

Our previous visits had had excellent meals so something has gone seriously wrong!
Please pass these comments to your manager because I am sure he will not like losing regular customers

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMGEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Up market hotel.Lovely room with outdoor table in pretty garden.Newly renovated,lovely color theme,new bathroom.Great bar-whole hotel works on a 'horse' theme,bar is full of racing memorabilia.Lovely choice of breakfast meals,even honeycomb with your cereal.Helpful staff,printing off maps of local area for us.Easy walk to everything in town-great deli opposite.Broadway is the nicest of the Cotswold towns and closest to Stratfrod & Warwick(forget Warwick Castle-just a pricey Disneyland show-altho good for kids).Dinner at Russells-lovely,and take away from Indian very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLM3199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Stayed for two nights with my elderly Mum. Nothing was too much trouble. Ground floor room with excellent access to car park and close to all village amenities. Room was nicely furnished with lovely bed coverings and lots of pillows/cushions. Nice bathroom, small but very clean and up to date. Nice toiletries by Molton Brown provided for use. Building is very old but nicely re-furbished in all the areas we saw. Bar is quaint with lots of horsey interest via pictures on the walls etc. Breakfast was outstanding - fresh squeezed orange juice, local jams and honeys, coissants, bloomer bread made into piping hot toast and served within minutes of arriving in breakfast room, good tea and a cooked breakfast to die for - local sausage, bacon, black pudding, mushrooms etc with a special mention for the best poached egg I've ever had anywhere!! Didn't eat in the restaurant but the Swan just over the road does a fab evening meal for an excellent price and lots of succulent rose wine by the carafe for just £9:95!!! Village of Broadway is charming - all in easy walking distance. Check out the delicatessen over the road form the hotel for the most amazing sausage rolls - perfect for a picnic. Definitely recommend this hotel and this location - go there!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing