We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant on our doorstep”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

How lucky we are to have such a wonderful restaurant and facility right on our doorstep. We have dined at some exclusive restaurants in our time but the meal we had in the Garden Restaurant even matched Raymond Blanc' s Quatre Saison. The staff could not have been more helpful and obliging with nice touches such as folding your napkin when you temporarily leave the table. We were also impressed with the wine selection. And what can I say about the decor? It was magnificent and each room was furnished and decorated to offer an intimate and warming atmosphere. We are currently telling all our friends about it so make sure you maintain the standard Dormy as we don't recommend lightly!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

A very big thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us in The Garden Room restaurant. It's one of our favourite’s rooms in the hotel. We appreciate your recommendations and will work hard to maintain our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,195 - 1,201 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Visited to see what the 'new' Dormy is like. We are really fortuante as we live close by and it is absolutely stunning. The transformation from the homely if a little tired 'old' Dormy is quite incredible....and I agree with previously writer that the loos are amazing! The staff are all friendly and well turned out in new attire and the food we enjoyed was delicious. The Potting Shed has various areas in which to dine which are slightly different, really clever concept. We asked to be shown a room and the lady that took us was really well informed and the room looked great. Back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikb1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you like what we have done with The Potting Shed and the loos! Great to hear you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Only experienced The Potting Shed bar/restaurant so far but was very impressed. Re-launched only 5 days ago, we enjoyed super pub lunch on the terrace. Surrounded by mature trees and the sound of nothing but birds. Best loos in Cotswolds. Fab friendly and knowledgeable staff. We just had sandwiches and fries but they were gorgeous. Prices not cheap but not OTT. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We are delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us in The Potting Shed. We also pride ourselves on our lovely new loos! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed for our 1st wedding anniversary on the weekend the hotel re-opened (we got married at the dormy exactly one year previously). After an extended period of renovations the re-modelling has brought a modern and fantastically well detailed new-look to the Dormy, yet it has been well thought out in that it has lost none of the intimacy and charm of the old hotel. 'Farmhouse Chic' is I believe what they call it!

The rooms are stunning - we stayed in rose cottage; which is beautiful and has the feel of your own little holiday place, but with all the luxuries of a hotel on-tap.

The staff are professional, friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food in both the garden restaurant and the potting shed (the revamped brasserie) I can't praise enough - it's very competitively priced too.

Building work is still ongoing towards the back of the hotel, but this did not interfere with our stay - we can't wait to come back and test the new Spa when it is finished.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in Rose Cottage: one of our favourites too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our first bit hopefully not the last trip to this lovely hotel,in the heart of The Cotswolds.
We booked up before knowing that the Hotel was having a complete refurb.When we found out that we would be arriving on the first day of the new opening were slightly concerned in case of teething problems.
We need not have worried as from the minute we arrived and were greeted by super friendly and very efficient staff and shown to our room everything was excellent.The room itself overlooked the front of the hotel but we were never bothered by any noise at all and the refurb.had been done with very good taste.The double shower was something to behold and all the facilities were upto 5 star.
The restaurant served excellent food and we woulds specially recommend the Halibut but all our meals over the 2 nights were very good and served by very attentive staff at all times.The wine list was extensive and reasonably priced and the bottles we tested,Chilean and South African very good.
It was commented that the staff were all recruited for there personality and that training would come later,well whoever recruited did a good job and training has gone well,this was true of all the staff we met.
We had a couple of comments regarding very minor issues with our room and these were handled impeccably and The General Manager David ensured that they were dealt with properly.
We were one of the first couples to stay at the newly refurbished hotel and were very glad we did,
Excellent in every way.Thanks to all the staff for making the stay very memorable and special.
We will look forward to trying out the new spa which opens next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shakeyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are so pleased we met your expectations on our first weekend! We look forward to seeing you in the House Spa when it opens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Only stayed one night on Friday 2 August but will definitely be going back for more.
Room was really comfortable, hotel tablet for in house services was amazing and the response to request for an iron and ironing board met with a very swift delivery of same.
All members of staff were extremely helpful however some could benefit from a little more training, but considering this was the first day of opening following the refurbishment, I am confident that these minor hiccups will be addressed. We were joined by some family members for dinner in the Garden Room and we all thoroughly enjoyed the three courses. Breakfast on the Saturday was again excellent despite the blast of music which occurred, presumably during a sound check of the system, it caused a few laughs and brought a very apologetic Manager into The Garden Room!!!!. All in all a lovely visit and we look forward to our next visit.
A special mention regarding the tea, superb quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaw21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review. The room tablets are great fun! Do come back and see us before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Work continues at the Hotel. However what was presented this evening was simply fabulous. The main Restaurant is wonderful, food excellent with attentive staff. We can not recommend this place highly enough..thank you..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank AndyMacShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you Andy. We’re glad you had a fabulous meal and a friendly welcome. That’s what we’re aiming for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,066 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,346 reviews
5.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: £258 - £360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing