We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We loved the old Dormy House and were full of anticipation to visit after it's refurb. We were sad to find that it has lost its old country house feel. It was so full of character before which seems to have been lost in the modernising. The Garden room restaurant had a cold atmosphere and the staff seemed ill at ease, although the food was excellent. I love this hotel and had really wanted to be able to say good things about our visit but unfortunately that's not the case.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Garden Room. Of course we are still a 17th century farmhouse and many people love the new interiors, which have retained the old flagstone floors, wood panelling and log fires. But style is a personal thing and we do appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food and hope you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    217
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
172
865
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west sussex, england
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed at the Dormy House last year and it was all very tired.When I was invited by a car maker recently I wasn't looking forward to it but when I got there I was staggered. The private owners have just spent £10 million transorming the place without losing any of the original character.

The staff are lovely and very efficient and the service excellent. The room was very well equipped but a little small.

I didn't rate the food but to be fair it was a corporate event when they have to get 40 meals out at the same time. Disappointed that the sommelier had not noticed that a bottle of French wine was corked before pouring it and several of us drinking it - ugh - big black mark

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our Food & Beverage manager did notice that a few bottles of wine were corked which weren’t served but unfortunately one slipped through the net, apologies and we will do our best to ensure this doesn't happen again. We do hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I was fortunate to stay in the Dormy House last Monday in readiness for facilitating a Management Retreat in Foxhills on the estate. We ate in the Potting Shed in the Tack Room - semi-private area for 14 of us - great atmosphere in there.
Staff were exceptional - helpful, polite, attentive and welcoming.
Food was super - The Moules were popular starters and I had excellent smoked salmon - Delicious Steak for main and then a huge Black Forest Trifle - delicious - The cheese board looked and smelt excellent too.
Sam chose our wines and made a great choice to compliment the dishes and various tastes of the group.

My room was beautifully appointed, the crave system is very techy and fun. Bathroom and shower were warm, and welcoming - comfortable bed and relaxing décor.

Both Nicola and Alice on reception could not have done more for you - informative and helpful - approachable, re-assuring and polite.

Gareth took me to the function room in Foxhills which is a stunning building set in the most beautiful grounds - complete privacy with all the amenities we required - Gareth was incredibly attentive and informative, offering ideas for break-out rooms and other aspects to enhance the workshop.

The buffet lunch and afternoon tea were great - and we were so lucky that the weather enabled us to get outside and see the fabulous views.

This building is about to undergo a refurbishment, although it looked pretty good! when it is done it will be a fabulous venue for exclusive use - be it weddings or management retreats - there is a sense of peace and tranquillity, a very creative and harmonious environment.

I look forward to returning here for work and pleasure....especially when the Spa is open...it will be fantastic!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Originally booked in Lygon Arms, but when we saw the room we declined to stay (terrible!) and Dormy House luckily had room for us. Staff were fantastic, really welcoming, rooms lovely, the public areas are homely with log fires in most, ate in the main restaurant and food was stunning. Didn't want to leave. Feels like Pennyhill Park's younger sibling. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks for the recommendation too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My wife and I first stayed at Dormy House in 2010 when celebrating our wedding anniversary and had been meaning to return for sometime. We finally did so on October 25th and enjoyed another wonderful experience. Having enjoyed the Dormy House so much first time around we were both curious as to how the refurbishment may have impacted on the hotel which was already of such a high quality. Well, we need not have worried. The new look Dormy House is fabulous, all very sympathetically restored and upgraded.
Everything ranging from our room, through to the food and the service was first class and all we can both say is a big thank you to all concerned for making our stay so enjoyable. We came away vowing that we will not be leaving it three years until we next return.
When the spa is fully open next year, we think we will have the perfect excuse to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are delgihted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and are gald you feel that the quality of service is still as high as ever. We do hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I was treated to lunch in the Potting Shed by my mother-in-law for my birthday. Having viewed the menu on-line beforehand we were both looking forward to it, despite a work colleague warning me of poor service (she had been with her family for a birthday lunch also). The ambience was lovely, and although the staff weren't over friendly, they were polite enough. We both had the chicken pie which looked very nice when it came out on the plate but I was a little disappointed when I started to eat. It was tasty enough and it was packed with filling, however, the flavoured shortcrust pastry case was really hard and took far too much effort to eat to the point where i got fed up with it and ended up leaving most of it. The pie top was puff pastry which was fine. The pie came with six (very nice) chips and a small pot of petit pois, which again took too much effort. I finished my meal with a Millionaire's Shortcake desert which came with peanut ice-cream. That was ok. We were at the table for well over 2 hours so it was a good job we had lots to talk about and didn't have to rush for anything! Overall, the hotel looks lovely (the ladies loo's are worth a look!) but I don't think i shall be rushing back. I'm not generally a complainer and I take most things as they come but this wasn't quite the treat we were both expecting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzy1Glos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments following your visit to The Potting Shed, we are very sorry that the meal did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that our focus is heavily on the quality of food and the hospitality and to that extent I have shared your comments with my team. Can I ask you to contact me (Gareth Coles F&B Manager) directly so I can work to reinstall your faith with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We received vouchers for Dormy House from our daughter as a birthday present so we treated ourselves to lunch in the Potting Shed whilst we were holidaying in the Cotswolds, We had an amazing experience from start to finish. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable, and the food and beverage manager, Gareth Coles came and introduced himself. Our food was all exceptional and the Head Chef, Paul Napper even made us a small birthday cake when he found out it was my husbands birthday. The hotel itself looks absolutely fabulous- lots of small touches and attention to detail.
We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and I have now managed persuade my husband to treat us to a weekend at Dormy House for our upcoming wedding anniversary.
Thank you so much to all the staff at Dormy House, a truely unforgettable day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello and thanks for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your Birthday treat in The Potting Shed and delighted to hear that you will be returning to celebrate your anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,034 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,293 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing