We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Breakfast”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Breakfast”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A group of us booked for breakfast as a special birthday surprise for a close friend. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent. We were shown into the red lounge for champagne,
and then onto the conservatory to eat, atmosphere, food, service all faultless. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, and looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodrush_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
They say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day! Thank you for your great comments about our breakfast and we do hope to see you back again soon, maybe for lunch or dinner? Not so important but equally as delicious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    210
    77
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
837
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I booked an afternoon tea as a birthday present for my sister, Mum and myself, we arrived by Bentley which dropped us of at the front door where the doorman were there straight there to guide us in, take our coats, the whole experience was absoultely wonderful. When we first entered there was a screaming child with it's mother and I thought 'oh no' but they disappeared. All staff were professional, clean, tidy pleasant to speak with and were genuine, the ambieance was lovely, decorations perfect, the ladies was superb.
We enjoyed a bottle of lovely champagne followed by our afternoon tea.
Thank you I am so gald I choose the Dormy House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazpezzlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Many thanks for choosing Dormy House for your Afternoon Tea! We are glad that you had an enjoyable time and do hope to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This hotel was exceptional. We drove into the driveway and we were welcomed by a gentleman who gave us umbrellas as it was raining and he took our bags straight to our room. The lady who welcomed us once we got in the hotel was very friendly, she showed us around the different areas of the hotel and then took us to our room. We stayed in one of the Top Notch rooms. It was like a little flat! It was beautiful! The decor was gorgeous. All the staff were polite, helpful and looked not only happy to work there but proud to work there as well. I asked one of the ladies to show us the Loft as I wanted to see what it looked like in person and it was just gorgeous. Once all the construction is done I will want to go back and see what the spa is like and hopefully stay in the Loft!! The breakfast was excellent. There was just the right amount of choice. We also ate at the Potting Shed on the first night and yet again the staff were excellent and the food was delicious. I am so happy I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review and your lovely commments about Dormy House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed every element of your stay. We hope to see you again soon in The Loft and in House Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A lunch time treat in the Potting shed, great venue , attentive service and lovely food well presented in generous portion sizes. We had trip around the new spa, still in progress but evidence that this will be great place to relax and enjoy. As a local I feel lucky that it is on our doorstep. However the downside is I may never get to enjoy the wonderful rooms that look fabulous in the brochure. A real treat looking forward to going back and perhaps enjoying dinner in the restaurant

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenandJohn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you and we are glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us in The Potting Shed. We are really grateful for the support from local guests. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We celebrated our 39th wedding anniversary this past weekend at Dormy House. It lived up to all the wonderful reviews and then some. We booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and afternoon tea was included in our package which was both delicious and beautifully served. My husband had a double portion of scones!! Our only slight disappointment was that our room had a shower but no bath but the manager very kindly gave us a bottle of champagne with our dinner in the Potting Shed to compensate. The staff are superb - helpful and caring. Our bedroom - number 17 - was more like a Junior suite. They've thought of everything from supplying glossy magazines to a room spray which arrives at turndown. We will definitely return. Loved it , loved it, loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you very much. We are delighted that we made your anniversary stay enjoyable and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at The Dormy with friends recently. All I can say is, everything was exceptional. The rooms were amazing with comfortable beds, great showers and some fantastic little touches that made all the difference. Food and service were also exceptional, the hot chocolate is a must for chocoholics!
Beautiful lounges with warm fires were very welcome on a cold day.
It will be even better once the spa is finished, early next year I believe. After staying at some of the top hotels in the UK, I am confident in saying, The Dormy is going to leave many of them in its wake, can't wait to return.
Check out the remote controlled gadgets in the gents toilets! Inspirational!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great but there is one called The Loft, I think, which will leave you spee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMMO14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The team are glad that you enjoyed your break at Dormy House. The toys in the gents loos are always a talking point! We do hope to see you again when House Spa opens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I took my husband here as a surprise trip and I couldn't have been more pleased with my choice.

On arrival, it was clear we were going to have a very relaxing break and we felt more like guests at someone's home rather than hotel guests.

The communal areas are extremely comfortable, with lots of areas to feel cosy and not intruded upon (although there was always a member of staff to offer you a drink!). The toilets near reception are the nicest toilets I have EVER visited (including Harrods!) and made me feel very glamorous!

The bedroom we booked (intimate room) was gorgeous - and didn't feel intimate (small!) at all. There was obviously no expense spared with the furnishings and the en suite was to die for (I can see some DIY in our house soon!).

We ate dinner in the Potting Shed which was perfect and would recommend to anybody.

Breakfast was delicious - a range of pastries etc, followed by a high quality breakfast which went down a treat (only quibble is that I'd have liked beans on my breakfast - but it didn't spoil my weekend!).

Can't wait to visit again to test the spa once it's complete - if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by, then it will be spectacular...........

Right - when can we go back?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birminghamgrrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that yuo enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us! We do hope that you will come back to see us again soon - and this time we will make sure you have beans with your breakfast too! Many thanks for all the Team at The Dormy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing